Book Notification

Seekers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Seekers Books

The Quest Begins (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Great Bear Lake (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Smoke Mountain (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Wilderness (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire in the Sky (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spirits in the Stars (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Seekers: Return to the Wild Books

Island of Shadows (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Melting Sea (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
River of Lost Bears (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Forest of Wolves (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Burning Horizon (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Longest Day (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Seekers Graphic Novels

Toklo's Story (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kallik's Adventure (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Seekers is a fantasy novel series for children which is comprised of six books. The series was written by Erin Hunter, a pseudonym for a team of authors. The series has a very interesting plot that follows the life and adventures of four bears which include a polar bear (Kallik), a grizzly bear (Toklo), a black bear (Lusa) and lastly an interestingly amazing small grizzly bear who has the ability to shift his shape into any animal (Ujurak). The series begins with the bears in search of a place to live where they will not have human harassment or any kind of human interference.

Erin Hunter employs excitement in all the books and uses realistic behavior for the characters in the description of the bears’ world. Erin Hunter is a pseudonym used by a team of five authors and one editor. The authors are Cherith Baldry, Inbali Iserles, Gillian Philip, Kate Cary, and Tui Sutherland while the editor is Victoria Holmes. Each of the authors plays a specific role while the editor, Holmes is responsible for creating the storyline of each book. Together as Eric Hunter, they have written other novel series which include the nationally bestselling Warriors series and the Survivors series. Erin Hunter specializes in animal fantasy and is inspired by a fascination with the natural world and the love of cats. Erin holds great respect for nature and fancies creating rich mythical explanations for certain animal behavior.

The series is a very fascinating collection of books following the story of the adventures of the bears. It was written in the same style as the Warriors series. It brings out the theme of decline in the habitats and the environment of the bears with their struggles to survive. Human beings are portrayed as the main cause of the struggle having been responsible for destroying the bears’ habitats and being harsh to them. The series is characterized by adventures which are filled with hardship, hunger and loss of family. Therefore, the series in its own way tries to show the dangers of global warming and its effects on the environment as well as wildlife.

Book 1: The Quest Begins

This is the first book of the Seekers novel series released in June 2008. It begins the series with three bears brought together by circumstances on a journey whereby they are guided by the shape-shifting grizzly bear. The bears are determined to survive but fate is about to change their lives as it brings them fascinating adventures and an unimaginable future.

The novel begins with the life of Kallik who lives with her mother and bother but a group of whales attacks them hence they are separated. Kallik is forced to survive alone and meets Nanuk, a female bear who is killed by a helicopter crash but before she dies tells her of a place where ice never melts. Kallik therefore sets off in search of the place. Toklo on the other hand is also forced to survive on his own after he is left by his mother when she gets a mental break. As he wanders, he is chased by human hunters and meets Ujurak who is also being chased but they manage to escape. Lusa lives in a zoo in Canada but dreams of escaping into the wilderness one day. Coincidentally, Toklo’s mum is caught and brought to the zoo and meets Lusa. She tells Lusa how she regrets living her cubs alone and Lusa decides to escape in search of Toklo in order to deliver the message. However, she discovers how dangerous the wild was but finally manages to meet up with Ujurak and Toklo.

Book 3: Smoke Mountain

This is the third novel of the Seekers series published in May 2009 by Harper Collins Publishers. It is a continuation of the second book, the Great Bear Lake. By now the bears have discovered that there is no place as safe haven since every time they reach a destination and think that it’s safe and can they can settle there, more mysteries arise and hence more adventure. They all believed that there exists an amazing place where they could live in peace. However, the path is very dangerous and every destination begins to feel like the start of a new journey.

They reach the burning Smoke Mountains which prove to be more dangerous than all the others they have come across. They encounter obstacle after another and fear and tension rises among them, with some almost losing their lives. One of the bears leaves the group as each follows their own star. However, as the journey continues they discover that in order to complete their quest of reaching the Last Great Wilderness they will need all their strength and determination. Nevertheless, the journey has not been what they expected and they fear that they might reach their presumed final destination only to find shock awaiting them. They are afraid that what was to be the end of their quest might turn out to be just another new beginning.

Some of the other books in the series include The Last Wilderness (Feb 2010) and Fire in the Sky (May 2010). All the books are fascinating and are characterized by great suspense at the end of each book. The six books are all connected as it is a story of the path followed by the bears as they search for their quest. Therefore, it is important to read them in their respective order in order to understand and follow the whole story from the beginning to the end.

Seekers is one of the most interesting animal fantasy novel series. It is fascinating in its plot and the stories of the adventures and experiences of the bears as they survive in the wilderness. It is the kind of a story that you cannot stop reading and you are always yearning to know what will happen since its filled with suspense and lots of tension. Furthermore, this series is very educative and informative on matters of global warming and environmental degradation. This makes it perfect for children as well as adults who love animal fantasy.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Seekers

Leave a Reply