Book Notification

Sgt. Windflower Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sgt. Windflower Mystery Books

The Walker on the Cape (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Body on the T (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Beneath the Surface (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Twist of Fortune (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Long Ways from Home (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Tangled Web (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Darkest Before the Dawn (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fire, Fog and Water (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Perfect Storm (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Safe Harbour (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Buried Secrets (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dangerous Waters (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
All That Glitters (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Better Safe Than Sorry (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of A Sgt. Windflower Christmas Mystery Books

Christmas in Newfoundland (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas in Newfoundland 2 (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Mike Martin writes the “Sgt. Windflower Mystery” series. It takes place in Newfoundland on the eastern coast of Canada.

The books feature Sgt. Winston Windflower, who is a Cree from Northern Alberta and a RCMP (Royal Canadian Mounted Police) officer that is stationed in the tiny town of Grand Bank. He enjoys tasting the traditional dishes of Grand Bank, Newfoundland.

The series is about mystery and history, but is also about things such as friends, food, and fun.

The series began publication in the year 2012, when “The Walker on the Cape” was released.

“The Walker on the Cape” is the first novel in the “Sgt. Windflower Mystery” series, and was released in the year 2012. A guy’s body is found on the Cape in a tiny fishing community on the East Coast. Everybody thinks it was a stroke or heart attack, at first. Then it is discovered the guy was poisoned. Who would do something like this, and why?

It falls on Sergeant Winston Windflower from the RCMP along with Eddie Tizzard, his trusted sidekick. They find there are quite a few more secrets being hidden in this tiny community and some powerful people that want to keep it that way.

Windflower finds out two additional things: possibly the love of his life and a love of living in a tiny community that is entirely different from his upbringing in an isolated Indian reserve. Winston gets a taste of East Coast food and the hospitality. He also gets a sense for how corruption and crime is able to linger under the surface or even hide in the thick blanket of fog that can creep in from the Atlantic Ocean.

This has some interesting characters, and makes for a magnificent introduction to a new mystery series. Readers enjoyed this novel and were able to finish it in a single sitting. Winston Windflower was a likable character, with his Cree background, as well as the setting of Grand Bank, Newfoundland, including his blossoming relationship with Sheila.

“The Body on the T” is the second novel in the “Sgt. Windflower Mystery” series, and was released in the year 2013. A body washes up on a beach close to Grand Bank, Newfoundland. There isn’t any identification on the corpse and not many clues as to the person was or where they came from. The case is handed to Sgt. Winston Windflower and Corporal Eddie Tizzard.

This is just the start, however. There is a devastating accident out on the highway and there is another suspicious death to deal with. Throw in one rogue cop and one international drug ring that operates in the waters off of the coast. It throws Windflower’s once peaceful world upside down. This time his adventures take him to a scenic town in Burin where Captain Cook used to patrol the waters to find French mercenaries. Then to historic St. John’s where he confronts an armed suspect on the rooftop of a parking garage in the midst of a busy evening downtown.

On the way Windflower still continues to enjoy the home-style and food on this end of the world. Pan seared scallops, cod tongues, and figgy duff even are now a part of his diet, and on his long list of his favorite foods. He might be a long way from his Cree home in Northern Alberta, however he has found a new place to enjoy in the fog and in the mists of Newfoundland.

Readers feel like Mike Martin is taking them right to Grand Bank, Newfoundland with this one. It is a quick and easy read, but shows enough of the setting to give you a complete image of. The detailed history, scenery, recipes, and dialects and much more information in its plot, ensure this to be a solid read. Fans also like getting to know Windflower in each of these novels, and find he is still just as likable as he was in the first novel.

“Beneath the Surface” is the third novel in the “Sgt. Windflower Mystery” series, and was released in the year 2014. Sgt. Windflower might be a long ways away from his home in Northern Alberta, however he has been adopted by locals as just about one of their own. He has got good work with the RCMP, a good life, and one woman that he has grown closer to in his time in Newfoundland. Trouble brews just under the surface of his charm-filled and calm existence.

It starts with the discovery of a dead female’s body in St. John’s, the capital city of Labrador and Newfoundland. The girl is from Grand Bank, the same place where Windflower has been stationed for the last few years. Sgt. Windflower and Corporal Tizzard are pulled deeper into this case. The situation grows and includes a wide array of criminal activities from the Russian Mafia and human trafficking.

Along the way, he has to also deal with challenges in his own life, too. He must go back to his Aboriginal roots in order to find the answers to some disturbing and deep questions. Nothing, however, seems to both his joy for life and his appetite, particularly his appetite. He still samples traditional Newfoundland dishes like Brewis and fish, but expands to include some baked salmon and pan-fried sea trout. As well as all kinds of desserts from blueberry buckle and his all-time favorite peanut butter cheesecake.

Winston’s faith in the police force, which has become his life, gets threatened by the series of events that becomes aware of that are definitely immoral if not illegal. He has to confront his own personal demons, but real life ones, as well, but other times they hide underneath the surface, just waiting to be resolved.

Readers enjoyed this novel and enjoyed being back in this town and in the company of all of the characters. Fans of this enjoyed learning about the different indigenous folk in this area and the people’s everyday lives. The novel features a good mystery and Mike does a great job of using the setting of Newfoundland.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sgt. Windflower Mystery

Leave a Reply