Book Notification

Scott Cullen Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Scott Cullen Mysteries Books

Ghost in the Machine (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Devil in the Detail (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire in the Blood (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dyed in the Wool (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bottleneck (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Windchill (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cowboys and Indians (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heroes and Villains (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Cullen & Bain Books

City of the Dead (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
World's End (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hell's Kitchen (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gore Glen (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead in the Water: When Cullen met Bain (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Drop (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Scott Cullen Mysteries series is a series of thriller and crime fiction novels written by one of the best selling Scottish crime novelists named Ed James. It consists of seven books in total, all of which were published between the years 2012 and 2015. Author James has described the main character in the books of this series in the form of Scott Cullen, who works as a Detective Constable at the Lothian and Borders Crime Investigation Department. All the books in the series are self published by author James. The plots of each and every book takes place in Lothian, a place located near Edinburgh in Scotland, The United Kingdom. The first book of the Scott Cullen Mysteries was published under the title ‘Ghost in the Machine’. This book was self published by author Ed James in the form of a Kindle edition in the year 2012. At the starting sequence of the story of this novel, Scott Cullen is introduced as a Detective Constable, working at the CID in Lothian & Borders. Initially, it is shown that it has only been 3 months for DC Scott Cullen working as a full Detective Constable in CID. Very soon, he gets assigned to his first case involving a missing person.

The case seems to have already stretched Scott Cullen’s colleagues in the CID. From the initial reports, it is learned that a young and recently divorced mother hailing from Edinburgh has gone missing while she had gone on a date. This woman is named Caroline Adamson and Scott Cullen seems very much dedicated to find out the answers to all the questions related to her disappearance. But, the deeper he digs into the investigation, the more he comes to know about the private life of Caroline Adamson. The first thing that DC Cullen tries to find out is the person with whom Caroline Adamson had gone on a date. If he can get close to this person, he can some clue as to what led to Caroline’s disappearance. Scott Cullen also tries to know about the circumstances which led to her divorce from Rob Thomson. As DC Cullen makes himself busy with the investigation, his own private life begins to get messy. Even his relationship with his DI starts to deteriorate. Soon, the dead body of Caroline Adamson is found. This leads Scott Cullen to the hunt of a ghost, which appeared to be very deadly. During the whole time of the investigation of the missing case of Caroline Adamson, Scott Cullen seems to be burning with a firm ambition. In the end, the novel depicts an intense police procedural related to loss, social network, and privacy, which build up into a shocking climax.

One of the earliest books written in the Scott Cullen Mysteries by author Ed James is titled as ‘Dyed In The Wool’. This novel was released as a Kindle Edition by the Amazon Digital Services in the year 2013. The story mentioned by author Ed James in this book once again depicts Detective Constable Scott Cullen in the center stage. In fact, this time his private and professional lives seem to arrive at the opposite ends of his spectrum. At first, he goes on to stagnate his DC career, which gets impacted because of his foolish actions of jockeying for a respectable position at the time of establishment of the Police Service of Scotland with the merger of the Borders and Lothian forces. He seems to be rather unable to put forward his promotion case. In addition to that, his relationship with Detective Sergeant Sharon McNeill gets tested as his planned meeting to impress her parents gets interrupted by a call related to a murder investigation. Scott learns that a dead body has been discovered in a car parked near West Lothian. As he begins with the investigation of the case, he is forced to go through his old stomping grounds, which are haunted by events from his past life. An officer named DS Colin Methvan goes on to occupy the position that Scott had his eye on for a long time. Colin intends to straighten out the cowboy nature of Cullen, which had resulted i fracturing his friendship with Detective Constable Angela Caldwell. Another officer named DI Paul Wilkinson lurks in the background and tries to push Scott back for a latest case. Soon, DC Cullen finds himself compounded and lost because of the mysteries around him. However, he still seems dedicated enough to catch the culprits and bring them to justice.

The next book in the Scott Cullen Mystery series written by author Ed James was published under the title ‘Bottleneck’. This book was released in the year 2014 as a Kindle Edition by author Ed James in association with the Amazon Digital Services. The plot of the book is once again set in Scotland, The United Kingdom, and features Scott Cullen promoted to the rank of a Detective Sergeant. At the beginning of the story, Scott Cullen is described as having a stable relationship as well as a promotion that he had coveted for a long time. Everything appears to be in order in his life after a very long time. But, things begin to go out of hand as uncertainty surrounds the imminent restructure of the Police Scotland. He also gets over loaded with a number of investigative cases. This causes a strain in his relationship with his girlfriend, with whom he has been living for some time. Even her health begins to deteriorate. Soon, Scott Cullen moves out to solve a murder case when a dead body is found in the abandoned streets of the Old Town of Edinburgh. Initially, he is not able to establish the identity of the victim, but as soon as he begins to trawl the depths of the music scene of Scotland he experiences some success in the case. Scott goes on to dig up some old scores in Glasgow and Edinburgh in order to find the killer. When he returns to his home town, he finds himself quite thin in trying to hunt down a deadly killer all across Scotland. The killer seems to leave no trace of his crimes, which makes the matter difficult for Scott Cullen. Soon, DS Cullen comes to know about the centralization of the police forces of Scotland into the Police Scotland and finds himself at the receiving end of the internal politics’ murky world. This causes a lot of obstacles in the progress of his investigation and also seems to jeopardize his career. In the end, the novel very well depicts the police procedurals in Scotland filled with ambition and greed, which caused the readers to get filled with a lot of intrigue.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Scott Cullen Mysteries

Leave a Reply