Book Notification

Seth Hunter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Nathan Peake Books

The Time of Terror (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tide of War (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Price of Glory (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Winds of Folly (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Flag of Freedom (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Spoils of Conquest (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Trafalgar (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sea of Silence (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Force of Fate (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Seth Hunter is the pseudonym of British screenwriter and film director Paul Byers who is best known as the author of the “Nathan Peake” series of novels. In his younger years, he went to the University of Southampton where he studied economy, politics and modern history.

He would then go on to work under the training scheme for journalists run by the “Daily Mirror.” He worked for the Mirror for two years before he moved to Southern ITV, a commercial television station in the UK where he was a presenter and reporter. He would then become a director and producer covering conflicts in South America, the Middle East and Africa.

Upon leaving a career in reporting, Seth Hunter would become known as a producer of popular docudramas and documentaries for the likes of PBS, Channel 5, Channel 4, abnd BBC Two. Some of his biggest docudramas during this time were a docudrama chronicling a 1985 miners strike titled “A Strike Out of Time” that came out in 1990 and the 1988 published “A Vote For Hitler” that was about the 1938 Munich Agreement that resulted in a by election in Oxford.

In 2001 , he was the winner of the Outstanding Achievement award for his work “Queen Victoria’s Empire.” Apart from his docudramas and documentaries he has been known for adapting many classic literature works for TV. He adapted the story from Mikhail Bulgakov’s “The Master” into “Incident in Judea” in 1992. In the same year he adapted Arthur Miller’s “The Golden Years” into a screen version. The story told the tale of Hernan Cortes and his conquistadors as they conquered Mexico.

As Paul Byers,he authored several novels in a seventeen year period starting in 1976 and ending in 2003. As Paul he was the winner of the Best First Novel Award by the British Arts Council. He was also a nominee for the Book of the Year Award by Waterstone for his novel “Kobal” that spawned “The Mysteries of the Septagram” series. He would publish several other novels before he decided to take a break from children and young adult fiction and write historical fiction under the name Seth Hunter.

In 2008 he published “The Time of Terror,” the debut novel of the “Nathan Peake” series. The novels are set during the War of the “First Coalition.” This was a war between the alliance of European powers and revolutionary France. The lead of the novels is an Anglo American naval officer named Nathan Peake. He served at the peak of the Napoleonic wars between 1793 and 1815 that enabled the readers to have a good look into the Coalition Wars. The debut novel of the series went on to become a bestselling title on Amazon Kindle historical fiction categories. The Nathan Peake series of novels now has more than eight titles as Seth Hunter writes about a novel every year.

Seth Hunter’s “The Time of Terror” sees patriots betrayed, friends turn against friends and lovers paying the ultimate price. The novel is set in 1793 where Nathan Peake, a British Navy commander, has been charged with patrolling the British coast in search of smugglers.

But there isn’t much action on the high seas until France under Napoleon Bonaparte declares war on England. He had been desperate for action and now everything has turned into the bloody insanity that would become known as “The Terror.” Peake has been charged with wrecking the French economy which he is to do by smuggling counterfeit currency into the French capital.

His activities mean that he has to move and interact with people in the dank back streets of Paris where violent mobs patrol and control everything. He also interacts with famous people of the day such as Thomas Paine the American/British revolutionary and author and George Washington’s agent on the continent Gilbert Imlay who is love to Mary Wollstonecraft the English feminist. With opposition to the bloody war mounting, Peake has to complete his mission even as he tries to save the woman he loves.

“The Tide of War” by Seth Hunter is a combination of a naval adventure and a spy thriller. The novel is set in the Mississippi Delta and the Carribean following the French Revolution between 1794 and 1795. The lead is Nathan Peake who can best be described as a seafaring frigate captain with a dash of James Bond. The tide of war is rising and it becomes a very dangerous proposition telling who is foe and who is friend.

Nathan Peake has just been sent to the Caribbean as a newly promoted captain. He is to be the commander of the 32 gun Unicorn, the most advanced frigate in the British navy that has a gruesome history of murder and mutiny. The body of the man he is going to replace had been found dumped on the coast of New Orleans with his throat cut. The men responsible for his killing had never been apprehended. But Peake does not have time to think about such things for the moment. He needs to find Virginie, the French warship that has been spreading mayhem, rebellion and war in the region. On his way to the Caribbean, he meets La P[rincessa Negra, a charming and seductive woman and also witch queen of an army. He is also the victim of Gilbert Imlay, an intriguing man that ropes him in almost irresistibly.

Seth Hunter’s “The Price of Glory” is the third novel of the “Nathan Peake” series of novels. Nathan is charting a perilous course across the seas as he navigates the dangerous water of post Revolutionary Paris and those of the sea just off Brittany. In Paris, he has to confront two of the most scandalous and beautiful courtesans and Captain Cannon, their tiny toy soldier. The captain is just about to get promoted in the army to become Napoleon Bonaparte but nobody could have guessed it. Peake is back commanding the Unicorn frigate and has now been instructed to jouin Captain Horatio Nelson, who is another young officer seeking glory by trying to wreck Napoleon’s plans to invade Italy. But Nathan also intends to find his lost love with a war raging. He soon finds that the glory he craves comes at a very high price.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Seth Hunter

Leave a Reply