Book Notification

Scott Lynch Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gentleman Bastard Books

The Lies of Locke Lamora (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Seas Under Red Skies (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Republic of Thieves (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Queen of the Iron Sands (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Stacks (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Effigy Engine (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Year and a Day in Old Theradane (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Rogues(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Long List Anthology(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ex Libris: Stories of Librarians, Libraries, and Lore(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Swords(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book Of Swords: Part 2(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of Magic: A Collection of Stories(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
KOBOLD Guide to Roleplaying(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Scott Lynch is a noted American author, who generally likes to write fantasy novels. He is well known for the Gentleman Bastard series of novels. Scott was born in the year 1978 in St. Paul, Minnesota. He was the eldest of the three brothers and used to live in Minnesota before moving to Western Wisconsin in the city of New Richmond very recently. Scott attended the Woodbury High School as a child and later joined the Miskatonic University in Arkham for graduation. He has done a number of odd jobs such as a busboy, prep cook, waiter, office manager, dishwasher, web designer and a freelance writer. He did not have to wait for too long to become a successful writer after his first novel came out. Scott’s first novel titled, ‘The lies of Locke Lamora’ was published in the year 2006 by the Gollancz imprint in the UK and by the Bantam imprint in the US. It was purchased by Simon Spanton of the Orion Books in the year 2004. Scott considers himself more or less a geek of all trades. He likes films, history, classic Macs, gaming, literature and game design very much. He is also a trained and certified volunteer firefighter and has also served since 2005 in Wisconsin. He got his training from the Anoka technical College. Scott likes to collect adventure novels and adventure games. He separated from his wife in the year 2010 with whom he was happily married for four years.

Scott is currently dating Elizabeth Bear is also a critically acclaimed science fiction and fantasy author. She lives in Massachusetts while Scott lives in Wisconsin along with his cat named Muse. Scott was awarded the Sydney J. Bounds Best Newcomer Award for his first novel by the British fantasy Society. The novel was also nominated for the World Fantasy Award. Scott was also nominated for the John W. Campbell Award for the Best New Writer for two consecutive years 2007 and 2008. The well-known fantasy novel series ‘The Gentleman Bastard’ written by Scoot Lynch is a seven-novel series, of which the first three have been published from 2006 to 2013. The novel series is set in a fantasy world of the Therin Throne Empire. It shows the life of a young and professional thief named Locke Lamora. He is a con artist and the overall plot of the series is set over 15 to 20 years. The first book of the series was published on June 27, 2006. ‘The Lies of Locke Lamora’ shows elite con artists who rob the city of Camorr and call themselves ‘Gentleman Bastards’. Camorr, being a rich city in the late medieval Venice is always under threat from these con artists. The novel describes two stories simultaneously, one in present time where the Gentleman Bastards fight with the Gray King to take over the criminal underworld. The second story shows the history of Camorr and describes Locke Lamora and the Gentleman Bastards.

The plot of the novel shows the Gentleman Bastards as the masters of disguise, fine cuisine and deception with their ‘garrista’ or leader named Father Chains. He is a priest and the God of the thieves. When Locke was six years old, Father Chains bought him for building his gang. They carry out a number of tricks on the rich and defy the Secret Peace, which is an agreement between the government and the criminals to carry out organized crime. Soon. Locke becomes the garrista of the group after Father Chains’ death. His team comprises of Jean Tannen, who is an expert fighter; identical twins Calo and Galdo Sanza, who are the jack of all trades and Bug, who is a young apprentice. They also have a female member named Sabetha. They undergo a certain chain of events and try to overthrow the Gray King by becoming the leaders of the criminal underworld. Locke and his team members try to disguise as traders and con the other traders for collecting wealth.

Later, Locke and Jean are left while others are killed in a mortal combat against the army of the Gray King. They are successful in distracting the Raza and trick him to destroy the ship filled with his fortune. Locke and Jean recover from their injuries and sail away to start a new life. The novel was such a big hit that the well known production company, Warner Brothers bought the rights to make a film based on the novel’s story right after its release. Kevin and Dan Hageman were roped in to write the screenplay and Michael De Luca and Julie Yorn were to become the producers.

Well-known writers praised the work of Scott and described the novel as a fresh and original tale. His description of Camorr was very much appreciated. The sequel to the first novel and the second novel of the series, ‘Red Seas Under Red Skies’ was published in the year 2007. It was published by the same publishing house which published the first novel. The novel shows Locke Lamora and Jean Tannen take shelter in the richest city of Tal Verrar and Sinspire after having fled from the city of Camorr. This city is considered as the most difficult target on the horizon and the ultimate gambling house. It is full of exclusive luxuries and is very well guarded. The security so tight that no thief has ever been successful in robbing it.

But Locke has different plans and decide to gamble. But before they could do so, they are hired by some others to become pirates in the seas. They want the Gentleman Bastards’ expertise to this suicidal mission. Locke and Jean are tested as they have not done this before. But as they are known to overcome all the interruptions in their lives, they try to get past this hurdle too. Even the Bondsmagi of Karthain could not stop them. The success of this novel told its own story. It was considered as the best second novel ever by the reviewers. Scott was believed to have lived the expectations of the people with this masterpiece. The story of the novel was appreciated very much as a charming, fast and an unpredictable surprise. This has inspired Scott to complete the series of seven novels and he is currently working on it.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Scott Lynch

Leave a Reply