Book Notification

Senoia Cozy Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Senoia Cozy Mysteries Books

Dying for a Drive (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fatal Fall (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in the Morgue (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Horse Drawn Homicide (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Framed by Friends (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victims of His Vengeance (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Undercover with the Undead (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Homicide at the Hospital (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Mystery Party (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vacations and Victims (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Death Downtown (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Final Fatality (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Susan Harper is a thriller and mystery author best known for the “Senoia Cozy Mystery,” “Flight Risk Cozy Mystery,” “Back Room Bookstore Cozy Mystery,” “College Town Cozy Mystery,” “Caribbean Cruise Cozy Mystery,” and the “Granny Vigilante Cozy Mystery” series of novels. Harper wrote her debut novel “Dying for a Drive” alongside author Stace Alabaster in 2017. The novel would become the breakthrough she needed as it became one of her most popular and spawned the “Senoia Cozy Mystery” series that had 12 novels by 2018. While she is a relatively new author, she has turned to be a very prolific writer with more than forty-five novels to her name by 2020. What makes Harper’s work stand out is that she is very good at depicting people in a very realistic fashion. Her descriptions of characters make the audience feel like they are real people with feelings, motivations, and drives, which makes for a great story. Harper writes light and funny cozy mysteries that are full of suspense and entertainment. As for her cozy mysteries, they are set in small town settings where everyone knows everyone.

The lead character of the “Senoia Cozy Mystery” series is Felicity Overton, a premier party planner that often finds herself in difficult situations and is forced into amateur sleuthing. She is introduced in “Dying for a Drive” the debut novel of the series, where she is in the middle of planning an event for the small town of Senoia. She thought it would just be a routine event until there is a murder and her best friend is arrested. Luckily, she has some investigative journalism skills that she believes she can put to use to find the real culprit. In “A Fatal Fall” the second novel of the series, Overton teams up with fellow party planner Jefferson in another extraordinary story of sleuthing. The two had partnered with a local DJ and intended to hold a huge party to celebrate the opening of a landmark building in Senoia. But the party is cut short when a girl falls from one of the floors to her death. The second novel lives up to the promise of the first with enough turns and twists that make for a quick and clean read. The third of the series sees Jefferson and felicity working at Senoia hospital organizing a Halloween themed fundraiser. Things were going great until a woman from a prominent family on the locality is found dead in a haunted house a stone throw’s away from the hospital morgue. It is up to the indefatigable team to resolve the murder mystery if they are to have their event. The series is full of likable characters and provides entertaining, clean, and quick cozy reads.

“Dying for a Drive,” the debut novel of the “Senoia Cozy Mystery” series introduces party planner extraordinaire, Susan Harper. She graduated from college with a degree in investigative journalism but once she left school, she decided that she loved the southern town of Senoia, where she set up a party planning business. She is just setting up her business when another business is busy staging its auto show and advertises that it needs party planners. Given that Senoia’s current party planner is leaving the business, Felicity gets the nod to be the party planner for the town. But then one of the people that had entered their vintage car into the antique show is discovered brutally murdered. The detective in charge of the case is Felicity’s former high school boyfriend. The prime suspect in the murder is one of her best friends and she is immediately taken into police custody. There is little love lost between Felicity and her old boyfriend but she will not stop in her efforts to clear the name of her friend. Not long after their friend is arrested, Felicia and Jefferson, the man she had hired to work with her are run down by the dead man’s car. The narrative is soon deep into drugs, false faces, and the ties between former friends that are now adversaries.

Susan Harper’s “A Fatal Fall” of the Senoia cozy mystery series sees Jefferson and his boss Felicity Overton in an upbeat mood. They are the premier planners of weddings, parties, and special events using Overton Events, the company they set up in the previous outing. An apartment complex had just been finished and they had been given the contract of planning the party at the opening. The complex has been built given that there is a scarcity of rentals in the town that is the epicenter of a movie-making industry. Everything had been fine at the launch until a scream rends the air and a young girl that had been on the second story falls to her death. No one was supposed to be on the second floor or even in the building. Upon further investigation, Felicity learns that the girl is Jamie, her ex-boyfriend’s sister. Her old friend Jack, who is now the lead detective in town is struck particularly hard by the death. Things get messy with turns and twists and the emotions of tenderness, jealousy, and love also thrown in.

“Murder in the Morgue” the third novel of the “Senoia Cozy Mystery” series is the story of the Youngling Family Reunion which Felicity and Jefferson are working on. They have never done such an event but so far everything has been going great. The matriarch of the family is a grumpy and demented woman named Grandma Rose, who never shies away from expressing her opinions. In the house is a “walking table” a family heirloom that had been left to them by their great grandfather. No one knows how to operate the thing but it usually draws a lot of attention whenever it is brought out. As such, when Felicity has her fundraiser for the hospital, she asks the family for the table. She believes that it would make a good Halloween like piece given the season. Everyone is having fun until a woman informs the detective that a dead woman had been discovered killed in a haunted house. The victim is none other than Grandma Rose. As the autopsy is being done, the coroner is called away on a code Orange from the hospital. Grandma Rose had inhaled some cyanide and they need to find out who would want to kill the old woman who everybody knew was already dying since she had dementia and cancer.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Senoia Cozy Mystery

Leave a Reply