Book Notification

Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery Books

Tagged for Death (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Longest Yard Sale (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Murders Final! (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Day to Buy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Know What You Bid Last Summer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gun Also Rises (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Let's Fake a Deal (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sell Low, Sweet Harriet (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Absence of Alice (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sherry Harris pens this cozy mystery novel series called “Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery”. Sarah Winston, the star of the series, begins the series as a happy Air Force wife. That all changes when her husband leaves her for a much younger subordinate. After they divorce, she moves to Ellington, a small town that is near New England. She winds up becoming an organizer of yard sales, after she goes to so many, seeing what works and what does not work.

It is Harris’s love of yard sales, that started when she was in the second grade, that helped her write this series. It was also her love of being a military spouse (this was back when she and her husband moved all around the world when he was in the Air Force), and her years and years of living in Massachusetts.

“Tagged For Death” is the first novel in the “Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery” series by Sherry Harris that was released in 2014. Sarah is forced to move off base, after her husband, CJ, leaves her for another woman. She starts going to garage, tag, and yard sales as a sort of therapy to get over what happened, all in the small town of Ellington, Massachusetts. She would like nothing more than to make this a full time career. She comes back from a good day of searching for treasures, and finds something nasty. It is a newly bloodied shirt that she knows for a fact belongs to her ex-husband CJ. CJ is now the chief of police in Ellington. Tiffany, to make matters worse, has gone missing it would seem. Sarah is the only one that can prove that her cold-hearted ex is not one to kill in cold blood. But that may prove quite difficult.

Fans of the novel found that this was an engaging, clever, and entertaining read. It is full of surprises. The author, Sherry Harris, has a strong voice, and is able to keep some guessing until the very last page. Sherry is able to get the series off on the right foot. It is a well written book, and with all the suspects, you are left guessing as to who exactly the killer is. This is one that is to be read by all fans of mystery novel fans. Not just the cozy mystery ones. This is a series that will be followed for many books to come, and is recommended to those looking for a good and fun cozy mystery series to read.

“The Longest Yard Sale” is the second novel in the “Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery” series by Sherry Harris that was released in 2015. Sarah Winston turns Ellington into the largest garage sale of New England for the day, making it the biggest event that has come through since the beginning of the Revolutionary War. But without all of the nasty blood being spilled. Well, until a painting worth a lot of money goes missing. And the body of a government employee is found in a woman named Carol Carson’s studio. He was found with his face perfectly framed by a metal picture frame. Which, as it happens, is also the murder weapon. It angers Sarah that someone would use her giant garage sale to commit a crime, and to take it further and frame her friend Carol for the murder. There are a lot of clues that she has to get through, not to mention a lot of data to sift through. There is evidence of cheating spouses, and a suspicious town manager. Not to mention signs of mob activity. She has to tread carefully if she wants to get to another yard sale after this.

Fans of the novel found that this novel has a complex plot, with intriguing victims, possible villains, and sidekicks. This is quite the story that will have fans flipping pages until the very end, proud that they chose to read this book. These are a fun read that stars a wonderful lead in Sarah Winston. Through these pages, some feel as though Sherry Harris brings Sarah to life and you get to meet her and get to know her personally. Some found that this novel was even better than the first in the series, and that once it gets going, it really cooks into a nice finish.

“All Murders Final” is the third novel in the “Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery” series by Sherry Harris that was released in 2016. It was supposed to be a stroke of genius and the logical next step for her to take. Of course, this is referring to when Sarah Winston began the virtual garage sale. It meant that there would be no more flimsy card tables and rainy days that washed out that day’s business. The whole thing was supposed to make having garage sales fun and easy to manage during the winter. It becomes a constant nightmare that sees her putting out fires all the time and putting up with people and managing them. She cannot get away from the crazies, even online; all she can avoid is the crowds. It was never Sarah’s goal to have to deal with horrible terrifying threats. Not to mention, that a client of Sarah’s gets murdered. At that point, she has to put her pride aside and go to her ex-husband, CJ for help. They forge an alliance, a tense one, while they look for the killer. Both online and offline they look for this person. It does not seem likely though, that they can prevent someone else from getting killed.

Fans of the novel found that the author is able to bring to life the characters in this great read, and this is a winner for fans of the first two books. This series seems to stand head and shoulders taller than other cozy mysteries out there. Harris is able to pull you in to the story and make your heart pound all the way through this one.

The first novel in the series, “Tagged For Death”, was nominated for an Agatha in the Best First Novel category for the 2014 set.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery

One Response to “Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery”

  1. Martha Radcliffe: 2 years ago

    I loved the series. Best cozy series I have ever read. So many twists and turns just when I thought I had it all figured out. Is there a 10th book in the near future?


Leave a Reply