Book Notification

Secrets of the Castleton Manor Library Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Secrets of the Castleton Manor Library Books

A Novel Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bitter Words (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Grim Reader (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Deadly Chapter (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Autographed Mystery (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Second Edition Death (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Crime Well Versed (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Murder Unscripted (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pride and Publishing (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Literary Offense (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Up to Noir Good (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Letter or Worse (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Pens and Needles (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ink or Swim (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tell No Tales (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Page Fright (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fatal Yarn (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Read Between the Crimes (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
From Fable to Grave (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fateful Sentence (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cloak and Grammar (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Lost Clause (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Thorny Plot (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Scary Tale Wedding (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Secrets of Castleton
“The Secrets of Castleton Manor Library” series of mystery novels stars Faith Newberry.

Join her and Watson, her cat, in the quaint little town of Lighthouse Bay on Cape Cod in Massachusetts while she marries her love of books to a penchant for sleuthing. After she landed her dream job as the librarian at Castleton Manor, this upscale literary retreat, she is forced to read between the lines and solve the mysteries that she finds among the stacks.

She undoubtedly inherited her family’s passion for books, her grandma and Aunt Eileen started sharing the enchanting world of literature with her at an incredibly young age. To this day, as an independent and smart, 39 year old woman, she finds that printed words on paper are her passport to another time and place. In her own opinion, a perfectly written novel has the ability to make a reader live, laugh, cry, and love. However with recent events unfolding around her in her new role as the Castleton Manor librarian and archivist, she learns that some stories truly are to die for.

The luxurious resort for book lovers and their pets draws in its fair share of heroes and villains, writers and readers.

“Bitter Words” is the second novel in the “Secrets of Castleton Manor Library” series and was released in 2017. Faith Newberry has been settling in nicely at her job as librarian at the pet friendly and upscale Castleton Manor literary retreat. Even Watson, her cat, has taken to his new life in Lighthouse Bay on Cape Cod. With a cozy cottage on the grounds of the Massachusetts estate in which to live, and surrounded by books by dad and her friends at night, she believes that life could not get much sweeter than this.

When Sugar Worthington, a celebrity pastry chef, takes a residence up in the manor, trailing an entourage of adoring fans and a television camera crew, and Faith rises to this challenge of organizing a book signing for this baking diva. However things turn sour once efforts are made on Sugar’s life, and Faith quickly finds herself in a sticky situation.

It would appear that Sugar has got a dark side, and she has managed to make just a few enemies through the years, along with her drop-dead delicious desserts. Just how far would somebody go for sweet revenge?

Faith does not know what she would do without her tuxedoed and tailless sidekick, however she does know that there is nobody that she trusts more than Watson to help her solve this mystery. She’ll also get some help from beloved Aunt Eileen, and the other intrepid members of the Candle House Book Club, sous chef Brooke, and veterinarian Midge. It’ll take their combined talents to turn up the heat on this would be killer.

Are they going to be able to figure out who has it in for Sugar without getting mixed up in a recipe for death?

“A Deadly Chapter” is the fourth novel in the “Secrets of Castleton Manor Library” series and was released in 2017. Christmas isn’t some humbug affair in Lighthouse Bay. The merry festivities are well underway in this quaint seaside village, and the halls of the posh Castleton Manor literary retreat have been decked out in full Victorian décor. This year, the manor’s hosting the Charles Dickens Society’s annual gala, which is complete with dramatic readings of “A Christmas Carol” and parlor games, and will culminate with a costume ball. Faith loves being a part of this holiday hustle and bustle as she caters to the eccentric guests’ bookish whims.

When a thief is able to nick some valuable antique jewelry from one of the suites, Faith’s more than happy to leave the investigating to the cops. However then Charles Huffam, the obnoxious president of the society, is discovered deader than a door nail under the village’s 50 foot Christmas tree, and Faith’s own Scrooge, her boss Marlene Russell, is the prime suspect. Faith’s got no choice but to make this unkind man’s death her personal business.

Marlene is not the only person that has got a bit of undigested beef with Huffam. The murder weapon was this length of chain that had been brandished by the seemingly mild-mannered gentleman that played Marley’s ghost during the reading. And what about the overbearing woman whose romantic advances Huffam spurned, and her daughter, for whom Huffam had a lot more than just passing fancy? Even Brooke Milner, Faith’s buddy and fellow Candle House Book Club member, may have wanted to see a stake of holly driven right through Huffam’s dark heart.

Faith’s gonna need all the help she can get from her friends, and particularly from Watson in order to unmask this assailant before Castleton Manor’s surplus population is reduced by yet another.

“Second Edition Death” is the sixth novel in the “Secrets of Castleton Manor Library” series and was released in 2017. It is late March in Lighthouse Bay, and Castleton Manor has been undergoing spring cleaning. Faith envisions some downtime as the manor’s closed to guests. However her reverie is cut short once she gets pressed into service for the organizers of the Gothic Studies Conference, who are meeting up in a nearby seaside home. Faith agrees, even though she’s reluctant to leave her cozy cottage on the Castleton estate, particularly since Watson’s been invited along.

No sooner has she arrived at Wintersea than she realizes all isn’t like it appears at this creepy mansion. Ava Winterbourne (Faith’s hostess and Gothic scholar) experiences some eerie phenomena: constantly feels like she’s being watched, somnambulism, and lost objects. Is somebody mad at her? Or is she just mad? Winslow, Ava’s husband, appears to be loving and attentive, and Ava lives in deep shadows of his first wife who killed herself. Faith finds she’s getting caught up in Ava’s delusions. However she cannot help but wonder if Ava is really a dreaming damsel in distress, or if she’s a dangerous, dark dame.

Solving the mysteries of Wintersea is going to take all of Faith’s sleuthing abilities, however she’ll have the support from the members of the Candle House Book Club and Watson. Can she reveal these secrets before the veil descends down onto another victim?

Book Series In Order » Characters » Secrets of the Castleton Manor Library

Leave a Reply