Book Notification

Sean Dillon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sean Dillon Books

Eye of the Storm / Midnight Man (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thunder Point (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Dangerous Ground (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Angel of Death (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Drink with the Devil (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
The President's Daughter (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The White House Connection (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Day of Reckoning (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Edge of Danger (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Runner (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Company (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Justice (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Without Mercy (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Killing Ground (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rough Justice (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Darker Place (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wolf at the Door (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Judas Gate (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Devil is Waiting (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death Trade (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rain on the Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midnight Bell (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Sean Dillon:

Imagine being a scared boy just out of childhood in a lonely world, having lost your father to the crossfire in a horrible war between the British army and the IRA. Imagine being a protege, but never knowing the secrets behind your past. Imagine having a flair for language, a knack for mixed martial arts, skills with jazz and keyboards, and having a talent with firearms that enables you to become your own killing machine because your longing for blood and revenge has grown so strong that you cannot fathom a life without death.

Throw in an Irish decent and fair-hair and you have Sean Dillon, a master assassin who takes the law into his own hands when he feels that organized justice is no longer good enough.

Jack Higgins, the author of this series, created a character that would be relatable in his anger and frustrations, but heartbreaking in his actions. Seeing Sean Dillon as the protagonist of the novels has a lasting effect on the reader, because it isn’t often that one reads a book from the view of the “ bad guy ”. Jack Higgins has inspired that idea with this series.

Dillon was nineteen years old when his father was gunned down. He is an excellent actor and has a good eye, which earns him the nickname “ The Man of 1000 Faces ”. The British, terrified of him, refer to him using this name often. But Dillon isn’t all bad. In fact, his frustrations with the IRA’s bombings of innocent people are what lead him to eventually abandon their program and head off on his own. An independent mercenary, he determined, was every bit as useful as one hired by a country.

Dillon is also very personable. He saves the lives of the Prime Minister and the President of the United States. He fell in love with his boss’ right-hand, Hannah Bernstein. He also becomes close with the President of the United States’ right-hand, Blake Johnson, not to mention gangsters Harry Salter and Billy Salter.

Sean Dillon was, at one point, put under arrest for a crime. He was later saved by Brigadier Charles Ferguson of the elite British Security Service antiterrorist unit Group 4. Ferguson offers Dillon immunity if he will assist the unit in avoiding an oncoming attack. Eventually, Dillon becomes Ferguson’s most-trusted agent, working for the very people that he hated in the beginning of the series.

Dillon often uses a Walther PPK and an AK-47. He is also fond of the explosive Semtex and keeps a 25 Colt attached to his ankle at all times.

What are the Sean Dillon books all about?

The first Sean Dillon novel, Eye of the Storm, was published in the year 1992. The story revolves around Sean Dillon, the hired man who has never been caught before in his life. He has, at this point, experience working with PLO, ETA, and the IRA, and is a professional that Iraqi, Michael Aroun, has been searching for over the span of many, many years.

Dillon is hired to attack officers of the British government, a country against which he holds his own grudge, since his father was gunned down by the British when he was nineteen years old. When asked to assist in a mortar attack against the Prime Minister John Major, he accepts the job, but fails. It is at this point that Dillon must decide for himself the difference between right and wrong.

The sequel novel, Thunder Point, was published in 1993 and quickly became as popular as the first. It has been turned into a movie-for-television (broadcast in 1998). The story centers on a U-boat that has been trapped in the Caribbean for almost half a century. However, when the boat is discovered, it holds secrets incredibly valuable to the British government.

Dillon, who we have already determined holds a hefty grudge against the British, takes hold of this case in a race against time. Who will find the sealed container first? Will it be used or destroyed? And how many parties will get involved until it becomes too late? Dillon is forced to make difficult decisions on his way to the answers, and ends up with a few surprises before the conclusion of the novel.

Who is Jack Higgins?

Jack Higgins was actually born Harry Patterson on July 27, 1929. He is now eighty four years old. The Higgins name is his most popular pseudonym.

Patterson is from the UK and has written over sixty novels, many of them best sellers and all time favorites of readers all over Britain. He has been involved in movies such as The Eagle Has Landed, A Prayer for the Dying, The Violent Enemy, as well as the Windsor Protocol.

Patterson has one daughter, Sarah, and went to school at the prestigious University of London after a large amount of time spent in the army. He began his career life with a job as a teacher at Allerton Grange Secondary School Leeds and didn’t begin writing full novels until the year 1959. His big break came in 1975, with The Eagle Has Landed.

Patterson shares in an interview that he is lucky to have kept up this record, and that there has been a Higgins book in the top ten in the United Kingdom (as well as in New York City) every year until 2010.

What’s next for Sean Dillon?

Sean Dillon made several appearances on television. He was featured in Thunder Point in 1998, Midnight Man in 1997, On Dangerous Ground in 1996, and lastly on the Windsor Protocol in 1996. Dillon was portrayed by Kyle MacLachlan in both Thunder Point and Windsor Protocol, but was earlier played by Rob Lowe.

Though it seems the movies have died out of popularity, the book series is still strong and ever growing. With twenty books on the shelves already, it isn’t hard to imagine that Harry Patterson will continue to write the Sean Dillon books. And it also isn’t hard to imagine why many individuals will continue to take the time to read them.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sean Dillon

6 Responses to “Sean Dillon”

  1. Dan: 1 year ago

    Really just like several other mentions above, looking for another Mr. Dillon episode, if possible.

  2. Steve collins: 1 year ago

    I would be great to get a few more Sean Dillon books in the series

  3. Robert E Veit: 2 years ago

    What was the last book by Jack Higgins and does he plan any futher?

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      The Midnight Bell was the last book he wrote. I haven’t seen anything from him in regard to any new novels.

  4. Sue: 3 years ago

    Have read all Sean Dillon books ate there likely to be more!!!

  5. malcolm SMITH: 3 years ago

    The books that have read to date 8 in all have been both good and interesting this Sean Dillon character has really got me interested to be able to junker up a character like that out of ones own mind must be really sat is finding


Leave a Reply