Nick Petrie Series

Saundra Mitchell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Camp Murderface Books

with Josh Berk
Camp Murderface (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Doom in the Deep (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of The Vespertine Books

The Vespertine (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Springsweet (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Elementals (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Shadowed Summer (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Breathkept (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mistwalker (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Prom (With: ) (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All the Things We Do in the Dark (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

50 Unbelievable Women and Their FascinatingStories (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
50 Impressive Kids and Their AmazingStories (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
All Out (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Love And Sacrifice: Touching Stories About Troubled Relationships(2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Truth and Dare: 20 Tales of Heartbreak and Happiness(2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Foretold: 14 Tales of Prophecy and Prediction(2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Defy the Dark(2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Grim(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Lightspeed Magazine, September 2014(2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Tyranny of Petticoats(2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Out Now(2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Out There: Into the Queer New Yonder(2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Saundra Mitchell
Saundra Mitchell is a young adult fantasy author of The Vespertine, Shadowed Summer, and The Springsweet, to mention but a few. Mitchell is also the author of the non-fiction series. They Did What!? Designed for middle graders. In 2010, Shadowed Summer won The Society of Midland Authors Book Award in the Children’s Fiction category. This book was also nominated for Edgar® Award the same year. Aside from writing, Mitchell also works as an editor. When she is not writing, the talented author enjoys papermaking, studying history, and spending quality time with her husband and children.

The Vespertine
The Vespertine is the first book in The Verspentine series. This book features Amelia van den Broek, a sixteen-year-old girl settling in her new life in Baltimore. It was summer in 1889, and Amelia is staying at her cousin’s house. Amelia wants to enjoy this city to the maximum as she meets eligible bachelors who could be turned into husbands. All these changes when she starts to get dreamlike visions about the future.

These visions only appear at sunset, and Amelia is shocked when whatever she sees comes true a few days later. Her cousin, Zora, encourages Amelia to explore her gift and see what the future holds for her. Soon, friends and strangers begin to come to Amelia so she can prophesy to them.

As Amelia is getting used to her celebrity status, she is also falling madly in love with a man she shouldn’t even dream of dating. Nathaniel is the object of Amelia’s obsession, and while the bohemian artist makes her feel all kinds of way, it is no secret that he is the wrong man for her. Amelia is prohibited from dating people like Nathaniel, who is below her station, so the two lovebirds have to keep their relationship secret. All is going great until Amelia gets a dark vision that later comes true. This vision brings chaos in Amelia’s life, completely throwing her off guard and leaving her wondering what steps to take.
Amelia’s dreams become darker over time, and it is not long before people start shunning her. Could she be the cause of all these tragedies? Is she really talented or merely a source of bad luck? As Amelia is struggling with her identity, Nathaniel is keeping secrets of his own. These two lovebirds don’t know yet because the secret Nathaniel is hiding is intertwined with Amelia’s future. Could this be why Amelia found herself intensely attracted to Nathaniel even when she knows very little about him? How long does it take for the lovebirds to realize that they have a shared destiny?

The Vespertine is a Victorian story that is both enchanting and charming. This book tells of a beautiful love story of kindred spirits with loads of potential. Sadly, Amelia’s gift brought so much sadness, and Nathaniel had a gift he couldn’t access. This is not to mean that the two had a dull life. There are parties, dress-ups, and loads of exciting things the teenagers get involved in as they get to know each other better. This book is perfect if you are looking for a Victorian love story with a paranormal element. Both Amelia and Nathaniel are well developed, and you cannot help but wish them the best in their lives’ journeys.

Shadowed Summer
Shadowed Summer tells the story of a girl who summons the ghost of a boy who disappeared many years ago. It is summer in this small Louisiana town, and Iris is planning to spend her days as she does at this time of year- telling spooky stories, pretending to cast spells as she and her friends go through the cemetery. Iris and her friend Collette are having the time of their lives when Iris sees a ghost. Elijah Landry disappeared years ago, and those who anticipated his return have already given up. All that remains of him is hushed gossip and whispers as people speculate on what happened to him.
Iris is shocked to see Elijah ghost, and the worrying thing is that this doesn’t just end at the cemetery. Elijah continues to haunt Iris, and she is pushed to ask questions and find out what happened to this boy. Why did Elijah’s ghost choose Iris and not Collette? What will Iris need to do to put it to rest once and for all? Iris works hard to figure things out, but Collete is not much help, thanks to her obsession with boys. Sure, Collete and Ben will offer to help Iris find out what happened to Elijah, but she will have to do most of the digging.

Iris is a lovable character. It is amazing how she finds joy in basic elements of life. The small-town setting is also perfect. Through the author’s descriptions, it is easy to imagine the town, its people, and the sceneries. The author has done a great job of capturing the relationships. Iris is a good daughter and friend even though, at a point, her actions end up disappointing her dad. There is also an element of change in the story. Collete is discovering boys, Iris is growing older and wiser, and her dad’s secrets can no longer be hidden. How does this story end? Will Iris manage to find out what happened to Elijah and get his soul to rest?

Shadowed Summer is a haunting and funny ghost story. The storyline is intriguing, the pacing is just right, and the characters will haunt you long after reading this book. With this book, it is easy to think that you have everything figured out until the ending catches you by surprise. Away from the ghosts, this is also a coming of age story. Throughout the book, you see teenagers on their journey to self-discovery and the uncertainties associated with such periods. If you like a good ghost story, you will surely love this book. The book is not as spooky, and the imaginative world is epic. This book is less than 200 pages, and you can enjoy it all in one sitting.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Saundra Mitchell

Leave a Reply