Book Notification

Secret (Jessica Sorensen) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Secret Books

The Secret of Ella and Micha (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Forever of Ella and Micha (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ever After of Ella and Micha (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ella and Micha: Infinitely and Always (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Prelude of Ella and Micha (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Temptation of Lila and Ethan (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Everlasting of Lila and Ethan (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ever popular American young adult author Jessica Sorensen has been writing her ‘Secret’ series of novels for some time now. With her populist appeal, she charts the highs and lows of young love, as she focuses on the inner workings of relationships for her particular demographic. Going between the relationships of lovers Ella and Micha to Lila and Ethan, she examines the secrets of their pasts, whilst looking into their futures together as couples. Overcoming obstacles both within and without, Sorensen aims to get beneath the skin, exposing the emotions and the reality behind the initial passion.

With over five books so far and counting, this particular series looks set to continue. More novels are planned, including prequels to their relationships examining how they came to be, as they provide further back-story for Sorensen’s avid readership. Although there are deeper themes involved, the series is well regarded for its accessibility and relatable characters.

Secret: The Secret of Ella and Micha

The first book in the ‘Secret’ series, originally published by Jessica Sorensen on the 30th of September, 2012, was to establish the primary relationship of the series run. With its contemporary take on the ‘New Adult’ genre, it was to provide an alternative voice to the field. Realistic in both its tone and its characters, it was to offer its readers something more relatable than what had come before.

Best friends for what seems life forever, Ella and Micha have always been close sharing everything with each other. Then one fateful night all this is to be shattered, as their friendship is broken and their lives are irrevocably changed for the worst. Altering their personalities, they move forth into darker territory as they are forced to move on, their friendship no more.

Once a breaker of all the rules, Ella used to have a fire in her heart and an open outgoing nature. After that night though, she changed leaving her to become a lot more introverted, as she hides her problems from the world and from herself. Going to college now, she is a lot more pragmatic, following every rule, as she maintains her composure. Facing the summer break now though, she soon finds that she has to return home with there being nowhere else to go.

With old pain looking to resurface, Ella fears for the worst as she’s left to face the torment of her past, along with what happened on that fateful night. This might be more difficult that she previously anticipated, though, with Micha living right next door to her. Coaxing the old her out, she may find it hard not give in and go back to her old ways. As Micha is particularly persuasive as well, with his charm and cool sexy manner, she finds that she may have a bit of a challenge on her hands.

Things are going to be especially difficult considering Micha knows everything about Ella, along with what makes her tick. Using this information he will attempt to win back the woman he loves, something which is going to be difficult for her as she tries to resist his advances. Will she be able to refrain from going back to her old ways? Can Ella and Micha ever overcome the troubles of their past and manage to put everything behind them? What exactly did happen that night and what really is the secret of Ella and Micha?

Secret: The Forever of Ella and Micha

Following the events of the previous novel, this sequel was first published by Jessica Sorensen on the 1st of January, 2013. Carrying on directly from the last, it continues with the relationship between Ella and Micha, as they try to come to terms with the new set of obstacles presented to them. Providing the same relatability as the first, this novel has proven to be just as popular in the continuation of Sorensen’s career.

This time the lovelorn couple are working to overcome the time they are forced to spend apart, as they are separated pushing them into a long-distance relationship. With thousands of miles between them, they find that they are really put to the test as their love begins to feel the strain. After everything they’ve gone through before though, they feel that they can manage it as they must work hard to maintain the connection they have with each other.

Now she has gone back to school, Ella is having trouble adjusting to the change, whilst simultaneously attempting not to concern herself with the future. Also coping with the fact that her father has been going in and out of the rehabilitation clinic, she’s feeling the pressure. All she wants is Micha back, but she feels she can’t thwart his ambition and stand in the way of what he wants.

Looking to make the big time, Micha is touring in his band across the country, all the while thinking constantly of Ella and his intense need to be with her. Whilst he wants her to come with him, he can’t put a stop to her college education, as he also doesn’t want to stand in her way either. Although they do get to spend some time together, it’s not enough leaving them constantly wanting more from their brief moments of ever intense passion. Will they ever get to be together, overcoming the constant obstacles that are continually placed before them? Can they navigate the time and distance pulling them apart? What will become of Ella and Micha’s relationship, and will they ever finally find their forever together?

The Secret Series

With her tales of love overcoming all, Sorensen is on familiar territory here as she does what she does best. All this whilst bringing her own unique take to the genre, giving it a more contemporary feel than that of her peers before her. As it has the potential to keep going with its many different angles offered through the multiple relationships she depicts here, it has a lot of potential to continue. Showing there’s plenty of life in it yet, Sorensen shows no signs of stopping anytime soon as she’ll carry on into the future, with much more to come yet.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Secret (Jessica Sorensen)

Leave a Reply