Book Notification

Secret Brides Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Secret Brides Books

Secrets of a Wedding Night (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Secret Proposal (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets of a Runaway Bride (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Secret Affair (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets of a Scandalous Marriage (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Happened Under the Mistletoe (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Secret Brides series is a collection of Regency-set historical romance novels written by Valerie Bowman. The novels feature the most charming romance encounters woven around sparkling dialogues, vivid characters and a self-assured writing style. They are just too delightful to miss.

No wonder Valerie Bowman is a RWA Golden Heart nominee. Her books have received starred reviews from Booklist, Publisher’s Weekly and Kirkus. You can be sure to love these stories, especially if you are a fan of historical romance. Valerie has also been nominated for the Best First Historical Romance and Best Historical Romance Love and Laughter by RT Reviewers. Two of her books have also been nominated for the Kirkus fiction prize. At this rate, she can only get better, giving you more reasons to read all her books as you wait for the next.

Some books in this series include:

Secrets of a Wedding Night

This story is centered on love affairs turning sour and the partners taking revenge against each other. We are introduced to Lily Andrews, a widowed poor woman, who is the Countess of Merrill. Her strong opinions on marriage lead her to follow marriage-related items in The Times, from where she learns of the engagement of her ex with another woman, Amelia Templeton. She then decides to spoil the planned marriage between the two. Lily decides that she will not allow Devon Morgan to waste another innocent girl’s time like he did to hers. She then drafts a pamphlet with the title “Secrets of a wedding night,” and distributes it far and wide, hoping that it will finally land on the hands of Amelia Templeton. Devon had been looking for a woman who would be a good wife and mother to his son, and he had found Amelia and soon got engaged with her.

Everyone wants to read the pamphlet, and in fact, Lily cannot meet its demand from women from all walks of life who want to know more of their husbands’ behaviors. The pamphlet finally lands on the hands of Amelia Templeton, who immediately cancels her engagement with Devon.

Learning that trouble has begun in his life with Amelia, he also draws a plan to respond to Lily’s pamphlet. He knows pretty well that she is the author of the ill-fated pamphlet, though she maintains that she knows nothing about it. Remembering the Lily jilted him five years ago after a long merry chase, Devon plans to give her a good idea of exactly what a big mistake she made by rejecting him. The benefits of Devon’s plan are twofold: they will distract the society’s attention on the scandalous pamphlet and remind Lily of his worth.

Devon Morgan, the Marquis of Colton challenges Lily to either retract or get ready to be seduced. Devon seduces the lovely widow, and his goals are met. Witty and engaging dialogue characterize his task, and the reader is introduced to a splendidly satisfying emotional depth

The clever storyline reveals that there are two subplots in the story: How to stop a wedding and how to seduce a widow. The love scenes in the plot give an inkling of sexual passion of the most profound kind.

Secrets of a Runaway Bride

Lily Andrews’s sister, Annie Andrews is in love with Arthur as the `Secrets of a Wedding Night’ comes to an end. Lily weds and Annie thinks that it is her turn to do the same, but Jordan Holloway stands in the way of her planned escape with the man on of her dreams.

Miss Annie Andrews has always wanted to marry the man of her choice. She tried severally before but failed, but now that her over-protective sister is out on her honeymoon, she sees the opportunity to fly to Gretna Greene with Arthur. However, her sister, realizing that she could use her absence to her advantage had tasked Jordan Holloway, the Earl of Ashbourne with the responsibility of watching over her while she is away.

Jordan Holloway frustrated her plans at every step. At one point, she had almost completed scrambling up the shrubbery just outside Arthur’s home when Jordan suddenly appeared. Annie is desperate to get rid of the new hurdle to her elopement with Arthur, Jordan. Ironically, Jordan is also attracted to Annie, and had promised her sister Lily that he will not allow Arthur to elope with her. Arthur is optimistic that he can keep Annie away from Jordan and enjoy some time with her, but what he doesn’t know is that Jordan plans to escape with Annie to his country estate. On the other hand, Jordan thinks that it will be easy to keep Annie away from Arthur, but the task is bigger than he imagined in the beginning.

For a fortnight, Anne is kept away from Arthur despite her attempts to remain close to Arthur. Jordan decides to forget about his attraction to Annie and to instead introduce her to his brothers. We learn that Jordan had vowed not to marry after a lady broke his heart, and thus didn’t want to concentrate on his attraction to Annie. His attempts in matchmaking are however futile, as Anne is such a spirited young woman who knows what she wants.

From the beginning to the end, this book has mind-blowing scenes that will keep you entertained. Annie is adamant on her plan to elope with Arthur, and she is not wavered by Jordan’s interferences. The characterization and the flow of the story is so articulate that sometimes it seems that characters leap right off the book into the readers heart.

In this book, Valerie Bowman prowess in mixing red-hot passion and captivating characters is at its best. As the story flows, you just wish that Annie can finally move with the man she loves, Arthur.

In summary, if you are Secret Brides series is the series to go for is you are looking for entertaining romance novels. All the plots are well crafted that you can hardly say that one novel is better than the other, and each novel is actually entertaining on its own such that you can read them in any order.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Secret Brides

Leave a Reply