Book Notification

Sarah E. Ladd Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Cornwall Books

The Governess of Penwythe Hall (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Thief of Lanwyn Manor (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Light at Wyndcliff (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Houses of Yorkshire Books

The Letter from Briarton Park (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Shelter of Hollythorne House (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cloverton Charade (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Treasures of Surrey Books

The Curiosity Keeper (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dawn at Emberwilde (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Stranger at Fellsworth (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Whispers on the Moors Books

The Heiress of Winterwood (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Headmistress of Rosemere (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lady at Willowgrove Hall (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Weaver's Daughter (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sarah E. Ladd is an award-winning author who primarily writes about romance in the Regency era.


Sarah E. Ladd is a graduate of Ball State University. The author has nurtured a love for the arts ever since she was young. Before she began to write, Sarah was doing a decent job as a marketing and brand management expert.

She even spent a few years marketing non-fiction books, so she wasn’t completely new to the publishing industry when she wrote her first novel. A Wife and Mother, fans of Sarah E. Ladd know that she has an enduring love for the Regency period.

In fact, she is often quite eager to engage with fans online, not only to discuss her books but to talk about the Regency period with fellow enthusiasts. Sarah can point to a college trip she took to England and Scotland as a defining moment in her life.

The trip did not spark her love for the Regency era; rather, it simply confirmed it. In studying and observing England and Scotland, not only their landscapes but the people and the culture, Sarah found that she could envision what life might have been like during Regency times.

She also found that she had a deep desire to tell stories about life and its struggles but set in that time period. The author’s opportunity to see her publishing dreams realized came in 2010 when she began to seriously write.

By 2011, Sarah had won the ACFW Genesis Award for Historical Romance. Considering that she holds a degree in marketing and public relations, it comes as no surprise that Sarah E. Ladd is so visible on social media.

She knows what it takes to maintain a presence in the public conscious, and her marketing efforts have yielded fruit. Certainly, she isn’t a household name. But fans of the romance genre are definitely aware of her existence.

And that is what Sarah’s books are; tales of romance set in the Regency era. Sarah is a Christian and she takes her faith seriously. One can see this in the stories she tells, of men and women who must trust in their enduring faith in order to make it in light of the struggles of life.

+The Heiress of Winterwood

Amelia Barrett makes a decision with far-reaching consequences. The heiress of an ancestral estate in the English Moors, when a friend of hers dies, Amelia is more than ready to fulfill her promise of raising an infant baby.

The promise isn’t without its drawbacks. But Amelia is determined to stick to her guns, even if it means proposing to the father of the child; and Captain Graham is a man she has never met, to begin with.

However, all these plans and more go out the window when the child vanishes, and the only clue Amelia and Graham have with regards to his safety is a suspicious ransom note. Amelia and Graham are shaken to the core as their love for the infant is tested.

For Amelia, pride has always been a weakness, one that she has to face now that she has been shaken and all her plans have been derailed. Pride will not get her through such desperate times.

For Graham, self-control was always everything. His discipline gave him strength and served him on the sea. However, his pursuit of perfection will do little to salvage the situation.

The pair will learn to face an uncertain future together.

This book has been commended for having very beautiful covers. The book has its proponents and its detractors. For some, the heroine is simply too ordinary and plain, bringing nothing of note to the table.

She is the sort of protagonist people like but do not necessarily love. While Captain Graham’s principled and militaristic character makes him a little more interesting, Sarah E. Ladd doesn’t develop him well enough. The book also follows the conventional line of many other Christian novels, though this one is set during the Regency era.

In fact, readers who do not like seeing talk of God in their fiction often express disappointment with this novel. For readers that enjoy that aspect in fiction, this book is a pretty adorable romance novel.

The book is a decent first novel in the series, though it is nothing special or even memorable.

+The Headmistress of Rosemere

Patience is 25-years-old, so she is certain that she knows everything her future has to offer. She waited for the man of her dreams to sweep her off her feet, but he never came. And now the opportunity of a family has passed her by, which means she must look to a new future.

Patience finds that there can be contentment in giving back, and she does that by teaching at her father’s Girls School. Her plans take a detour when he dies. Her brother is no help and even moves away to London, leaving Patience all alone in her efforts to keep her father’s dream alive.

William Sterling’s life has been one disaster after another. After a string of mistakes, William can barely keep from falling over the edge. The confirmed bachelor has a lot of land and nowhere nearly enough money to manage it all.

When her brother returns with a new wife to manage the school, Patience is heartbroken to learn that her source of contentment has been taken from her. And she has little faith in her sister-in-law’s matchmaking skills, though Patience soon finds that William has more to offer than she initially presumed.

This is a deeply satisfying book. It finds the heroine, Patience, in the midst of mourning her dead father, worrying about her mother’s health and trying to keep the family’s school running.

Sarah does a great job in writing the children of the school and their interactions with Patience are some of the best parts of the book. William is a great hero. Patience and William are also amazing as a couple.

They change throughout the book’s run, both before they meet and after they meet. William has so many problems and you cannot help but sympathize with him, especially when he decides that he is simply unworthy of Patience.

There are a lot of reasons to love this book.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sarah E. Ladd

2 Responses to “Sarah E. Ladd”

  1. Karla Skowhede: 3 years ago

    I’m anxious to start reading Sarah’s books. I would like a list of her series of books.

    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      That list is above.


Leave a Reply