Book Notification

Seaside Knitters Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Seaside Knitters Society Mystery Books

Death by Cashmere (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Patterns in the Sand (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moon Spinners (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Holiday Yarn (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wedding Shawl (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fatal Fleece (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Angora Alibi (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Merino (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Finely Knit Murder (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trimmed With Murder (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Lambswool Farm (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Wears Mittens (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Knit a Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murderous Tangle (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Crime of a Different Stripe (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dark and Snowy Night (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Twisted Skein (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Herringbone Harbor Mystery (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Seaside Knitters Mystery is a series of books that revolve around the daily lives of four knitters who discover that they have a passion for solving mysteries. They are brought together when Izzy Chambers abandons her law career to open up a knitting shop in the sleepy fishing town of Sea Harbor, Massachusetts, and a diverse group of women begins congregating each week to form the Seaside Knitters. These women are Izzy, the proprietor, her aunt Nell, lobster woman Cass, and Birdie, who is the eldest of them all at 80 years of age.

The first installment in the Seaside Knitters Mystery is “Death by Cashmere” and it tells us the story of the beautiful Angelina Archer who has recently arrived at Sea Harbor to conduct some research concerning the local history. She rents an apartment that is above the Seaside Knitters shop but she is soon found dead when her body washes up at a cove. The knitting group decides to conduct an investigation to discover who would hate Angelina so much as to want her dead. However, the person who appears to be doing most of the sleuthing is Nell, and not her niece who runs the knitting shop. Maybe the author could have made the owner of the knitting shop the primary sleuth.

One of the good things about the book is the vivid descriptions that the author provides. She describes the meals in such wonderful fashion that you want to be the one eating such mouth-watering meals. In addition, she describes the scene in such great detail that you wish you were in that location visiting the breezy and sleepy seaside town. The character of Izzy is delightful and you want her to mentor you in knitting. You also wish that you could visit her Seaside Knitting shop to take knitting lessons or browse for some yarn to take home and start knitting.

You will also enjoy the fact that the author interweaves the main murder mystery and another mystery, which is the identity of the person who has been stealing from the lobster traps. The author also provides you with a scarf pattern at the end of this book, which you can easily and quickly learn. The book also presents many characters and you enjoy trying to get into their mind and get to know them better. However, the characters may appear one dimensional and so maybe the author should have taken enough time to develop them.

Another criticism of the book is the fact that two mysteries are being threaded through the story but it appears slow paced. One could also face challenges trying to keep up with the numerous characters in the book. It’s as if the writer wanted us to know everyone who was living in the seaside village within the first few chapters. However, if you’re an avid knitter, you are going to thoroughly enjoy the book. A person who likes traveling might even be tempted to visit the village and see what all the fuss is all about. As the author’s first book in the series, she has done a commendable job.

There are other books in the Seaside Knitters Mystery, and among the best books in this series has to be “Moon Spinners”, which is the third installment. In the sleepy fishing village, the four sleuths who meet at the Seaside Knitters shop are always on the lookout for a new project to get involved with. Their latest is helping their friend Gracie Santos open the Lazy Lobster and Soup Café on Pelican Pier. However, they get sidetracked because Sofia flies off a cliff while driving her Ferrari, and the Seaside Knitters suspect it wasn’t an accident.

The gossip soon begins to build up and the rumors circulate the sleepy fishing village. The Seaside Knitters must therefore untangle the yarn in order to get to the bottom of the murderer’s strange pattern. Some new characters are introduced in the book and it seems like Cass has just met a future boyfriend. The author has done a good job in dropping clues here and there for the reader to try and solve the mystery. This is a fascinating read that proves that the author has learnt from the mistakes in the first book.

Moon Spinners appears to refer to the fact that when Grace Santos flies over a cliff, a group of scuba divers witnessed the accident under a full moon. It may also refer to the fact that the Seaside Knitters would meet on Thursday nights, and normally there would be a full moon. Gracie’s aunt was being honored at a yacht club on the evening when the accident occurred. It seems she was the one who was driving when the Ferrari flew off the cliff and landed on the rocks below and some people saw the car flying against the backdrop of a full moon in the sky.

The Seaside Knitters were attending a fundraising event to collect money for a community center. There are two building companies working together and one builder is embarrassed by his ex-wife and the interruption even causes a socialite to hurriedly leave the event. The Seaside Knitters therefore have many people that they suspect could have planned the murder. But their clues are not knitting together and there are numerous loose ends that cause all their theories to come unstuck. There’s something that they’re all missing, a single thread that could tie everything together nicely.

The setting of the Seaside Knitters mystery is great and the reader keeps falling in love with this sleepy fishing village. If you are looking for a relaxing book that you can take on your vacation and read by the beach, then Moon Spinners is just what the doctor ordered. You will also enjoy reading about the characters in the book because they appear loving, caring and having concern for each other. The secondary characters in this book are older people with happy family lives and are full of wit. You wish that you were lucky enough to belong to a group as great as the Seaside Knitters. As with every other book in the series, the reader finds an amazing knitting pattern to work with.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Seaside Knitters Mystery

Leave a Reply