Book Notification

Sarah Prineas Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ash & Bramble Books

Publication Order of The Lost Books Books

The Scroll of Kings (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Magic Thief Books

Publication Order of Spirit Animals: Fall Of The Beasts Books

Immortal Guardians (By: Eliot Schrefer) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Ground (By: Victoria Schwab) (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Return (By: Varian Johnson) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Tide (By: Jonathan Auxier) (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wildcat's Claw (By: Varian Johnson) (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heart of the Land (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stormspeaker (By: Christina Diaz Gonzalez) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dragon's Eye (By: Sarwat Chadda) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Winterling Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Dragonfell (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trouble in the Stars (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Asking for Trouble (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Best New Paranormal Romance(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Best New Romantic Fantasy 2(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best of Talebones(2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
School Dazed(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sarah Prineas is an American author that writes fantasy for children and young adults, though she also has a strong adult fan base.


Sarah Prineas grew up in Lyme, Connecticut. The Iowa resident loves to write, and she has admitted as much. If she could, that is all she would ever do. She also enjoys talking about writing, not only with fans but other authors with whom she tends to correspond.

When she isn’t writing, Sarah is reading, and she also does that a lot. Her primarily interest is fantasy, which is what she also writes. However, do not be surprised to find her reading romance and regular fiction.

The author has the perfect location for her writing career, a place that so many other writers would envy. Sarah lives in rural Iowa. With her husband and children, she inhabits forty acres of land in the countryside.

When she isn’t writing, Sarah can be found working to restore the woods. Sarah will tell you that her life is fulfilling, balancing her writing with working outside. She also gets to canoe around their lake and hike, not to mention gardening.

And if that isn’t distracting enough, Sarah has an abundance of animals to play with. Not just the cats and the dogs but chickens and bees. Do not be surprised to find Sarah Prineas wrangling some goats.

It is a unique life, but the quiet of the countryside, the open air and all the sounds of nature make for a conducive writing environment.

Sarah’s husband is a scientist who works at the University of Iowa, specifically the Department of Physics and Astronomy. Sarah once worked for the honors program in the same university.

Before ‘The magic Thief’, Sarah Prineas’ first novel in 2008, the author wrote short fantasy stories for adults.

+The Magic Thief

Conn is a young boy with a powerful future. In a city running low on magic, Conn’s life changes when he touches Nevery’s locus magicalicus and survives. Not even Conn knows the magic and adventure awaiting him when he picks the wizard’s pocket.

And now that he has survived contact with the locus magicalicus, a stone used to focus magic, Nevery knows who he is, and he is quite interested in the young boy. The wizard wastes no time in taking the boy under his wing as an apprentice, though Conn must first locate his own locus stone.

However, the wizard lessons and the rigors of helping Nevery find a wizard thief in the city leave Conn little opportunity to do so.

You wouldn’t expect much from this Sarah Prineas novel, primarily because it has all the hallmarks of your average fantasy novel. However, the most surprising aspect of this book is the fact that it isn’t as predictable as it should be.

In fact, there is a certain level of freshness to the story that is completely unexpected. Sarah crafts a whole new world with defined magical rules and a consistent system that governs the supernatural.

However, where other novels might be content with simply creating awesome magical systems, Sarah goes all the way and actually ensures to populate her world with interesting characters; protagonists with flaws who you can care about and cheer for.

And the secondary characters actually matter. They are more than just warm bodies designed to give the world a complete feel. Sarah isn’t afraid to assign them meatier roles than one might expect for a book like this.

The book has been compared to Harry Potter and Percy Jackson, not with regards to the story but the feel of the universe as a whole; though, Sarah Prineas’ wizards use special stones to cast magic instead of wands.

Conn gets embroiled in the world of magic when he attempts to steal from a wizard, a step he takes with the intention of simply feeding himself. Life as Nevery’s assistant is pleasant enough, though.

Conn gets fed and he has a roof over his head. More than that, he is also learning how to read. However, there are also challenges that he must face. For instance, he only has thirty days to find his own magical stone, this while dealing with the contempt of others because of his past as a known thief.

As far as first books go, this one does a great job of drawing readers into Sarah Prineas’ world.


Conn’s apprenticeship under the Wizard Nevery is going well enough. Though, he must now deal with his strange affinity for fire. Of course, Nevery isn’t too keen on him pursuing that path, not with the dangers typical magical already elicits.

That everything could blow up in his face is a fact Nevery states to Conn, especially now that they all have their hands full with a great evil lurking in the shadows of the City of Welmet.

Conn isn’t too quick to take his master’s advice, though, not when every explosion he sets off manifests odd murmurs. Conn begins to consider the possibility that something might be trying to warn him.

But no one will listen to him, none the wizards in any case. So he decides to act on his own and soon stands against a powerful sorcerer even while contending with great betrayal.

This is a very well-paced book, and it flows so smoothly that it keeps pulling you in further, driving you to connect to the characters and follow them religiously on their journey no matter how long it takes.

The story also elicits so many powerful emotions as it forces Conn, the hero, to ask some very difficult questions. The book is told from a first-person perspective, and Sarah does a great job of maintaining that point of view which, in turn, makes it easier to follow her narrative.

Conn is growing up and the world of magic is more than ready to test his mettle. Unfortunately for Sarah, this book tends to attract even more brazen comparisons with Harry Potter.

However, that isn’t the fault of the author. Rather, Harry Potter was such an explosive success that many of the elements it reused from popular fiction have since become synonymous with J.K. Rowling’s work.

It only makes sense that some of Sarah’s ideas would draw comparisons with similar concepts in the Harry Potter series.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sarah Prineas

Leave a Reply