Book Notification

Sara Sheridan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Mirabelle Bevan Mystery Books

Brighton Belle (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
London Calling (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
England Expects (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
British Bulldog (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Operation Goodwood (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Russian Roulette (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Indian Summer (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Highland Fling (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Women on the Tear Books

Truth Or Dare (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ma Polinski's Pockets (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pleasure Express (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Love Squad (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Blessed And The Damned (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Mandarin (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret of the Sands (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Starlit Seas (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ice Maiden (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fair Botanists (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Where are the Women?A Guide to an Imagined Scotland (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Picture Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bloody Scotland(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sara Sheridan is a Scottish author of children’s, historical fiction and mystery & thrillers books. Sheridan was born and raised in Edinburgh. She has books based on British 1950s history, and she takes in-depth research from the archives of history before coming up with her novels to give them the best content. According to Sara, every writer needs another writer, and that is why she is actively in mentorship programs and workshops on authoring. The novelist is also a very active evangelist on twitter and is constantly called for after dinner talks for corporate events.

She is recognized with multiple awards for her writing and was also named as one of the saltire society’s 365 most influential Scottish women. Sara is an active feminist and has strong support for female history. The author is popularly identified with The Mirabelle Bevan Series plus some other stand-alone novels.

Brighton Belle

Brighton Belle is her first book in the series Mirabelle Bevan Mystery. Brighton has just come from the world war two where she worked as a secret service agent. Her excitement is that they have already put down the vital rule of the Nazis and peace is slowly coming back to the world. However, she does not know that the skills she learned during that period will come in handy at some time later.

On retiring from the war, she takes ove5r a job at a debt collection agency as a secretary, a company that is run by big Ben McGuigan. A pregnant Hungarian is reported dead, and this triggers Bevan to take a more in-depth look into the matter as there are some things concerning this issue that leave many trials. The first pointers of things being amiss include his encounter with the doctor who as an abnormally growing level of wealth and the sister to the late Hungarian who entirely seems not touched by the matter.

As she digs into this case, she discovers a chain of evil things that are so deep and widespread not only in Brighton but to the extreme corners of Europe. She puts her life at stake so that she can expose the mystery that started with the death of the Hungarian woman and her unborn child. She calls for help from her sidekick to unravel this murder and string of evils that seem to grow bigger and scarier each time. Through frightening and life-threatening situations, she goes deep to find justice for the slain Hungarian lady.

Sara has a great way of merging the characters to bring out humor, suspense, and sadness in the story. The development of her plot is one that is skillfully done to produce an incredible story.

London Calling

London Calling comes second in the Mirabelle Bevan mystery. Set in Brighton during the immediate years after the end of world war two, the book ushers in the story of Bellany Grace who has gone missing in a Soho jazz club.

The main suspect, in this case, is Lindon Claremont who is a young sax player. Lindon calls in the assistance of his childhood friend Vesta to clear his name from this case. Matters escalate, and Lindon is taken in by the police about the murder. Vesta works with Mirabelle, and that’s when they decide to up their effort to ensure justice for Lindon.

The life of Lindon is not that clean as there are ugly incidences of smoky nightclubs, lethal cocktails, and fast cars racing but they have to look into this to prove his innocence. The case takes the two to the underground jazz world that takes to the point of your own life to get an admission into the sinister places. The author has done a great job in pointing out things that happen in those places as the two investigate what happened and why Lindon is taken in as the main suspect. Time is moving fast, and they have to find the person behind these murders fast enough.

Sheridan’s character creation and positioning is one that is exceptional. She also does a great job in developing the characters of her players in turns that are incredible to fit the roles that she has for them in the story. The aspect of human behavior and reactions to various situations is well brought out in this story.

England expects

England Expects is the third book in the Mirabelle Bevan Mystery. Vesta and Mirabelle are investigating two cases, that of a racing journalist and that of a cleaning woman. Away from the investigations vesta has some issues in her personal life and has to make some hard decisions.

On the death of a racing journalist and that of a cleaning woman, the two dive into the matters to find the perpetrators behind these acts. The case is not simple and takes them into deep and dark places that they never thought they could go into to find a solution. What scares them the most is when the case takes a turn involving the deep underground of Freemasonry. The case puts the two into a position that is extreme to the point of threatening their lives, but they will not rest or waiver until they come up with the culprits of these murders.

The Brighton police except for inspector McGregor are against the involvement of these two in the matter, and this is not a new thing as in the past the same has happened. Even though McGregor has a personal interest in Bevan, he believes that she can use her expertise and experience to find a solution. Vesta also seems to pull attention because she is a black woman in Europe at a time where racism was still active. Mirabelle is struggling to overcome the grieve of losing her lover years back but has managed to overcome this with time from the help of her friends.

The position of the themes of culture, conflict, action and different themes such as racism are well discussed in this book. The author created a book that addresses many issues all in one piece through the puzzles, romance, and action through a well-structured and detailed story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sara Sheridan

Leave a Reply