Book Notification

Sergeants Sueno and Bascom Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of George Sueño and Ernie Bascom Books

Jade Lady Burning (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slicky Boys (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buddha's Money (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Door to Bitterness (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wandering Ghost (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
G.I. Bones (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mr. Kill (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Joy Brigade (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nightmare Range (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Iron Sickle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ville Rat (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ping-Pong Heart (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Nine-Tailed Fox (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Line (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
GI Confidential (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
War Women (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Sergeants Sueno and Bascom book series is an exciting series of mystery, thriller, fiction, crime, military fiction, and adult stories. It consists of a total of 13 books released between 1992 and 2018. The series is written by a noteworthy writer from America named Martin Limon. All the books of this series feature the chief protagonists in the roles of Ernie Bascom and George Sueno. They are depicted as working in the ranks of police officers in the United States military. The plots of each of the stories are set during the 1960s and 1970s in Seoul, South Korea. Each and every story written by Martin Limon in this successful series is widely popular. The books have succeeded in reaching out to a large number of readers from all across the globe. They have been particularly appreciated by those readers having interests in reading thrilling mysteries and war stories. A few of the plots of the series are set around the events connected with the Korean War. Overall, the series is regarded as an excellent addition to the genre of mystery stories.

The character depictions of both George Sueno & Ernie Bascom were well appreciated by many noteworthy critics. Even the mysterious plots and suspenseful set ups were liked by the critics and readers alike. Author Limon received a great boost with the success of the series’ earlier books. This increased his self confidence to try and write several more exciting books. Martin Limon is a reputed author of mystery, military fiction, and suspense novels. He is a former U.S. military personnel having served for over 20 years in the U.S. Army’s military service. Out of his 20 years of service, he was stationed in Korea for 10 years. Following his retirement from service, Martin Limon decided to become an author and use all his experiences to create interesting stories. The ten year service of Limon in Korea made him well versed with the country’s different locations. This helped him to do the setting of all his stories there. Over the years of writing career, Martin Limon has developed a large fan following due to his unique writing style. He says that he is enjoying his second career as much as he enjoyed his military service and hopes to become much more successful in the years to come. Author Limon was born in the U.S. on November 21, 1948. As of today, he resides near Seattle and spends most of his time writing novels. Author Limon likes to extend his gratitude to his fans for liking his Sueno & Bascom stories and supporting him as a writer.

A popular book of the Sergeants Sueno and Bascom series written by author Martin Limon is entitled ‘Mr. Kill’. The Soho Crime publication released it in 2011. It features the primary characters as George Sueno, Mr. Kill, Ernie Bascom, and several others. The story’s setting is done in Seoul and Pusan. As the story starts, it is shown that a young mother gets brutally raped inside a crowded train while traveling from Pusan Seoul. This brutal crime sparks an outrage in Korean peninsula of a powder-keg. The Koreans start pitting against the American, making the situation highly volatile. Several eyewitnesses of the incident claim that the culprit was a serviceman of the U.S. Army. As soon as the American authorities come to know about this incident and the eyewitness accounts, they call in Army investigators, George Sueno & Ernie Bascom, to look into the matter. But, before they could get their hands on the culprit, it is learned that he has disappeared.

The authorities fear that the anti-American fervor could explode at any time. So, Ernie and George face the pressure of solving this case and bringing the culprit to justice as fast as they can. All their efforts of searching the culprit go in vain as he is not found anywhere. In the meantime, they get entangled in military apologists’ web, who deny the involvement of any American in the rape case. Soon, the investigators come across a beautiful musician, who runs an all-female band and intends to entertain the American troops in ways other than just music. With the increased delay in solving the case, more tragedy takes place. A murder having connections with the rape incident sets into motion a desperate search for a deadly killer from the Demilitarized Zone up to the Yellow Sea. While dealing with this case, Bascom & Sueno are introduced to a ruthless homicide investigator from Korea named Mr. Kill. The investigators know it very well that they have to catch the killer soon or else another innocent person may lose his life.

Another popular addition to this series is called ‘The Ville Rat’. It was also released under the banner of Soho Crime. The central characters of this novel are mentioned as George Sueno, Gil Kwon, Ernie Bascom, etc. This book’s setting takes place in Sonyu-ri in the early 1970s. As the plot begins, a young Korean lady is discovered dead near the Sonyu River banks. The woman was wearing the traditional chima jeogori dress and was strangled by the killer. George and Ernie, sergeants in 8th Army CID of United States, are called again to investigate. They find calligraphed poem in the victim’s sleeve. A formidable KNP detective named Gil Kwon asks for the sergeants especially to look into this case because of their expertise in dealing with such mysterious matters. The sergeants are asked to liaise with the law enforcement agencies of Korea as this matter involves the servicemen from the 8th Army stationed in the Asian country.

As the sergeants move ahead with the investigation, they learn that this case does not fall in their jurisdiction. As the crime scene is in the Sonyu-ri village, it comes under the 2nd Infantry Division’s jurisdiction. And the brutal forces of this division are known for not standing outside officers to question its men. The sergeants come very close to unraveling the truth before they are kicked out. They find that a mysterious smuggler named Ville Rat is somehow connected with the lady’s murder. Luckily for them, they get assigned to a different investigation in the same area. This gives them the chance to nose around and look for answers in the first case. The second case requires them to investigate about a shooting incident that took place between a white supervisor chief and his young African-American private. Treading carefully through the high racial tensions, the sergeants try to solve both the cases. But they know that it’s not going to be a cakewalk, especially when the US Army is keeping a tight watch on their activities to make sure they don’t go out of their limits.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sergeants Sueno and Bascom

Leave a Reply