Book Notification

Sandra Bretting Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Missy DuBois Mystery Books

Murder at Morningside (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Something Foul at Sweetwater (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Someone's Mad at the Hatter (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Comes to Dogwood Manor (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Hats on Deck (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
What the Hatmaker Heard (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Unholy Lies (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bless the Dying (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Safecracker's Secret (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Religious Books

Shameless Persistence: Lessons from a Modern Miracle (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sandra Bretting is a prolific author from America, who likes to write cozy mystery books. She is primarily associated with the Kensington Publishing Corporation for the release of her books. Author Bretting is particularly famous for writing the Missy DuBois Mystery book series. Apart from this successful series, she has also written a couple of standalone hardcover mysteries. These two books, published in the years 2012 & 2014, were released by the Five Star Publishing, which is an imprint of the Gale publishers. Author Bretting has become a popular name in the cozy mystery genre with the creation of the character of Missy DuBois. The books featuring this character are set on the Great River Road, located in Louisiana. The main set up lies around the antebellum mansions lining the Mississippi River. Author Bretting completed her graduation from the Missouri University’s Journalism School. Before taking up writing as a career, she was involved in writing columns for a few newspapers. Some of the newspapers that she has worked for include the Houston Chronicle, the Los Angeles Times, and several others. Now that she has become a noteworthy author, she has proudly acquired the membership of several writers’ groups such as the Texas Writers’ League, the Sisters in Crime, etc. Author Bretting was born in Southern California, United States. After living for some time in her hometown, she decided to move to the Midwest in order to pursue her graduation in journalism. Bretting says that the thought of becoming a writer cross her mind for the first time when participated in a class of creative writing. Seeing her interest and her skills in the art of writing, a fellow student had predicted that Bretting would come to Missouri and become a renowned novelist. But, that was not supposed to happen at that time.

Author Bretting returned back to California and started freelancing for newspapers. Simultaneously, she began taking a serious interest in creative writing. She would get her hands on the course whenever she would get any free time from her work. And eventually, the prediction about author Bretting came true as she came up with intriguing stories, thereby completing and publishing several mystery books, a few years later. As of today, author Bretting resides in Texas. There, she continues to write for her freelance clients and is also associated with a national newspaper. Bretting is happily married and is blessed with a couple of beautiful daughters. She lives with her loving husband and her daughters in her Texas home. Bretting considers herself blessed to have a wide range of fans from across the world. She also feels that she is lucky to have a wonderful literary agent, who helps her work to get published. Bretting was influenced to take up writing as a career after reading some very popular books of famous American authors Mark Twain, Jack London, John Steinbeck, etc. She also likes to give the credit of her success as an author to her parents, who taught her to be hardworking and dedicated towards her work. Whenever she is not busy with her writing work, she can be seen relaxing with her husband and daughters. Author Bretting believes that her husband is the smartest man she has ever come across and that her daughters are going to become very famous one day. Bretting intends to write many more interesting books in the days to come. She expects the support of her fans, which helps to boost her confidence and motivates her to develop exciting storylines and characters.

The Missy DuBois Mystery series written by author Sandra Bretting is comprised of 3 books in total, which were released between the years 2016 and 2017. All the books of this series depict the lead character in the form of Missy DuBois, who is a hat designer living in Louisiana and is the owner of a shop called Crowning Glory. The debut novel of the mystery series is entitled ‘Murder At Morningside’. It was released by the Kensington publication in the year 2016. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that Missy DuBois opens Crowning Glory shop on Great River Road of Louisian to cater wedding veils to the sophisticated brides in the town. But, no one had thought she her work would cause her to get involved in a murder investigation. Missy DuBois is asked to design a veil for a popular socialite, who is about to get married at the Morningside Plantation. She intends to make the best use of the antebellum atmosphere. However, her expectations take a shocking turn when the dead body of the bride is found in the common women’s bathroom. This causes Missy Duboois to get entangled in an unfashionable murder. Missy begins to investigate on her own and comes up with a long list of suspects. Her suspicion lies mainly on the bridesmaids, who she thinks are shedding false tears. Also, Missy cannot neglect the fact the bride’s family had a lot of enemies, which means that anyone from the guests present at the mansion might have committed the crime. Missy knows that she is required to come out of her comfort zone and use her investigative skills to hunt down the killer.

Another successful book of this series is called ‘Someone is Mad at the Hatter’. This novel was published by the Lyrical Underground publication in the year 2017. The central characters of this book’s story include Charlotte Deveraux and Missy DuBois. Once again, author Bretting has described that Missy’s hat studio in Louisiana is the perfect destination for the brides from the south, who intend to make a big fashion statement at their wedding. But, along with designing headpieces, Missy also has the habit of getting involved in solving murder cases. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that people tend to cross the line and enjoy a little too much during the celebrations of the New Year’s Eve. Missy DuBois comes across one such person lying in a barrel of whiskey in the parking lot of Crowning Glory on the next day of New Year’s. When she goes nearer, she discovers that the person lying in the barrel is the famous wedding planner named Charlotte Deveraux, and what shocks her even more is that she is dead. It turns out that the murder weapon used to kill Charlotte Deveraux was a hat stand belonging to Missy DuBois. As a result, Missy is seen as the culprit and her clients begin cancelling their appointments. Also, all the people in the town start turning up noses at Missy. And even though the mystery behind Charlotte’s killing points to several suspects, the suspicion continues to fall on Missy DuBois. And so, she decides that it is high time to come up with a strong proof to prove her innocence and find the real killer. Missy DuBois cannot afford to let her name and her business fall apart because of a crime that she has not committed.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sandra Bretting

Leave a Reply