Book Notification

Sean Liscom Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Legacy Books

Jack Sterling's Legacy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ranch: A Legacy of Violence (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ranch: A Legacy of Darkness (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Interims (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evolutions (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Junta Rising (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Endeavors (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Feral Outbreak (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sean Liscom
Sean Liscom was born in California in October of 1970 but has lived in northern Nevada since moving there in 1977.

From an early age, he was bitten by the Fireman bug. In spring of 1988 he joined the local volunteer fire department, and has served in several different capacities from EMT-B, Engine Operator, Firefighter I, Safety Officer, Engine Captain, Training Officer, and Type III Incident Commander. He retired from this job on 1/1/11.

During the summer of 1989, he found himself joining up with a government contracted engine strike team, and also served with them in different positions which mirrored his volunteer service with the exception of becoming a Strike Team Leader. With 5 Type III engines, two service vehicles, and two water tenders under his control, he had to quickly learn how to deal with the “human” element. He must’ve done alright because they continue to ask him to come back and work for them, which lasted until the season ended in the year 1999.

With a wife a family of his own, he made the move into the private sector where he worked at various warehouse and security jobs. From early on, he learned that job security was a thing of the past. With such a lesson in mind, he learned about prepping. It might sound strange to tie the two together however he always had something in reserve for when he was out of work.

At first he believed he was crazy. Why store things like firearms and ammo? Water and food? The world was rather stable, with money still finding a way of coming in and the bills kept getting paid, so why the prepping? So he talked to his dear friend about this newfound obsession. He just grinned from ear to ear and welcomed Sean to the club. Turns out that he was a prepper too.

Sean’s been at it for a couple of decades now and it might seem like that is what led to him writing his own book. It wasn’t. Jason Sterling’s story has been rattling around in his brain since around 1987. It has gone through so many changes he’s not even sure where to start. All he knows for sure is that it is something that he has wanted to do for quite a long time.

There are so many half finished manuscripts in his storage shed that it is incredibly ridiculous. He just sat down with his laptop and began writing back in September of 2016. the story that unfolded in his head and down on the computer screen is what he submitted to Amazon one year later.

Of course, there were some re-writes and the inevitable writers block, but he was able to work his way through with the support and help from Denise, his beautiful wife. Even while she was struggling with some of the hellish side effects of chemotherapy, she stood strong and allowed Sean to bounce ideas off of her.

“Interims”, the fourth book of “The Ranch” series, almost didn’t happen. He had spent eighteen months working on it and the fifth book side by side. He was about halfway into “Interims” and just could not figure out how to get where he wanted to go. He shelved it, having grown that frustrated with it. And was so frustrated in general, he did not write anything for a few weeks. Sean just wasn’t in that right headspace.

After a bunch of deliberation, he did a full and complete rewrite of “Evolutions”, with the plan being that he’d turn that into the fourth book and “Interims” would just rest in peace. While moving forward with this new version of “Evolutions”, something became apparent. He actually needed “Interims”, because there was a part of the story he needed to finish off, so that Tara could have her time on stage. Sean couldn’t give Tara and her story this time on stage without doing “Interims”.

So he pulled it off the scrap heap, rewrote parts of it, tweaked it more and more and plowed onward full speed ahead. It felt right finally and the tie ins to “Evolutions” worked out perfectly. Being in the proper headspace, just not fighting it, and doing some of the same things that he did when he wrote the prior books went a long way. And in the end, he’s glad he didn’t let “Interims” go. It closes a few doors to the past, leaves a few questions unanswered, and allows Tara Sterling to have her time in the spotlight.

He is happy with the way the first act (the first four novels) ended and he is excited about the second act (book five on).

Sean does some of his best writing in the late/early hours. Now that he is retired from his day job, he kept attempting to write in the middle of the day. It is a rare occasion when he’s able to make this work. Instead, he will not begin writing after 9 PM now and doesn’t shut down until 1 or 2 in the morning.

“Jack Sterling’s Legacy” is the first novel in “The Ranch” series and was released in the year 2017. Jason Sterling had a simple life by all accounts. He had been working the same exact job his whole entire adult life. He had no children, nor did he ever get married. He had gotten used to doing things all on his own. His comfortable life was shaken considerably the day that he learned of his dad’s death.

It was a mysterious meeting which set life altering events into motion and the allure of having a new life was much too great for him to walk away from. When the Electromagnetic Pulse brings the modern world down to its knees, Jason’s decision proves to be the right one.

Readers found this to be a well written story with a ton of action and great characters. And Sean takes the time and energy into fleshing these characters out into making them feel real to the reader.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sean Liscom

Leave a Reply