Book Notification

Scott Oden Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Grimnir Books

A Gathering of Ravens (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twilight of the Gods (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Doom of Odin (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of The Heroic Legends Books

Conan: Black Starlight (By: John C. Hocking) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Solomon Kane: The Hound of God (By: Jonathan Maberry) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conan: The Child (By: Brian D. Anderson) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conan: The Shadow of Vengeance (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Conan: Lethal Consignment (By: Shaun Hamill) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Solomon Kane: The Banquet of Souls (By: Steven Savile) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bêlit: Bone Whispers (By: Michael A. Stackpole) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Sea of Sorrow(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Empire of Sol(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Book of Blades(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Scott Oden is a historical and fantasy fiction author that likes to style himself a refugee from historical fiction that found a new home in fantasy.
He has said that he has been a fan of the diverse worlds of fantasy for years, as he cut his teeth on the likes of David Gemmell, JRR Tolkien, Karl Edward Wagner and Robert E. Howard. He would then move on the works of the inimitable Bernard Cornwell, Steven Pressfield and Mary Renault.

As such, he spent some time among the Egyptians and Greeks, before coming back to his first love in the sword and sorcery and heroic fantasy worlds.
Aside from his writing, he is also a long time player of old gem fantasy games, classic D&D games and tabletop role playing games. In recent times, he has also gotten into role playing games such as “Conan: Adventures in an Age Undreamed Of” by Robert E Howard.

The author Scott Oden was born in North Alabama and from a very young age, he was fascinated with historical and fantastic places. It was his elder brother that introduced him to the savage and staggering vistas of Harold Lamb and Robert E. Howard.

Even though he got started writing as a fourteen year old, it would take many years before he got anything published. Meanwhile, he had a tempestuous even if brief fling with academia, before he quit to go make a living in the private sector.

During this time, he worked all manner of jobs from being the check out clerk at a video store, stacking paper for a printer, and delivering pizza.
Oden made his publishing debut with the 2005 single standing novel Men of Bronze. Since that time he has become quite a prolific author and has more than eight titles to his name spread across two series and several single standing titles.

Oden is now a full time author and when he is not writing his novels he can be found doting over Shannon, his wife or walking his two dogs.

As for his biggest influences, Scott Oden cites “The Lord of the Rings” and “The Hobbit” on which he cut his teeth. However, everything came to a head when he read the Conan tales, which were part of his elder brother’s collection.

The fast paced headlong writing style grabbed the young reader as it seemed to rise off the page and grabbed him by the throat. Conan was an indomitable, resourceful and cunning lead and everything he wanted in a hero.

When he began writing as a fourteen year old, he tried to mimic the style as he wrote of men of action with grim futures and pasts. While his initial stories were laughable to say the least, they provided the foundation for his later writing.

After years of studying English and History, his style has evolved and he thinks he is close enough to Howard’s style.

Scott Oden’s novel “A Gathering of Ravens” is a thrilling fantasy novel about a man that is fomoraig ot the Irish, orcneas to the English and skraeling to the Danes.

Grimnir is brother of the Serpent, the Son of the Wolf, the Life-quencher and Corpse-Maker and Bringer of Night. He is the last of his kind being a monster that has been a plague on humankind for eons.

Now that his brother has been slain, he is coming out of his lair to exact vengeance on the Dane that is allegedly resp0nsible for the murder. But he comes into a changed world as the Old Ways are dying and a new faith dominates. But he will never let the changes in the new world deny him his vengeance.
He decides to take a young Christian youth as a guide and hostage while he travels to the interior of Denmark, where madness rules as opposed to the ancient wisdom of the dwarves. In southern England, the spirits make war on each other even as he proceeds to Ireland, where his enemy awaits in the capital Dublin.
Despite the fact that he has just cause, the only way he can exact vengeance is if he can set aside his hatred.

“Twilight of the Gods” by Scott Oden sees Grimnir still fighting for his survival in 1218. He is resident in the Raven-Geats, a land where the Old Traditions still rule supreme.

While the citizens of the Geats faithfully pay their taxes to the sovereign who rules in the place of the White Christ, their souls and hearts belong to the Asgardrian gods. But it will be impossible for them to serve two masters and Konradr, the famed crusader, is determined to wipe off the Norse heresy from the land.

To achieve his aims, he leads an army against the Greats and uses a sword and torch to spread the White Christ religion. But the land of the Geats is protected by Grimnir, who is one of the remnants 0f the remnants of monsters that still plague Midgardr.

He intends to prevent the destruction of the Geats by standing between them and their would-be destroyer. Grimnir is assisted by a host of berserkers and the resistance sparks off an epic struggle against both the gods and the crusaders.

Odin finds himself going against Grimnir and the berserkers as he wants something best left undisturbed under their land. This is something that the blood of both the slain pagan and Christian will awaken.

Scott Oden’s novel “The Doom of Odin” sees two creatures of the Elder world clash with Christendom as the Black Death goes on a rampage across the continent.
The novel opens in 1347 Sicily where a ghost ship just washed up on the Messina shoreline. The ship is full of dead people and inside it is a terrible doom in the Malice Striker, the dragon Niðhöggr. The dragon is no longer the mighty wyrm of Ragnarok but its breath is still a plague and pestilence that threatens to destroy everything in its path just like the Black Death.

But the world has a spitting, snarling blasphemous and profane champion that is from a long line of monsters that were goblins of legend and myth. The Grimnir stands betten the cold silence of oblivion and the extinction of the future of all humanity.

He has hunted dangerous monsters for centuries from the dank cisterns of Constantinople to the cold wastes of the Baltic and he intends to deal with the threat of the Malice-Striker.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Scott Oden

Leave a Reply