Book Notification

Sarah-Jane Stratford Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Millennial Books

The Midnight Guardian (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Moonlight Brigade (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sarah-Jane Stratford
Sarah-Jane Stratford is originally from Los Angeles, California. She grew up with a deep love of literature and theater.

She has a Master’s in medieval history from the University of York, for which she wrote a thesis about women in the manorial court system. This gave her a new appreciation for the modern era. Sarah-Jane also has a bachelor’s degree in history from UC Santa Cruz. Besides writing, she works as a freelance proofreader and copy editor.

Sarah-Jane has written essays and articles for publications like: Marie-Claire, The Guardian, Salon, The Boston Globe, Bustle, Bitch, and BOMB.

She won a Tier One Highly Talented visa by the Arts Council in Britain in 2017, which grants her leave to write and live in the UK for five years.

Her debut novel, called “The Midnight Guardian”, was released in the year 2006. She writes urban fantasy and historical fiction.

“The Midnight Guardian” is the first novel in the “Millennial” series and was released in the year 2009. The year is 1938, and the tentacles of the Hitler’s Third Reich have begun their stranglehold over Europe. The Nazi empire is going to clean all of its bloodlines it has deemed undesirable or tainted. This includes vampires.

London’s old tribunal of vampires is rather aghast at the destruction that takes place on the Continent. Vampires try not to get involved with human politics, Hitler’s horrible plans make them take action. They send five of their best vampires to Berlin, the millennials who have lived over a thousand years and whose wisdom and age make them as close to invulnerable as possible. This is in an effort to infiltrate, disrupt, and eventually destroy the growing Nazi war machine.

The beautiful and brilliant millennial Brigit loathes to go, however her powers are needed in order for the mission to have any chance at success. She has to summon every bit of her strength to endure the separation from Eamon, her lover, whom she made close to eight centuries back, but his lack of millennial status makes him unacceptable to come along. Despite his longs to join her, his duty to her is best served from far away, by nurturing their deep psychic connection as well as by reinforcing her spirit with memories of his tender embrace and his fierce devotion.

While the millennials try to penetrate and sabotage Hitler’s armies, they find the Nazis to be much more capable than any other human force they have come across and even more monstrous than they thought. They are forced to make bolder and even more dangerous steps, they quickly attract the attention of specially trained vampire hunters who are loyal to Hitler and the vision he has of a vampire-free Europe. Exposed and deep within enemy territory, with some vicious Nazi officers and the hunters on her heels, Brigit has to try a daring escape off the Continent. All the while, guarding the precious cargo that marks the sole hope of salvaging this mission.

“The Moonlight Brigade” is the second novel in the “Millennial” series and was released in the year 2011. A vital member of the British millennials mission vanishes after an intense firefight with some Nazi-supported vampire hunters. The powerful leader of the mission, named Mors, vows to find out the truth behind his disappearance. The dangerous hunt takes Mors away from Berlin right to Rome, his own ancient stomping grounds.

Mors used to be one of the Roman Republic’s best generals, until he was reborn as a vampire under some rather unprecedented circumstances. He sees Italy under Fascism, he starts a new mission: to return the country to a true republic, and maybe guide the people into the light by himself.

It is going to take collaboration with human partisans in order to achieve his new dream, it is a dangerous alliance that most vampires would never even attempt. It is made ore unstable by his increasing love for the partisans’ brave and beautiful organizer, Giulia. While the Allies get ready to invade Italy, and Nazi collaborators and hunters begin to encircle him, Mors’ hunt for intense passion, vengeance, and hunger for power make him confront the demons from his present and past. There is a very different war about to break out.

“Radio Girls” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2016. London in the year 1926. Maisie Musgrave, who was raised in America, is thrilled she just landed a job as a secretary with the British Broadcasting Corporation, whose use of radio (both electrifying and new) captivates the nation.

Quickly Maisie begins gaining confidence while arranging broadcasts with famous politicians and writers. However she is caught up in a building conflict between her bosses: Hilda Matheson, the director of the hugely popular Talks program and John Reith, the formidable director-general of the BBC.

Maisie finds a shocking conspiracy at work, she and Hilda team up to make their voices heard on the air and off. Then they face the dangerous consequences of telling the real truth for a living.

“Red Letter Days” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2020. A pair of brave women flee from the Communist Red Scare, they quickly find that no future is free from facing the past.

Amid the glamour and glitz of fifties New York, Phoebe Adler chases her dream of screenwriting. A dream that becomes a living nightmare when she gets blacklisted, caught in the web of the Red Menace that shatters the lives of suspected Communists. Desperate to keep working, she goes to London, and determined to keep her dream alive in order clear her good name.

Phoebe befriends Hannah Wolfson, a fellow American exile while there, who defied all the odds to build a career as a successful television producer in England. Hannah is a woman that has it all, and now gambles all she has in a very dangerous game. The game of hiring some blacklisted writers.

Neither woman suspects that danger looms still, and their battle is only just starting.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sarah-Jane Stratford

Leave a Reply