Book Notification

Seven Sleepers Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Seven Sleepers Books

Flight of the Eagles (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gates of Neptune (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sword of Camelot (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Caves That Time Forgot (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winged Raiders of the Desert (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empress of the Underworld (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Voyage of the Dolphin (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Attack of the Amazons (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape with the Dream Maker (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Final Kingdom (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Seven Sleepers: The Lost Chronicles Books

The Spell of the Crystal Chair (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Savage Games of Lord Zarak (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Strange Creatures of Dr. Korbo (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of the Cyborgs (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Temptations of Pleasure Island (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Victims of Nimbo (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Terrible Beast of Zor (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

“The Seven Sleepers” is a series of Young Adult fictional novels authored by Gilbert R. Morris. With tens of series to his name, Gilbert also writes under the name Gilbert Morris. Some of his novel series include the “House of Winslow” series, the “Reno Saga” series, the “Katy Steele” series, and the “Wakefield Dynasty” series among many others. “The Seven Sleepers” series of novels is about a fourteen-year-old boy named Josh Adams, who together with his best friends are sent on a perilous mission to go fight and defeat evil forces in a rapidly changing world. The first novel of the “Seven Sleeper” series was “Flight of Eagles”, which was first published in 1994. The novel was so popular that Morris made it into a series that culminated in “The Final Kingdom” that was published in 1997 as the tenth novel of the series. Due to public demand, Morris wrote a follow up series to the series that he titled “The Seven Sleepers: The Lost Chronicles”. The series had seven titles all of which were published in the year 2000.

Gilbert Morris is a Christy Award-winning Christian novelist from Forrest City Arkansas. Morris was a pastor in Arkansas for more than a decade before he left to go become a Baptist University of Ouachita professor of English. During his time teaching at the university he studied and graduated for a Ph.D. He took a break from teaching in 1984 and 1984 and went to London, where he undertook a post graduate degree at the University of London. He currently lives in Gulf Shore Alabama with his wife with whom he has had three children with. He has co-authored several of his novels with his children Alan Morris and Lynn Morris. Most of his immediate family including Stacey Smith his daughter Dixie his granddaughter best known for the Dixie series and her husband and son live within walking distance of Gilbert Morris’s home. Even as he has published numerous novels over the years, most of the novels have been with Bethany House Publishers that published his first novel.

“The Seven Sleepers” series of novels are young adult Christian fiction that have been compared to the “Chronicles of Narnia” in their thematic elements and characterization. The series of novels has seven characters each of whom take their turn to be the lead protagonist in their novel. Each of the characters grow and learn to become better persons over the course of a novel, making them better able to relate with their friends and support them in dealing with their challenges. Gilbert Morris writes fast paced and exciting reads, though the personalities of the characters never get lost in the narrative. Some characters appear more than others, though each does have their important part to play over the course of the series. Some are classic and wonderful mentor type, others are conscientious person, while others are just children that do not know what to do. However, in all these they are children who make mistakes while struggling to deal with an unforgiving world. What makes the novels so compelling is that they assert that the characters are human, and are not immune to the usual human foibles like the rest of us.

“The Seven Sleepers” novels are classic quest narratives full of coincidental happenings as well as near misses that serve to add spice to the novels even as they may not necessarily be deemed coincidences. Many of the characters and story-lines in the novels reflect biblical stories and characters. For instance, the Jesus story is very clearly depicted by the actions of Goel who is working to mobilize people to fight evil and bring about a new dispensation. The Seven Sleepers would be the disciples in helping gather the people together. Many of the aspects of the New Testament and Old Testament find their way in the novels drawing parallels to what happens in the life of the lead protagonists. The novels do present a Christian message in a very overt manner though they do not come across as preachy. What makes the author so good at this is that he simply weaves the themes into the narratives and makes them inseparable from the story.

“Flight of the Eagles” is the first novel of “The Seven Sleepers” series of novels. The novel is set in a post-apocalyptic time, where Joshua and a young girl named Sarah are sleeping in pods after surviving a devastating war. The war had nearly destroyed all humanity from the massive nuclear fallout that had resulted from a battle between two of the biggest nuclear powers. Joshua wakes up a century later and finds himself in a vastly different world from the one he had gone to sleep in. The world is crawling with giants, dwarves, and mythical creatures, while most of the humans are using swords, arrows and bows as weapons against the dangerous creatures in the new world. Crusoe is an ancient once thought mythical creature which helps Joshua prepare for his coming mission. Crusoe has woken him up and now needs him to wake up the other sleepers so that they can bring regeneration through the House of Goel. While they are on the way to start their mission, they are confronted by the Sanhedrin, an evil group of men who will do anything to ensure they do not fulfill their mission of waking up the Seven Sleepers.

“The Gates of Neptune” is the second gripping novel of “The Seven Sleepers” series of novels that continues immediately after the events of the first novel. Joshua Adams and his colleagues had escaped an evil army of the Sanhedrin, but now have to fight an even bigger battle. They will be facing up to dark Lord Necros’s servant Elmas, who doubles up as Head of the Sanhedrin and its Chief Prosecutor. Fortunately, the Seven Sleepers have their Spiritual leader’s instructions to follow in fighting the challenges of their world. By fulfilling the legends of old, they find themselves in a frightening yet beautiful Nuworld. Meanwhile, Lord Necros controls most of the world but still wants to have dominion over everything, including all the cities of the Sea. Joshua and the Seven Sleepers have been called in to help in the fight for the City of Atlantis which is the next big target of the evil Lord Necros. However, they are facing up to massive odds including a massive ocean full of horrifying creatures and an army of traitors.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Seven Sleepers

Leave a Reply