Book Notification

Scottish Bookshop Mysteries Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Scottish Bookshop Mysteries Books

The Cracked Spine (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Christmas Tartan (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Of Books and Bagpipes (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost Books and Old Bones (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Loch Ness Papers (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stolen Letter (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Editions (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Pages (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fateful Words (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Poison Pen (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Paige Shelton is an accomplished published American author.

When Paige was younger, her family moved around quite frequently. Her father worked as a football coach in different places in the Midwest as well as New Mexico, where the family spent a year in Portales. The things that stood out to her that year and stayed with her since was that they lived in a haunted house and that the southwest area really had an impact on her. Paige has loved the area ever since.

Paige says that she did get the opportunity to begin high school and complete it all in one place, which was Des Moines, Iowa. She says that it was a wonderful city, even if there was a humid climate. She also went to college there, studying journalism at Drake University. She says that during those years she was able to make some great friendships and is happy to say that she is still in touch with many of them.

She has always wanted to be a writer in life. On the road to being an author, she has had good and bad jobs as well as great and terrible bosses. But through it all, she knew that she just wanted to write, something she had been aware of since she was seven years old. Having the opportunity now in life to write, she is grateful for it. For those that want to find out more about her journey to being a published author, you can find the published story on her agent’s blog.

Paige also admits that she spends a lot of time on the social media site Facebook. She says that she has been told that she talks a lot, perhaps too much, about her personal life on the site. However, she doesn’t see herself changing her ways anytime soon. Readers and fans can find her on Facebook if they are interested in finding out more or reaching out!

The author is married. She moved to Arizona with her husband in February 2015. Before moving, the couple lived in Utah in Salt Lake City. Paige had moved there because she had landed a job in advertising after graduating college. They stayed there for a long time, starting a life with Charlie and getting married and building a life in Salt Lake City for twenty-seven years. Their son has since gone to college, graduated, and is now living and working in Missouri. Meanwhile, Paige and Charlie are enjoying their very own new life and adventures in the desert.

Paige Shelton is the creator and author of the Scottish Bookshop Mystery series of fictional novels. The series has been described as being as “warm and inviting as a cup of tea” by Ellery Adams. The novels follow along with Delaney Nichols, an amateur sleuth, and Hector her dog as they go on their cozy adventures looking into crimes and murders in Scotland. The books are also focused on The Cracked Spine, the antique bookshop that Delaney works in.

The series first began in 2016 with the publication of the debut novel, The Cracked Spine. The second book in the series is Of Books and Bagpipes and was published in 2017. That was followed chronologically by the novella A Christmas Tartan. The third book in the series came out in 2018 and is titled Lost Books and Old Bones. The fourth book came out in 2019 and is titled The Loch Ness Power. The fifth book was released in 2020 and is titled The Stolen Letter. The sixth book came out in 2021 and is titled Deadly Editions. The seventh book came out in 2022 and is titled The Burning Pages, and the eighth book was released in 2023 and is titled Fateful Words.

The Cracked Spine is the first novel in the Scottish Bookshop Mysteries series by Paige Shelton. If you’ve been looking for a good cozy mystery, check this book out!

Main character Delaney Nichols needs a new adventure. So she decides to move to Edinburgh, Scotland so that she can work at The Cracked Spine. She thinks the work sounds exciting and knows that Edwin MacAlister, her boss, has given her a great chance with this job. He promised that she’ll be working with a desk that has seen royalty, and she’s thrilled to begin.

Delaney arrives and meets her new family. Rosie is also working at The Cracked Spine, a woman covered in scarves who is always with Hector, her tiny dog. Then there’s the teen thespian Hamlet, who has a bright future and interesting past at 19 years old. Then there’s Edwin, who is endlessly mysterious, and Tom, who bartends across the street and has beautiful eyes and looks great in a kilt.

Before she can start getting a feel for her new start, a valuable artifact goes missing. It’s a First Folio of Shakespeare’s plays. Then Edwin’s sister is killed, a murder that might be related to the absent folio. Delaney starts to investigate the case on her own. Can she find out who killed her boss’s sibling and stay safe herself? Read this book to find out!

Of Books and Bagpipes is the second novel in the Scottish Bookshop Mysteries series by Paige Shelton. If you liked the first book, check this one out and continue the adventure!

Delaney Nichols feels right at home in Edinburgh, her new home. She loves her job working at The Cracked Spine, the bookshop that sells rare manuscripts and other valuable items. It’s all that she dreamed it could be, and she’s flourishing there. Her boss Edwin is also trusting her with bigger jobs as she continues working there.

The latest job has her going to Castle Doune, which is a castle not far away, so she can get a difficult to find edition of an old Scottish comic. But while taking in the Highlands from the ramparts of the castle, she’s shocked as she sees a foot in sandals at the roof’s other end. The person with the foot is dead in a William Wallace costume and appears to be the same person that was meant to hand over the Oor Wullie.

Delaney goes to call the police when she comes across the Oor Wullie on the castle’s side wall, pages torn. She instinctively takes the pages and hides them under her jacket. Once she gets back to the bookshop, she starts to realize the complicated nature of the story and tries to get to the bottom of who would have killed this man. She’s also a suspect in the case. Can she clear her name and find a killer? Read this book to find out!

Book Series In Order » Characters » Scottish Bookshop Mysteries

Leave a Reply