Book Notification

Serge A. Storms Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of SergeA. Storms Books

Florida Roadkill (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hammerhead Ranch Motel (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Orange Crush (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Triggerfish Twist (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Stingray Shuffle (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cadillac Beach (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Torpedo Juice (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Big Bamboo (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hurricane Punch (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Atomic Lobster (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Nuclear Jellyfish (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gator A-Go-Go (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Electric Barracuda (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
When Elves Attack (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pineapple Grenade (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Riptide Ultra-Glide (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tropical Warning (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tiger Shrimp Tango (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Shark Skin Suite (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Coconut Cowboy (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Clownfish Blues (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Pope of Palm Beach (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
No Sunscreen for the Dead (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Naked Came the Florida Man (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tropic of Stupid (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Mermaid Confidential (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Maltese Iguana (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The name ‘Serge A. Storms’ refers to a series of Tim Dorsey novels about a serial murderer living in Florida.

+The Story

Serge A. Storms isn’t like most stories about Florida. The character Serge A. Storms isn’t like most Florida heroes and that might explain why audiences tend to have a binary perception of these books.

Most audiences either love or hate these books. Only a select few readers ever offer a measured and neutral opinion of Tim Dorsey’s work.

The Serge A. Storms series tells Serge A. Storms story, a mentally disturbed gentleman with a penchant for killing people who offend his moral sensibilities.

Serge lives in the United States because his ancestors left Cuba for the U.S. in the 1880s. Serge’s grandfather was a con artist named Sergio and it was after him that Serge was named.

Serge and Sergio share a lot of traits. Both of them love historical trivia. For Serge, it is trivia about Florida that gets his engines raving. Additionally, Serge shares his grandfather’s strong sense of ethics.

In fact, the old man often executed jobs designed to attack people and organizations that carried out injustices against the poor and the desperate. The protagonist of the Storms series, Serge lost his father when he was young.

His mother, now a widow, eventually had an affair with a jai alai player which resulted in another pregnancy. Once her second son was born, she was forced to give him up for adoption because she did not have the financial means to care for two children, not without assistance.

While Serge A. Storms’ history and family life have always been fraught with drama, it is his mental illness that transformed him into the volatile adult people know him to be.

Serge was diagnosed with numerous mental ailments at a young age. And for a while, he was able to maintain his sanity by taking a cocktail of prescribed drugs. But then Serge developed a habit of skipping his treatments primarily because he did not like the effect they had on him, and that sent him over the age.

The Serge A. Storms that is introduced in ‘Florida Roadkill’, the first book in the series, is not to be trifled with. Without his drugs, Serge can be manic and obsessive.

This might explain why he sometimes works as a tour guide. The protagonist knows everything there is to be known about his home. And he does his job well because, even at his worst, Serge has an unrivaled charisma that seems to endear him to everyone he knows.

Serge, for all his volatility, isn’t necessarily dangerous to the average human being. The protagonist’s dark side only arises when his sense of justice, which is extremely strong, is offended.

At that point, Serge wastes no time in falling into a homicidal rage and committing wanton murder. Serge’s journey to homicidal madness began during his stint in prison as a young man.

Serge killed someone and it desensitized him to the concept of taking a life. By the time the Serge A. Storms series begins, Serge has killed so many people that the police are pursuing him.

Not the Serge even understands the nature of his predicament. Serge looks at himself as an independent vigilante. And he has deemed it his goal in life to dispense bloody justice to every lowlife criminal that piques his interest.

It is difficult to determine whether the protagonist’s murdering ways are the result of his mental illness or his natural sense of justice. Serge seems to make an effort to find inventive ways of killing his victims.

In truth, many of Serge’s murders are improbable, in particular, the complicated traps he puts in place, many of which have been compared in ingenuity to those of the character Jigsaw from the ‘Saw’ movies.

Most such volatile heroes in literature survive because they are surrounded by characters that temper them, individuals that act as their moral compass and voice of reason.

Serge’s friends and companions only seem to push him further from the edge. They include Sharon Rhodes, a stripper with a heart of stone. Then there’s Coleman the drug addict with the intellect of a teaspoon.

Sharon and Coleman make sporadic appearances throughout the Serge A. Storms series and they only ever seem to encourage Serge’s mania. A later addition to Serge’s social circle is Lenny Lipowicz whose drug habit mirrors that of Coleman, though he is far more intelligent.

Both fans and critics of these Tim Dorsey books seem to share the same complaints and praises for the Storms book. Both agree that the books move at a rapid pace and that the story jumps about frenetically. However, one section of the audience approves of this style while another section finds the approach a little too disjointed.

+Florida Roadkill

Serge A. Storms is a resident of Florida. And he loves killing pests and jerks in equal measure in his spare time. Serge is often joined on his misadventures by a cocaine lover and stripper called Sharon.

There’s also David and Sean who love to fish, though sometimes they set their sights on targets other than fish. The group’s dynamic takes an interesting turn when they find a suitcase filled with millions of dollars in stolen insurance money.

Everyone wants the case, in particular, Sharon and Serge. Coleman has his mind set on drugs but he knows the case can get him those.

The first book in the Serge A. Storms series finds psychotic killer Serge raising hell in Florida. There is a suitcase of money causing the waters to churn. However, the five million dollars is the least of Serge’s worries.

+Hammerhead Ranch Motel

Serge and his crew found a suitcase of money in Florida Roadkill. The book’s sequel finds Serge chasing the suitcase to Tampa. It is there that he meets Lenny Lipowicz. The pair is drawn into the machinations of two girls who might have killed someone.

They are innocent, of course. A girl accidentally stabbed herself in a bar bathroom and now their fingerprints are on the knife. Lenny, Serge, the girls and characters like Fiddlebottom the gangster collide at the Hammerhead Ranch Motel.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Serge A. Storms

One Response to “Serge A. Storms”

  1. john plauche: 3 years ago

    Love all the Serge books


Leave a Reply