Book Notification

Sara Douglass Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Wayfarer Redemption Books

The Wayfarer Redemption / Battleaxe (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Enchanter (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Starman (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sinner (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pilgrim (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crusader (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
It is advised that you read this series, followed by the Darkglass Mountain Prequel series listed below, then the Darkglass Mountain series.

Publication Order of DarkGlass Mountain Prequel Books

Threshold (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beyond the Hanging Wall (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of DarkGlass Mountain Books

The Serpent Bride (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twisted Citadel (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Infinity Gate (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Crucible Books

The Nameless Day (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wounded Hawk (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crippled Angel (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Troy Game Books

Hades' Daughter (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gods' Concubine (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Darkwitch Rising (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Druid's Sword (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Devil's Diadem (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Betrayal Of Arthur (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Hall of Lost Footsteps (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror Books

The Year's Best Australian Fantasy & Horror 2010 (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Year's Best Australian Fantasy & Horror 2011 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sara Douglass
Sara Warneke was born in a tiny farming settlement in the south of Australia in Penola in the year 1957. Sara is a great-granddaughter of Robert James Lees (a psychic).

She spent her younger years chasing, and getting chased by, sheep and collecting snakes. This was before her parents transported her to the city of Adelaide and much more genteel surroundings that is the Methodist Ladies College.

After she graduated, Sara became a nurse on the urging from her parents, since it was both genteel and feminine and spent seventeen years planning and effecting her own escape. While she worked as a registered nurse, she studied to get her BA.

Her escape came in the form of a PhD in early modern English history. Sara parted ways with nursing after a long period of bare tolerance on her part. She took a position as senior lecturer in medieval European history at the Victorian University of La Trobe on their Bendigo campus. Here, Sara found the departmental politics of academic life just as intolerable as the emotional rigors of nursing and found she needed another escape.

This time, it took the form of writing and books, a childhood love of Sara’s. After she spent time practicing her writing novels, HarperCollins Australia bought one of Sara’s novels, called “BattleAxe”, and picked it to lead their new fantasy line. The novel was an immediate success. Since getting published in the year 1995, Sara has become the leading fantasy author in Australia. Her books are sold all around the world.

Until the middle of the 2000s, she hosted a bulletin board on her site, with the goal of encouraging constructive criticism and creative thinking of other writers’ work. She had an online blog about the restoration project of her home and garden called Notes from Nonsuch in Tasmania.

Sara won an Aurealis Award in the Fantasy Division for “Enchanter” and “Starman” (both winning in 1996) and “The Wounded Hawk” (in the year 2001). she had been a finalist for the same award eight other times. “The Way to the Exit” was a finalist for an Australian Shadows Award in the year 2008.

For Sara’s “The Troy Game” series and “The Crucible” trilogy, she incorporated historical elements into her fantasy storytelling. She writes fantasy novels. While she writes under her own name, she is best known by her pen name of Sara Douglass.

In the year 2008, Sara was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. She got treatment for it, but late in the year 2010, the cancer came back. She died September 27, 2011 at the age of 54.

“The Nameless Day” is the first novel in the “The Crucible” series and was released in the year 2000. The Pestilence. The Black Plague. Death and disease haunt each and every village and town across fourteenth century Europe. No one is immune from this evil. Some take a look at the devastation of their world as a sign from God for Man’s wickedness.

However, Brother Thomas Neville sees all of this death as something a lot more. Neville is a guy beset by his demons. Could it be angels? He has get visited from no one other than Archangel Michael, who commands Thomas to do a mission. It will take him across the breadth and length of the entire continent in a desperate bid to locate the means to stop Satan’s minions. These minions have found a doorway right out of Hell to venture forth and seize their world to prepare for its assault on Heaven.

While Neville comes across saints and witches, demons and angels, he starts to realize that the armies of Satan and God are getting ready for the last battle and that his soul is set to be the battleground. The real question is, has Neville actually picked the good side?

“The Wounded Hawk” is the second novel in the “The Crucible” series and was released in the year 2001. The Demon-King is wearing the Crown of England. Only a man strong enough to resist love are able to defeat him. Protected by the Duke of Lancaster, his son Hal Bolingbroke, and casting his vows aside, and Thomas is now free to seek out Wynkyn de Worde’s casket.

However, Richard II is cunning and subtle, and moves deftly against Bolingbroke and Neville, ruining both of their families and uses his minions to push the realm toward a bloody rebellion. Only Margaret, Neville’s wife, is able to help, but Neville realizes he is unable to totally trust her. What about Bolingborke who, while the months pass, reveals some ambitions much deadlier and greater than Neville could have ever realized? While Neville gets closer to the casket, he finds that opening it up could release a much greater horror across the entire earth than the one he wishes to send right back into hell.

“The Crippled Angel” is the third novel in the “The Crucible” series and was released in the year 2001. The world that Thomas Neville, a former monk, used to know is falling down all around him.
The Holy Mother Church of Rome is losing the power it had over men and Thomas realizes that this is not Man’s doing. Rather the work of the demons that escaped their earthly prison and are attempting to breach the very gates of heaven.

Michael, the great archangel, has given Thomas the task to find the demons who dwell now in human form and expose their evil natures. In order to actually do this Thomas has to turn on a set of vows and go back to his once lofty nobler connections. He comes across a new love, some old friends, and some temptations that are going to try his conscience as well as his very soul.

For Thomas is starting to think that all he knows might not be true. Faced with friendships and mortal love that he desperately fears and wants, he realizes that time is getting short. The choice that he is going to make will reshape the world.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sara Douglass

Leave a Reply