Book Notification

Severance Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Severance Books

A Terminal Agenda (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Trade To Die For (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Revenge Season (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Imperfect Assassin (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Brexit Affair (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Godzone Connection (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ransom Note (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Severance series is a highly popular book series of mystery, thriller, fiction, and suspense novels. This series has been written by a successful author from The United Kingdom named Mark McKay, and is comprised of a total of 4 books. The books were released between the years 2015 and 2017. Each and every book of this series features the chief protagonist in the role of Nick Severance, who works as a DCI in London. Author McKay has set the books in the City of London and a few other parts of the UK. Some of the scenes in the stories are also said to have taken place in Japan and India. Over the course of the series, Nick Severance is shown trying to tackle difficult situations at hand and striving with all his energy and determination to unravel various mysteries that keep happening around him in London. Other than Nick Severance, a number of other important characters have also been mentioned in all the books, who are seen playing important secondary roles to take the plots forward and keep the readers intrigued and interested till the very end.

The debut novel of the Severance series written by author Mark McKay is entitled ‘A Terminal Agenda’. It was released in the year 2015 in the form of a Kindle edition. The central characters depicted in this book by author McKay include DCI Nick Severance, Sylvie Dajani, and a few others. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that DCI Severance likes to investigate murders, which seems to be a rare thing in the London City. One such murder investigation that he gets involved in is that of a man, who dies violently on a fine morning at a distance of a few yards from one of the city’s police stations. When Nick Severance comes to know about this case, he gets eluded by the motive of the murder. Upon investigating, Nick Severance learns that the victim had visited India recently and was searching for an old tomb that he believed contained something very priceless in it. Nick wonders whether this search for the priceless thing could the reason behind his killing? Later, it is learned that the crime initially looked motivated by a large amount of money, has turned into something much more sinister. Nick Severance does not look to find any success in the case’s investigation as he finds it very difficult to arrive at any kind of conclusion. Also, the main suspects continuously elude him and remain at large from him. Soon, one more agenda is revealed to Nick Severance, which seem to have the power of bringing destruction and death on a far greater scale. This agenda also looks important to deal with for Nick Severance because it is found that anyone trying to compromise on this agenda gets eliminated within no time. Now, as several other events unfold before Nick Severance and the stakes continue to get higher, he is forced to confront the feeling that he might end up losing all that he considers very dear to him. In order to prevent such a huge personal loss and serve the justice, Nick must solve the mystery as soon as possible and hunt down the culprits. Nick Severance must also confront himself with taking an action course that is going to bring about changes in his life in such ways as he has never imagined. The story looks smooth and easy to read. Its editors have done a fantastic job by not interfering with the unique writing style of author McKay much. The main character appears very solid. Author McKay has included many interesting things in the story that caught the eyes of the readers and the critics. Some of them include good dialogues, exotic locales, Japanese and Indian cultures, martial arts, etc. All in all, the book is very enjoyable to read.

Another very popular novel of this series is called ‘The Revenge Season’. It was published as an ebook in 2016. Author Mark McKay has described the lead characters in this novel as Nick Severance, Julian Frost, and several others. The book’s plot opens with the line, Time is everything. The author says that revenge is an enjoyable dish when it is served cold and Nick is about to discover this in a hard way. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that a pharmaceutical researcher named Julian Frost gets murdered brutally at her home in London. Nick Severance is given the task of investigating about this murder case and to find out the motive behind the brutal killing. Nick’s investigation makes him learn that Julian Frost had come back to England from Peru’s Amazon rainforest recently. He had gone there to look for some specific type of plant samples which could be developed into new drugs. Julian Frost was hoping to set up his own profitable business out of this profitable drug.

However, he found something else over there that came to the knowledge of some dangerous people and it finally resulted in Julian’s untimely death. Nick Severance hopes that he could get some clue by retracing Julian Frost’s journey to the rainforest in the Amazon and back to London. During the course of this retracing job, Nick Severance meets several new and interesting individuals. And some of them looked like they wanted Julian dead at any cost. Being in the vicinity of such people makes Nick fearful of his own life. Therefore, he makes attempts to come out of the unique style of their hospitality and at the same time, tries to discover whether they had any involvement in Julian’s murder. Later, another threat comes out in the open in the form of a person from Nick’s past.

This person thinks that this is the best opportunity for retribution. As Nick Severance faces hospitality on two different fronts, he begins to get the feeling that his chances of making the investigation come to an end and walk out alive are very slim. He wonders whether he can find out a solution for both himself and the case in the situation where the motives appear misleading and appearances seem deceptive. This novel was very much appreciated by the readers all across the world for its good plot and clean writing. The readers enjoyed the suspenseful story and cherished the intriguing characters. They also liked the climax very much and felt that they got the value for their money.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Severance

Leave a Reply