Book Notification

Saxon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Saxon Books

An Infinite Number of Monkeys (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Not Enough Horses (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Carrot for the Donkey (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Snake Oil (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seeing the Elephant (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lemon Chicken Jones (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon

Les Roberts is a one of the best mystery novel writers, who has done an exemplary excellent job in his writing career. Roberts was born on 18th July 1937 in Chicago, Illinois as Lester Roubert, but later changed his name to Les Roberts in 1968. He is the son of Lester Nathaniel and Eleanor (Bauch) Roubert. He got married in 1957 to Gail Medland, but later in 1980, they divorced. He has two children, namely; Darren Jon and Valarie Lynne. He also has one grandson, known as Shea Holland Thompson. Between 1954-1956, Les Roberts attended the Roosevelt University and University of Illinois at Champaign Urbana.

He started his writing career in Hollywood after 24-years. This was the period he wrote and produced, more than 2500 half hour segments of syndicated and network televisions. The Saxon series is one of his unique series since it has its setting in Los Angles, unlike most of his books that have their settings based on regional settings. Les Roberts became the first producer and head writer of The Hollywood Squares. This was during his time in Hollywood. Besides being the producer and head writer of the Hollywood squares, he was also the writer of The Andy Griffith Show, The Lucy Show, The Man from U.N.C.L.E and The Jackie Gleason show. Besides his writing career, he has also been a professional actor, singer, teacher, jazz musician and businessman. Roberts was the former president of the Private Eye Writers of America and the regular mystery book critic for “The Plain Dealer”. In 2012, he became a Vegan C. This was after watching “peaceable Kingdom” The Journey Home”.

He began his writing career back in 1987 and has written several books that you will find online or at the nearest library. His genesis book was known the Infinite Number of Monkeys that was written in 1987. The second book was written in 1988, almost a year after his debut novel. The book was entitled “Not Enough Horses”. His pioneer and the second book in his career as a writer are the first two books of the Series Saxon by Les Roberts. The series has a total of six books that you can easily read in a couple of days and all are available online. The last book in the series is known as “The Lemon Chicken Jones”.

An Infinite Number of Monkeys

This is the initial book of the series Saxon. It has about 165 pages and its initial publication was done on 1st January, 1987. In this book, the protagonist character is a transplanted Easterner known as Saxon, who is finding his ways as an actor besides being an investigator and a runner. This is a novel that Roberts writes after being convinced by Cleveland that it was appropriate to write the book in such settings. This came just after Les Roberts returned from Los Angeles for a short term job back in 1986.

In the book, we also find out that Saxon is very solvent between his role as an investigating agency and running. Saxon shows how kind he is at the famous pulp detective writer Buck Weldon. His decision of helping the person is more evident even meeting Weldon’s tall Blonde daughter. There is a baffling that is going on and this involves a professor and a major dealer of cocaine in the private eye literature. This, therefore, implies that Saxon has a great task to attend to and the investigation takes him to Palm Springs from Westwood. He later returns to San Fernando Valley, just before the cruel culmination in the backwater village in Mexican on the Baja Peninsula.

When a bullet is fired and he narrowly misses it, the secretary of the detective is kind of uneasy and he thinks he is at great risk. This is a smart and entertaining story that is full of beautiful women, buxom, gangsters and hard cops. You will also realize that the writer uses hidden identity and this enables him to write his literary work seriously. Les Roberts also tells us how he was able to fictionally discover both the soul and the heart of his best people in life. This is a good and fast moving story with plenty of the expected violence, sex and jaded life views including drugs, alcohol and manipulation of trusting innocent characters. It is a smart book you will enjoy reading. With the setting based in a Los Angles, you will find it very elementary to follow the story.

This is just, but a short summary of the book that will give you an overview of the happening in the book. To read more about the novel, you can visit your nearest library or go online and you will definitely love the smart story by Les Roberts.

Not Enough Horses

This is the second book of the Saxon Series by Les Roberts. The book was written in 1988 just a year after the pioneer book of the series. The book has 215 pages and was published on 1st January 1988. The protagonist character in the book is known as Saxon, who is an investigator. When an incident occurs of a bit-actor known as Bingham is blown into Act Five in a car bombing. After this incidence, Saxon is now convinced that this is a case of misdirected anger. This, therefore, implies that Saxon has a great task of investigating the car bombing. In the process of investigation, he finds himself in the plush and competitive world of network television. This is where one over-achieving executive is willing to stop at nothing to go to the top. This needs Saxon to be very prudent in his investigation despite the challenges he might face. The novel has the best settings and this will give you even more motive to read the novel.

This is just a summary of the book that gives you the urge of reading the entire novel. With only six books in the series, you will find it very elementary to read the entire series in a couple of days. The novels are available online where you can choose to either read or buy the novel. Get a copy of the novel and you will find it very smart.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Saxon

Leave a Reply