Nick Petrie Series

Savannah Reid Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Savannah Reid Mystery Books

Just Desserts (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bitter Sweets (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Killer Calories (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cooked Goose (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sugar and Spite (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Sour Grapes (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Peaches and Screams (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death by Chocolate (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cereal Killer (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Murder à la Mode (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Corpse Suzette (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fat Free and Fatal (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Poisoned Tarts (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Body To Die For (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wicked Craving (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Decadent Way To Die (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Buried In Buttercream (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Killer Honeymoon (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Killer Physique (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Killer Gourmet (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Killer Reunion (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Every Body on Deck (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hide and Sneak (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bitter Brew (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
And the Killer Is . . . (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Few Drops of Bitters (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Savannah Reid is a Southern plus-size belle with a real spicy kick. This proud voluptuous vixen is not one for fooling around! With a black belt in karate and a Beretta always in arm’s reach, this chick is ready to meet any challenge that comes her way. Not only does she have a rocking attitude, but she is also one of the most determined and high-spirited independent private investigators in the state of California. She takes on every case that comes her way with her strong-willed nature that entices readers more and more with each new investigation.

After being let go from her former position as a police officer for her curvacious figure and some fishy police politics, Savannah started her own detective agency called Moonlight Magnolia in the town of San Carmelita. She works along with her close-knit staff including her best friend and quirky assistant named Tammy, a fellow grumpy ex-officer named Dirk (who’s secretly a softy), and two former FBI agents named Gibson and Ryan. Working together they make the perfect team for putting the pieces together and solving the most difficult crimes. Nobody would dare question the impact her weight has on her crime-solving ability, because even if she admits that she isn’t the fastest, she is still one of the best investigators in town, and always gets the job done right.

Savannah Reid gives society’s body-shaming tendencies a whole new perspective. Not only has she learned to love herself and her size, but she also gives a whole new representation to plus-size characters. While we are used to plus-size characters being the bubbly comedians of the bunch, detective Reid is a strong and dedicated woman who knows her self worth, and won’t let anyone tell her she can’t do something. Not only is she praised for promoting body-acceptance, but she is also humble in running her company, and does it for the rewarding aspects versus the monetary value. Savannah’s philosophy is that as long as she has good friends, good desserts, and enough money to pay rent, then she is as happy as can be.

Savannah is the oldest of nine siblings…Yes, you heard right, nine of them! Though she loves to spend her spare time cooking and eating new dishes, her main passion is giving justice to those in need of it. Even though she has an attitude that is confident and unyielding, she also has a side of her that can be very light-hearted. For instance, in some of the series she may start to have a love interest in someone close-by, and she also does kooky things like naming all of her plants.

Even with Savannah having more than a handful of siblings, she is protective of anyone she considers family, even if they aren’t necessarily blood. People soon know not to mess with anybody that Detective Reid considers to be family, because you will see in the series that she does not take matters like those lightly.

As a self-assured and foxy detective, Savannah is undoubtedly a positive role model with her inspiring take on body image, and her determined attitude she puts forth in her work. No matter what type of case comes her way, she is quick to become engaged in the investigative process until she catches the perpetrators responsible.

Poisoned Tarts

Though G.A. McKevett has many beloved novels in the, “Savannah Reid Mystery” series, this one is always regarded as the best one. This thriller takes place right around Halloween, the perfect time of year for a murder investigation. The case is revolved around a celebrity clique who refer to themselves as, “The Skeleton Key Three.” They’re known for being extremely rich, with extremely thin waistlines to boot.

As Savannah soon finds out, one of the members of the famed posse may not have been as thin and as wealthy as the other two. Her disappearance starts to raise questions around what really happened, and who was involved. Could she have perhaps been accused of tarnishing the image of The Skeleton Key Three? Is it too juvenile to suspect that they are the only ones who could be guilty? The findings of who the perpetrator, or perpetrators are, will be sure to throw you for a loop.

Peaches and Screams

This is yet another highly rated novel in the, “Savannah Reid Mystery” series. Though Savannah and her youngest brother named Macon are years apart in age, that doesn’t have any sort of impact on how protective she still is of him. Unfortunately, the youngest of the bunch finds himself in the most amount of trouble when he gets caught up in a high-profile murder case. Could Savannah’s own flesh and blood have served a role in this mess?

A well-loved judge in the area named Judge Patterson was found murdered, and Macon is their prime suspect. Although Detective Reid’s first instinct is that her brother is presumably innocent, could he really be at fault? As the story unfolds, she starts to wonder if her brother really is as innocent as she once presumed. Could it be possible that her own flesh and blood is at fault for this horrific crime? As the evidence starts to present itself, you’ll be holding onto your seat with all of these unsuspected turns. Meanwhile, Macon is sitting in a cell hoping that his sister is working on proving his innocence, and more-so hoping that she is successful in it.

G.A. McKevett does a wonderful job at breaking societal norms with the character of Savannah Reid. It is not often that you come across a strong, plus-sized individual that does not need to hide behind humor. In fact, Savannah does everything but hide. She is proud of her body, her success, and she has a great support system to back her up. She does not let her weight hold her back, and she always has the will and determination to press forward in her investigative assignments. With her sassy persona and her yearning for justice, she is sure to win you over as the true local hero that she is.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Savannah Reid

One Response to “Savannah Reid”

  1. Rosalie M White: 2 years ago

    I love Savannah Reid and Granny Reid. I can’t wait for the new Granny Reid book. Will there be a new Savannah Reid book after A Few Drops of Bitters? Thanks!


Leave a Reply