Book Notification

Sean Doolittle Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dante's Disciples(1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Northern Frights III(1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
These Guns for Hire(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Writes of Spring(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Under the Oaks(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Sean Doolittle

Sean Doolittle is an American author of mystery fiction, best known for his award-winning crime and suspense novels. His writing style is characterized by its ability to craft engaging protagonists and characters, creating a compelling narrative that readers find entertaining and immersive. This has earned him several prestigious awards, such as the Barry Award, along with the International Thriller Writers Award.

His stories are often praised for their captivating plots, which are rich with twists and turns that keep readers on the edge of their seats. His characters are also described as being multi-dimensional and relatable, making them come alive and adding a layer of realism to the story. He is a master of creating suspense and tension, leaving the reader guessing until the very end.

The success of Doolittle’s books is testament to his ability to craft engaging stories that keep readers enthralled. He has a gift for drawing readers in and taking them on an unforgettable journey, one that will leave them wanting more. His writing, which is often described as sharp and witty, is sure to keep readers hooked until the very last page.

His passion for crafting stories that keep readers guessing is evident in his writing. He has a knack for creating characters that have complex motivations and personalities, which often come into conflict with each other, building suspense and tension throughout the story. He also has a remarkable ability to develop characters in unexpected ways, leaving the reader guessing until the very end.

The combination of complex characters and an unpredictable plotline makes Doolittle’s stories a unique and immersive experience. His writing is also praised for its attention to detail, which allows readers to immerse themselves in the narrative and care about the characters. He is able to create a believable world that readers can get lost in.

In addition, Doolittle is also known for his masterful use of symbolism and metaphors. This helps to create a deeper connection between the reader and the story, giving them a more profound understanding of the characters and the plot. By using symbolism and metaphors, he is able to convey complex ideas and emotions in a way that is both engaging and thought-provoking.

Overall, Doolittle’s writing is highly acclaimed for its ability to craft compelling stories with engaging protagonists and narratives. His stories keep readers hooked until the very last page, and his unique use of symbolism and metaphors adds an extra layer of depth to the story.

Early and Personal Life

Sean Doolittle was raised in southeastern Nebraska, and from an early age he had a passion for reading and writing. As he grew older, he pursued this passion which eventually led him to publishing his first novel Dirt. After experiencing the joy of having his work reach readers, he followed up with another book titled Burn. This was the start of his journey to become a well-known author of mystery and suspense stories.

He credits much of his inspiration to the community in which he grew up. Taking inspiration from the world around him, he would remain motivated and dedicated to his craft. He also says that the environment he was surrounded with gave him the perfect backdrop to create stories.

With every new book, Sean strives to build upon the success of the last. He is constantly looking for ways to challenge himself and his readers, giving his readers plenty more titles to invest themselves in. Sean Doolittle currently resides in Omaha with his family and continues to write, pushing himself to tell more exciting stories.

Writing Career

Sean Doolittle is an acclaimed author, having written seven novels and a variety of short stories and contributed to several anthologies. His career began in 1994 with the publication of his short story ‘Payday’ in Young Blood. He went on to co-write ‘The Kingsbury Technique’ with Wayne Allen Sallee in 1996 and ‘October Gethsemane’ in the same year.

Doolittle’s first novel, Dirt, was published in 2001, and was followed by Burn (2003), Rain Dogs (2005), The Cleanup (2006), and Safer (2009). In 2007, The Cleanup was nominated for the Anthony Awards Best Paperback original and won the Barry Awards Best Paperback Novel. In 2012, Lake Country was published, followed by Kill Monster in 2019 and Device Free Weekend in 2023.

Throughout his career, Doolittle has been critically acclaimed for his writing and continues to be an important voice in the literary world.


Sean Doolittle released his mystery thriller novel ‘Dirt’ on January 1, 2001 through Uglytown Productions. This was the author’s debut novel, marking the start of his career as a novelist. ‘Dirt’ quickly gained popularity and has since become a well-loved stand-alone thriller.

Quince Bishop was feeling down at a funeral for his best friend until some eco-activists showed up, which he decides to take on. He soon befriends their leader, Maria Casteneda, who introduces him to their underground world. With the help of his ex-girlfriend and a reporter, Quince finds himself in a chaotic situation with two ex-cons with a burial plot of their own.

This mystery takes him on a wild ride to the cemetery with many surprises along the way.

Device Free Weekend

On February 28, 2023, Grand Central Publishing released the stand-alone mystery thriller novel ‘Device Free Weekend.’ This book was released to the public in digital and paperback formats. It is a suspenseful story that will keep readers engaged from start to finish. Fans of the mystery genre will surely be thrilled to pick up this new novel.

Ryan Cloverhill, the founder and CEO of a famous social media platform, invited his six college buddies to his private island near Puget Sound. They enjoyed food, drinks and laughter, and a sunset cruise. The next day, however, their host had disappeared along with all connections to the mainland. A mysterious tablet with a challenge awaited them.

What they thought was a game quickly became deadly serious when they realized what unlocking the tablet meant. It was up to them to stop Ryan’s unthinkable plan. After this weekend, the world would never be the same.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sean Doolittle

Leave a Reply