Book Notification

Sebastian St. Cyr Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sebastian St. Cyr Books

What Angels Fear (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Gods Die (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Why Mermaids Sing (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where Serpents Sleep (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Remains of Heaven (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where Shadows Dance (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Maidens Mourn (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Darkness Brings (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Why Kings Confess (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Buries the Dead (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Falcons Fall (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where the Dead Lie (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Why Kill the Innocent (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Slays the Wicked (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Speaks for the Damned (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
What the Devil Knows (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Blood Lies (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who Cries for the Lost (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Cannot Be Said (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

The American author and writer C.S. Harris, known fully as Candice Proctor, has been writing her unique brand of historical fiction for some years now, as she also goes under the name of C.S. Graham. With an in-depth working knowledge of archeology, largely due to her University education in the subject at the University of Idaho, she has also spent time away on a number of important excavations across the world. All this has helped provide her with the authenticity that has made her books such a success with both critics and the public alike, as she has created the highly popular Sebastian St. Cyr series.

With the series itself, Proctor has built a strong central protagonist in the form of the eponymous Sebastian St. Cyr, an aristocratic detective who operates within Regency in England. Dealing with hideous crimes taking place in the upper echelons of society at the time, Proctor has an extremely strict eye that’s keen on detail and historical accuracy. Adding to this, she’s not only created a strong compelling character who is essential to the development of the series, but she has also managed to inhabit the times creating a vivid and evocative sense of what it was like to live all the way back then.

What Angels Fear

First published in 2005 this was the book that initially set-up the franchise as a whole and created the premise that was to follow over the course of the subsequent books. Setting up the character of Sebastian St. Cyr it establishes his position as a nobleman in high society as he tries to make his way as a detective looking for truth and justice, whilst attempting to do the right thing. It also manages to convey a sense of what’s to come in regards to the style and the tone of the ambiance and atmosphere, whilst building upon its own momentum.

Introducing the character of Sebastian St. Cyr for the first time he’s seen as a nobleman with a brilliant mind and a resourceful yet resilient demeanor who always sees a job through to the end. He’s not without his inner demons though, as he’s returned from the Napoleonic War having seen far more horror than he’d like to have seen during his time fighting there. Trying to overcome these problems he must keep his wit about him if he wants to survive and do the right thing despite the odds being stacked against him on his continual search for justice and truth. Coming up against a whole colorful cast of characters as well, he really inhabits his set period as the supporting cast manage to bring to era to life. This is also reflected within Proctor’s handling of the location as she manages to inject a strong sense of historical accuracy into the proceedings as well. There is a keen eye for detail and the research shows, it being 1811 when it’s set as it takes place both in and around the City of Westminster at the time, as the place and the people are brought to life in vivid detail.

Faced with being wrongfully accused of brutally abusing and killing a young woman Sebastian finds himself on the run as he suspects he might have indeed been framed. Using his powers of deduction honed during the war he must keep out of sight of the law and those with malicious intent, whilst simultaneously looking to find the real killer and bring them to justice. Hoping to clear his name he must do everything in his power to ensure that he finds those responsible, whilst trying to work out who to trust in his quest for the truth. Will he be able to find the real killer in time whilst staying alive in the process? Can he ever really know who to trust and who to treat with suspicion? What will become of Sebastian St. Cyr as he finds out what angels fear?

When Gods Die

Published the following year in 2006 this was to be the sequel to the first book, as it continues on from the original premise of Sebastian St. Cyr as the eponymous detective nobleman. Continuing the ongoing narrative it manages to build upon what’s come before, whilst simultaneously setting up new plot-lines and narratives to keep things going along with further characters who are also developed of the progress of the series as a whole. Keeping the tone and the style as well, it manages to establish a new direction, whilst keeping true to the spirit of the original maintaining much of what was loved by both the many critics and the general public alike.

Taking place in Brighton this time in the same year as before, this particular sequel follows Sebastian St. Cyr as he this time deals with a murder as the Marquis is found dead in the arms of the Prince Regent. Tied to this murder by an ancient necklace that she wore, he finds that it is up to him to find the killer and learn the truth of what happened and who the culprit actually is. With the help of a number of allies once again, he must immerse himself in a world of lies and deceit as he traverses the upper echelons of power to discover who is responsible. Will he be able to find the killer? Can he discover the truth before it’s too late? What will become of him as he discovers what happens when gods die?

The Sebastian St. Cyr Series

Running over a course of nine books and counting so far, this particular series has been going since 2005 and it shows no signs of stopping anytime soon as there’s further books planned for release on into the foreseeable future. Building its audience both nationally and internationally, the attention surrounding the franchise continues to grow day-by-day with more and more people discovering the character of Sebastian St. Cyr. With more books to come Proctor will carry on writing this highly popular series in the many years to come as the books continue to grow from strength-to-strength along with their ever increasing readership.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sebastian St. Cyr

2 Responses to “Sebastian St. Cyr”

  1. Sue Ellen Jackson: 2 years ago

    When is the next Sebastian St. Cyr book coming?
    Love this series!

    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Next one is Who Cries for the Lost, currently scheduled for April 18, 2023.


Leave a Reply