Book Notification

Sean Black Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ryan Lock & Ty Johnson Books

Publication Order of Ty Johnson Books

The Deep Lonely (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Byron Tibor Books

Publication Order of Extolziby Gruff Books

Extolziby Gruff and the 39th College (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Malibu Mysteries Books

with Rebecca Cantrell
A is for Asshat / Actress (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
B is for Bad Girls (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
C is for Coochy Coo (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
D is for Drunk (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
E is for Exposed (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
F is for Fred (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
G is for Groovy (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Neil Brody Crime Thriller Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Million Shades of Green: The Real Story Behind Fifty Shades of Grey (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
10 Years 13 Seconds: The Conor McGregor Story (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sean Black is one of the most successful authors from Scotland who is particularly famous for writing down his novels based on the military thriller genre. The Ryan lock series of novels are his most successful ones which have sold a number of printed copies all over the world. In doing the research work of his novels, author Sean has even trained with several former members the Military Police team. He has even spent some time in the Pelican Bay Supermax prison located in California. For doing some more research work, Sean enrolled himself for a survival course in the desert of Arizona as well as went into the Las Vegas tunnels. Before going on to become a full time author, Sean used to teach as a professor in college and write dramas for British TV. He began his writing career in the year 2009 with the publication of the first novel of the Ryan Lock series titled as ‘Lockdown’. Author Sean was born and brought up in Scotland. He has also spent some of his childhood days in the United States. He even completed is high school studies from a school located in Terra Haute, Indiana.

Sean used to enjoy the video game machines, ice dispensers in the hotels, and used to cherish the fact that it did not rain for 90 percent of the time in America. These factors led him to believe that the United States of America was really a promised land. Author Sean went on to complete his graduation from the Oxford University and obtained a degree in the subjects of Politics, Philosophy, and Economics. By that time, he had already published a few short fiction stories as well as print journalism. After that, he spent a summer teaching and helping the students with a housing project located in New Orleans. Later, author Sean learned from the David Duke’s campaign of the Ku Klux Klan that while the US was still a promised land, there was much more in this amazing land than only ice dispensers, better weather, and video games. After his graduation, Sean began thinking that being able to write screenplays would be a better means to go on and write full time. Eventually, he was able to secure a place at the Columbia University, located in New York for studying Fine Arts in Filming. Sean received his master’s degree and stayed in New York for the next 3 and a half years, before shifting to Los Angeles.

It was the same place where he came across his wife. His job as a screenwriter did not prove to be beneficial, therefore, he moved to England along with his wife and took a job as a college professor. After a period of 4 years, Sean got his first job as a writer for a television show. Even though the TV series did not get completed, he came up with the idea of writing a thriller series. As a result, Sean penned down a series revolving around an ex-military bodyguard, who works in high end private security service. The first novel of the series was sold in a heated auction for the Bantam Books in the year 2008. The deal was described as a major one by the Publisher’s Weekly and soon the Russian, Dutch, and German rights of the novel were also sold. After the success of his debut thriller novel, author Sean began researching about the development of the plot of the second novel of the series. His research work made him visit the real locations in different places. His dedication towards writing interesting thriller novels helped him to write a few more successful novels in his writing career.

The Ryan Lock series written by author Sean Black consists of a total of 6 books published from 2009 to 2015. The initial novel of the series was released under the title ‘Lockdown’. It was published by the Bantam Books publishing house in 2009. The story of this novel introduces the central character of Ryan Lock. At the beginning of the novel’s plot, it is shown that Christmas has arrived in New York. But Ryan Lock, who is described as a former military personnel turned top class bodyguard, is required to carry out his normal routine job as usual. His latest job is to protect the life of one of the ruthless businessmen in America. Suddenly, several gunmen open fire, killing innocent people in an attempt to kill the businessman. In the middle of all the chaos, Ryan goes on the hunt of the gunmen, which turns into a deadly chase of cat and mouse. His desperate search for the truth makes him come in contact with one of the dangerous women of the world in a fortified warehouse located on the Hudson river. As the New Year arrives, all the routes in and out of Manhattan get sealed, which make Ryan realize that the lives of millions of people is in danger along with his own.

The other novel of the Ryan Lock series written by author Sean Black was published under the title ‘Deadlock’. It was released by the Corgi publishing house in 2010. The main story of this book is set in the Pelican State Prison in California and revolves around the prominent characters named Ryan Lock, Ty Johnson, Frank Hays, etc. At the start of this book’s story, it is shown that California’s State Prison contains a total of 3.5 thousand prisoners, each more dangerous than the other. Also, every inmate of the prison wanted all the others dead. In such a difficult situation, Ryan Lock is given the task of protecting one of the inmates and keeping him alive safe until he taken to testify. In doing so, Ryan Lock and his best friend Ty Johnson, get convicted of felony and sent to the Pelican Bay prison in California, with the help of the FBI and the Justice Department of the United States. The inmate who they are required to protect in the prison is named Frank Hays, who is one of the founding members of the prison gang named Aryan Brotherhood. As Frank has agreed to testify against several members of his own gang in a week’s time for slaying an undercover agent and his entire family, Ryan and Johnson are required to protect him from getting killed by the Aryan Brotherhood gang. But, Hays does not accept the protective custody. Due to this, Ryan Lock feels that he has taken up the toughest assignment in his entire career as a bodyguard.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sean Black

One Response to “Sean Black”

  1. Bill Goodale: 3 years ago

    Re Fire Point…
    So far I identified two errors that a map might fix. I was born in the Los Anfgwles area and lived there most of my adult life and have two degrees from UCLA.
    1. University of Southern California (USC) is not located near Westwood. UCLA is in Westwood. USC is located just south of downtown Los Angeles.
    2. Marina Del Rey is in county land that has, unless changed in the most recent years, called Marina Del Rey, 90291 zip code. I worked in “The Marina” for 7 years. Santa Monica, the city, is a far ways north of MDR.
    Enjoy the read and will advise of any blatant issues I see.


Leave a Reply