Book Notification

Sean S. Thomas Russell Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Adventures of Charles Hayden Books

as Sean Thomas Russell
Under Enemy Colors (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Battle Won (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Ship of War / Take, Burn or Destroy (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Until the Sea Shall Give Up Her Dead (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Initiate Brother Books

The Initiate Brother (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gatherer of Clouds (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Memoirs of a Bow Street Runner Books

as T.F. Banks
The Thief-Taker (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Emperor's Assassin (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Moontide and Magic Rise Books

World Without End (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sea without a Shore (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Swan's War Books

The One Kingdom (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Isle Of Battle (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow Roads (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The River Into Darkness Books

Beneath the Vaulted Hills (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Compass of the Soul (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sean Thomas Russell is a popular novelist from Canada, who is famous for writing fantasy and historical fiction novels. Most of his books feature the Royal Navy. Author Russell has published his work under different names, including S. Thomas Russell, Sean Russell, and his original full name. Over the course of his writing career, author Russell has collaborated with several other prominent authors. One such collaboration of Russell was with Ian Dennis. The two used to write jointly under the pen name of T.F. Banks. Other than writing novels, author Russell owns an official club located in Arden Hills, Minnesota. This club mostly comprised of swimmers who attend the Mounds View School. The swimmers claim that author Russell is their mentor. During the many dual meets, his name has been chanted by all those present at the club. Many of them would spin their arms around the head and shout out Russell’s name in appreciation. The origins of the club come from a book written by author Russell that was discovered at the Chippewa Middle School, on the cart of free book. Russell’s photo was attached to a wall of the school. Author Russell was born in the year 1952 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. When he was 3 years old, his family moved out to the city’s outskirts. The family used to live in an old cottage at the Lake Ontario beach. Russell made up his mind to become a novelist when he was 10 years old. Years later, his eyes caught the attention of the fantasy genre while he was reading Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien.

After the completion of his university studies, Russell shifted his residence to Vancouver, and staying there for 2 years he moved to Vancouver Island. Author Russell resides there even today along with his family. The first book penned by him came out in 1991. Following years of writing fantasy stories, he decided to shift his focus towards historical novels based on navy in 2007. Russell introduced the chief protagonist, Charles Hayden, as a new hero working with Royal Navy. He was seen for the first time in the book, Under Enemy Colors. Author Russell considers history as a passion. He likes to collect old sailing and yachting books. Apart from this, he shows a great interest in skiing, traveling to different places of historical importance, and sailing. His previous interests include rock climbing, racing sailboats, hiking, and caving. With author Ian Dennis, Russell has worked on a mystery series known as ‘Memoirs of Bow Street Runner’. This series’ first volume was released by the Bantam publishers. The fact the both the parents of Russell were readers played an important role in his overall development as an author. His mother, in particular, used to read out stories to him every now then. As there were only tv stations and no theater nearby, the only medium of time pass and entertainment for author Russell and his siblings was reading books. Author Russell is married to a woman named Karen and has a son named Brendan. Among the favorite books of Russell’s childhood days, there Tom Sawyer, Captains Courageous, and Huckleberry Finn.

The Charles Hayden series written by Sean Thomas Russell is comprised of a total of 4 books, which were released between the years 2007 and 2014. Each of the books of this series feature the principle character in the role of Royal Navy Commander and Master Charles Hayden. An initial book written and published in the series is entitled ‘A Battle Won’. This book was released by the GP Putnam’s Sons in the year 2010. Author Russell has set this book’s plot at the time of the year 1793’s winters. At the start of the book, it is shown that the whole of France is is ripped apart due to the Terror Reign. Charles Hayden is in Plymouth when he is given the order of returning back to the ill fated HMS Themis. He is also informed that the British forces have decided to indulge in a fight against the French counterparts for gaining control of the Corsica island, which is of strategical importance. Charles Hayden has an uncanny knack of attracting the French navy’s attention, and it happens once again within a few hours of leaving the port. As a result, the HMT Themis is thrown into action sooner than expected. Finally, when Themis reaches Corsica after evading the French navy, Charles Hayden’s men join hands with the native insurgents. Hayden realizes that he has landed in a very dangerous place and suspects that a brutal clash among the empires may take place at any time.

The next installment of the exciting new series penned by Sean Russell is called ‘Take, Burn Or Destroy’. In this book, Charles Hayden is shown undergoing a riveting seafaring adventure one again. The Putnam publication released this book too in 2013. Author Russell has described the events in his story as taking place in 1794. At the beginning of this book’s story, French Revolution is described to be at its peak. Charles Hayden is ordered to get on board the HMS Themis once again and carry out the mission of destroying a frigate from Frane. It is learned by the English intelligence that the French frigate has set sail from Le Havre for gathering intelligence information from a spy. As the French plans of imminent invading England are discovered, Charles Hayden must reach Portsmouth as early as possible to stop the French navy from succeeding in their plans, before it becomes too late. However, Charles Hayden remains unaware of the fact that the enemy has set a trap for him and is waiting patiently for him to fall into it. When Charles Hayden realizes that the French forces have set him up, it is already too late. Consequently, a dangerous chase begins in the middle of the Atlantic, which finally ends when Hayden’s frigate lands into a strong French squadron’s clutches. Charles Hayden and his fellow officers make an unsuccessful attempt to pass through as sailors from France, and get taken as prisoners. What follows next is a huge storm and a shipwreck, followed by a mistaken identity’s case. All this cause a lot of hardships to Hayden and his crew. But, they do not stop making desperate attempts to escape and warn the English forces about the French plans. If Charles Hayden fails in this mission, it will result in England’s invasion and his guillotining. He knows that he cannot let this happen and continues making desperate attempts.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sean S. Thomas Russell

One Response to “Sean S. Thomas Russell”

  1. Ken Wheat: 3 years ago

    will there be another book on the Hayden series After Until the Sea Gives up Her Dead?


Leave a Reply