Book Notification

Seahills Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Lorraine Hunt/Seahills Books

Run For Home (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Moon Rising (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Living On A Prayer (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Breath You Take (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Road To Hell (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lady in Red (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sound of Silence (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing Me Softly (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

If you are a fan of thrillers which will keep you on tenterhooks throughout, then you need to know more about Sheila Quigley. She has over the past few decades authored a number of books and they have caught the imagination of readers cutting across different age groups and genders. Though there are a number of books penned there are reasons to believe that Seahills (Series by Sheila Quigley) has a special place in the hearts and minds of thousands of readers. Hence it would be interesting to have closer look at this series apart from having some basic understanding about Sheila.

A Look At The Life Of Sheila Quigley

Born on July 18, 1947, this British author became a national news maker when her first novel was acquired by Random House. The novel was Run for Home. It received extensive media coverage and this perhaps helped her to take center stage. In fact BBC also broadcast a documentary on Sheila and the book Run for Home. She lived in a place called Houghton-le-Spring located near Sunderland. It fact it is believed that she lived opposite a field and this became an important landmark in quite a few of her books. She is perhaps staying with her son and also has two pet dogs which she adores and loves a lot.

Coming to her personal life, she started working at the age of 15 in a tailoring factory and she earned her bread as a presser. She got married at the age of 18 but her marriage ended in divorce soon. She bore three daughters and a son from this relationship. She also eight grandchildren and therefore she does have one big happy family.

According to many reviews, she is often considered to be one of the most popular writers in the north east. Though she has been into writing of thriller stories and series for quite some time she rose to fame only in 2001. This was perhaps because of the auction of two of her books. One was Bad Moon and the other was Run for Home. As of now she has seven books from her pen and she probably is working on the eighth one. Additionally her contribution in Pendragon Series and Hunger Games series also helped her becoming quite popular.

Now that we have some idea about her personal life and biography, we will have a look at some of the books which she has written so that we gain a better perspective about her writings. We will be looking at a few books from the Seahills Series By Sheila Quigley. There are in total six books and we will try and have a look at a few of them.

Run For Home

Since Run For Home is the initial work of Quigley, it would be interesting to find out what this book has to offer. It revolves around a young girl of sixteen years by the name Kerry Lumsdon. She is a budding runner and while running a cross country terrain she comes across a headless body dumped in the Seahills Estate in some wastelands. The case is handed over the Detective Inspector by the name Lorraine Hunt. Since Kerry is a witness she has to join hands with the detective to try and crack the case. There is seemingly nothing in common between the two, in terms of age and also given the fact that they are from two different worlds. As the case moves along Kerry believes that she has to move on her own to try and crack the horrific murder. Her endeavor leads her to a terrifying world of the underworld. It also reveals a lot about her own past, which was hidden from her by her mother in the hope that she would never learn about it. The clock is clicking for Kerry and her sister Claire Lumsdon, who has been kidnapped. It certainly is a gripping thriller and unputdownable according to many readers.

Bad Moon Rising

This is the second book in this series and is about the story of a young woman who believes in walking home on her own. As she walks home the only sound which resonates perhaps is the tapping of her high heeled shoes. She is walking home at around 2 AM in the morning. The cold weather makes the street deserted. She walks quite rapidly thinking about her young son who must be sleeping in the bed and awaiting her coming back home. When the baby wakes up next morning she does not find her mother back home. She might never again come back because after all the streets were not as deserted as she thought it to be.

Her death is one of the few serial deaths and the case is handed over the Detective Inspector Lorraine Hunt. He is on the job of tracking down the killer. It is spring time in Houghton-le-Spring. The place is abuzz with feast and fair and it is all fun and enjoyment though it could be considered by a few to be noisy and chaotic. Though it could be a good time to be on the lookout for a stranger, it certainly is not the time for a woman to be alone as danger is lurking very much within striking distance.

It certainly is a thriller of the highest order and sends many a shivers racing down the spine. Once a reader has this book in his or her hand, it is impossible to put it down. Many readers have completed the book in one sitting. It is fast paced, comes with many twists and turns and in one word is extremely enticing and interesting to say the least.


When one goes through the various books of Sheila, especially her serial writings, there are a few things which become quite clear. She is a classy author who can build a plot exceedingly well and keep the readers transfixed and hooked to it throughout the entire length of the book. There are no extra fillers and that is what makes her a quality writer. It certainly makes sense to read all her thrillers and they will be a good reading experience to say the least.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Seahills

Leave a Reply