Book Notification

Sara Ackerman Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Island of Sweet Pies and Soldiers (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lieutenant's Nurse (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Sky Over Hawaii (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Radar Girls (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Codebreaker's Secret (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Uncharted Flight of Olivia West (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sara Ackerman is a romance, historical fiction, and general fiction author who authors books about life and love and all the beautiful and messy imperfections therein.

She has said that she believes that the dark is just as important as the light and that the world desperately needs heartwarming and uplifting stories.

The author was born and brought up in Hawaii where she was a student of journalism. She would later graduate with degrees in Chinese medicine and psychology.

She has said that Hawaii is responsible for making her addicted to writing and she will not be stopping any time soon.

Sara penned “Little White Lies” as her debut novel in 2016 and has not looked back since. She currently has more than half a dozen works to her name spread across at least one series and single-standing novels.

Growing up in Oahu she spent every possible moment surfing or swimming or paddling outrigger canoes in the ocean.

She is also a huger love of hiking and yoga and can sometimes be found stargazing on the beach when she is not baking pies or picking fruit and berries.

Like many fiction writers, Sara Ackerman has always been very huge on reading. There have many times when she was done with a book and started thinking that she could write one herself.
She has always loved writing and reading and often compiled books of her poems that she would give out at Christmas as a gift.

However, it was not until very recently that she decided maybe it was time she became more serious and hence she sat down and began penning her first manuscript. While she had never done much writing, she was immediately hooked.

However, publishing did not come easy as is usually the case and it was not until she was on her fourth manuscript that she got an agent. Still, she has said that she was never discouraged as she knew it would be tough going right from when she started.

In fact, she used to have a Post-It note on her door frame that said “Perseverance and Patience,” which was her mantra.

As a girl who is in love with nature having been born and raised in Oahu, Sara Ackerman currently lives with her boyfriend and their bossy and sweet animals in Waimea, a small ranching town.
Even though she started out as a high school counselor, teacher, and acupuncturist, she now dedicates most of her time to writing and only teaches part-time.

Sara currently writes her novels from home even though sometimes she will head to the Waimea Coffee Company when she needs to get out of the house.

The setting is also important in her books and her life and as such, she sometimes sits near a window or porch to write.

Ackerman has said that the thing that helped her most was attending writers’ conferences as she got to meet like-minded people who gave her the inspiration she needed.

Some that she attended include the Mokuleia Writers Retreat, the Kauai Writers Conference, and the Santa Barbara Writers Conference.

“Radar Girls” by Sara Ackerman tells an extraordinary story that finds inspiration from a real story from World War II.

The lead is Daisy, a woman that loves to spend her time with horses rather than humans, salt water, and bare feet to society parties and high heels.

Things turn interesting following the attack on Pearl Harbor as she enlists in a top-secret program to replace male soldiers in a first.

With the threat of invasion imminent, they are guided into blacked-out airstrips and often have to fly across the Pacific skies tracking unidentified planes.

However, there are many people that do not believe that women are good enough for the job and the new trainees need to work side by side and put aside their differences, despite the heartache and resistance they have to deal with.

America’s future is under threat and Daisy wants to prove that she is worthy of her country. Given that she is falling for a man that is also out on the front lines, failure is not something she can afford to do.

From flooded bomb shelters to remote mountain tips she will have to be at her best when the stakes are raised. She will come to learn that the most critical battles have to be fought and won as a team.

Sara Ackerman’s novel “Red Sky Over Hawaii” is a story that finds inspiration from real events and places from World War II. It immerses its readers into American history, which shows how powerful one can be doing the right things.

For Lana Hitchcock, everything changed following the attack on Pearl Harbor. She arrives home on Big Island and finds she was too late and now cannot reconcile with her father.

She will now have to unearth the many secrets about his legacy which soon leads her to a property hidden in the remote forest surrounding the Kilauea Volcano.

Soon after, the government starts taking away sympathizers many of them being accused of being sympathizers. Lana takes in a Japanese fisherman and his son and two young German girls.

However, with tensions escalating, they have to head into hiding only to find the safe house is nothing like what they imagined it was.

When the government sets up a detainment camp nearby, Lana finds it difficult to keep her secrets hidden. She also knows that trusting anyone could be very dangerous.

As she gets to know her fugitives, she makes strong bonds with them using the power of love to steel herself and works through the terrible times.

“Island of Sweet Pies” by Sara Ackerman opens with the mysterious disappearance of Violet’s husband. Rumors have been all over the place questioning his loyalties, even as a mother needs to rely on friendship to survive in war-ravaged Hawaii.

The story is set in the Pacific in 1944 at the height of the Second World War. Violet Iverson and her child are trying to put their lives back together about twelve months after the disappearance of her husband.

Violet believes Ella her daughter may know something but she will not talk leaving her mother to believe someone or something has her scared.

Meanwhile, Violet has been enjoying the camaraderie of her friends and together they establish a pie stand where soldiers on a secret mission can have a little fun.

But as the women confront the many challenges of wartime and prejudice against Japanese citizens rises, neighbor finds themselves pitted against fellow neighbor.

Violet also has to deal with the strong attraction she has to the brash marine Sergeant Stone but fears losing another man given that Stone will be leaving for Iwo Jima in a few days.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sara Ackerman

One Response to “Sara Ackerman”

  1. Diane Jensen: 2 days ago

    Absolutely LOVE Sara’s books. I found my first one at a local “little” library just up the street from my house. I have now read all of her novels and waiting (hopefully!) for the next one. Most sincerely, Diane Jensen in Victoria BC


Leave a Reply