Book Notification

Secret McQueen Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Secret McQueen Books

Something Secret This Way Comes (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Guide to Dating Monsters (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Bloody Good Secret (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret Santa (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deep Dark Secret (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Keeping Secret (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grave Secret (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret Unleashed (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Hard Secret (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Secret to Die for (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secret Lives (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wicked Secret (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadly Little Secret (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Last Secret (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Born and raised in Canada the author Sierra Dean is very much of her background and time, knowing exactly how to craft a fun and intriguing mystery that draws the reader in, keeping their attention held right until the very end, as she has amassed a worldwide following of fans, largely due to her warm wit and good sense-of-humor that keeps them engaged throughout, guessing right until the very end. A historian in a previous life she has an academic past, something which provides her work with a high degree of authenticity, as it ensures it remains realistic, whilst also staying extremely entertaining in the process too. Knowing and understanding her audience well, she has a clear idea of what they’re looking for and what they’ve come to expect from her many long-running series and ever enduring characters. Effectively building a brand around her name, she has created a reputation for writing smart and intelligent mystery novels that keep the reader coming back constantly for more, as there’s always plenty more stories to come from her characters, with their almost infinite lifespans. In regards to her characters themselves she is able to create personalities that feel both real and tangible, allowing them to come to life almost off of the page, resonating with the audience in the process. With a number of series under her belt, she is also well known for leading protagonists that are both strong and resourceful as they take no prisoners with an almost mercenary attitude as well. One such series that is the perfect example of this is that of her highly popular and still running ‘Secret McQueen’ series of novels, that follows the character of Secret as she deals justice to those that need it the most. Working as a bounty hunter she knows exactly how to get to the bottom of any case, starting the series out at the young age of twenty-two, as she has already progressed so far as a bounty hunter. Chasing her marks she plunges into a world of the paranormal, including werewolves and all manner of deadly foes out to cause her harm and danger. Knowing exactly how to deal with it all, though, she is able to deal justice and retribution fast and effectively, creating a fun and dynamic series that is as fast as it is addictive. Her character is also shrewd and doesn’t take hassle off anyone, working as a strong independent woman who knows exactly what she wants and exactly how to get it. There are also elements of romance and eroticism thrown in, as she deals with her enemies, she also gets caught up in love triangles and romantic trysts just as often. All this goes to ensure that this is one of the most entertaining examples of its genre as it manages to take the format and run with it, creating one of Dean’s most enduring creations to date, something that shall continue for some time to come, as there’s plenty of room for the series to carry on growing indefinitely.

Running for over eight novels so far and counting, the first ‘Secret McQueen’ title was written back in 2011, with the last one, ‘A Secret to Die For’, being written in 2014. With a number of spin-offs as well, including the ‘Genie McQueen’ series which follows her younger sister, along with the ‘Holden Chancery’ novels that follow the ever popular vampire of the originals, it’s one of Dean’s most expansive franchises to date too. It also has a number of compendium editions with many of the works collected together, along with a variety of novellas too acting as mini-sequels and prequels, all of which add to the legacy of ‘Secret McQueen’ as a lead character.

Something Secret This Way Comes

Originally brought out in 2011 on the 10th of May, this was initially released by Sierra Dean herself, as she undertook the marketing and everything that came with it. Quickly making a name for herself with the book, it soon gave way to an entire series, as a whole franchise was effectively born from this first debut novel. Creating and establishing the world and tone, it effectively sets about introducing many of the core characters, including Secret McQueen herself, along with the setting up the premise too.

Half-vampire and half-werewolf, the young Secret McQueen was abandoned at birth by her mother, only to be later hired by the Vampire Council of New York as a teenager. Setting about killing rogues for them, she is now twenty-two and attempting to make the most of her life as one of the best bounty-hunters for hire in the business. That’s when an enemy from her past attempts to make a return, thus leading her to call on everyone she knows for help, including the leader of the East Coast Werewolves who feels that they should be together. Would she rather be with his second in command Lucas though? Can she save the day? What happens when something secret this way comes?

A Bloody Good Secret

Released in 2011 on the 20th of September this was a title that came out not long after the first in the ongoing ‘Secret McQueen’ series of books. Carrying on directly from where the last left off it manages to convey more of the same, whilst also developing the world overall, allowing it to move forwards. Brought out in eBook format, Dean would again set about creating a buzz for the series, along with ensuring that word-of-mouth built up momentum for the subsequent novels.

Looking to get away from it all, Secret McQueen makes a break for it by running away. Finally back in town reluctantly, she has to go about clearing the name of Holden Chancery. Many things stand in her way, though, including a whole host of nefarious elements all attempting to overthrow the council. Can she stop them? Will she be able to help Holden? Is she going to give away a bloody good secret?

The Secret McQueen Series

Clearly a self-aware series this is definitely one franchise that knows how to have fun with its subject matter, taking it all and running with it. This also goes some way towards explaining why it’s one of Dean’s most enduring creations to date, as she also obviously has a lot of fun writing it, with the passion spilling through on every page. Not showing signs of stopping any time soon either there’s plenty more to come from this particular series yet, as it continues to grow from strength-to-strength.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Secret McQueen

Leave a Reply