Book Notification

Shadows of the Apt Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Shadows of the Apt Books

Empire in Black and Gold (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragonfly Falling (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood of the Mantis (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Salute the Dark (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scarab Path (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sea Watch (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heirs of the Blade (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Air War (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
War Master's Gate (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seal of the Worm (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Adrian Tchaikovsky (Czajkowski) authored one of the most acclaimed fantasy book series to date entitled Shadows of the Apt. The first installment of the series was first released in 2008 and the final one is in 2014. By writing this, he received a couple of nominations from British Fantasy Society Award and the Gemmell Legend Award. Adrian has originated from Woodhall Spa, Licolnshirein the United Kingdom. He studied Psychology and Zoology at the University of Reading and is now a practicing Legal Executive in Leeds.

However, just like the rest of the well-known authors today, Tchaikovsky took several years before being given a break in the publishing industry. In 2008, after almost fifteen years of waiting, his time finally came. The first book of the series, Empire Black and Gold came out in the market as published by Tor Books (UK). Later on, it was also noticed and published in the USA through Pyr Books. One of the conflicts he encountered was the difference between the British and the US English spelling and pronunciation of his name. Therefore, he altered it to “Tchaikovsky” so as not to affect the sales and marketing of the novel.

Overview of the Story

The story centers around a hypothetical universe in where the creatures called “kinden” lives. These kinden are of different race and characteristics and they are named after different insects. They are also categorized into two kinds of kinden, namely the “Apt” and the “Inapt”. These two can also be interpreted as “mortal” and “immortal” beings. Moreover, the Apt have the usual characteristics, they have the ability to understand and can therefore create and use mechanical devices. On the other hand, the Inapt have beyond the normal magical abilities but they cannot create and use mechanical devices. Tchaikovsky based the main concept of the novel in a role-playing game “Bugworld”. The story of this game also involves human-insects from the Lowlands that are threatened by the intrusion of Wasp Empire;and that explains the “live gaming” experience of the readers as the description of the series of battles in the story are too precise and accurate. Tchaikovsky also wants to deliver his stories in such a way that magic cannot rule over science or vice versa. As most of the fictional stories would make it look like magic or magical elements always resulted to good and science such as advanced technology always paved a way for evil doers to take advantage and or overcome the world. Instead, he wants balance and to show to readers that both actually has their fair share of disadvantages depending on how they are used by people.

The Series:

Empire in Black and Gold (Shadows of the Apt #1)

The story was set seventeen years after Stenwold witnessed a brutal conquest of Wasp Empire in the Myna city. It was a memory that he can’t seem to forget and because of this he was inspired to train the younger generation in preparation for the threat that the same intrusion might happen to their home city, Collegium. His fear eventually became a reality as his home was attacked. He sent one of his recruits, Che who happens to be his niece as well and some of its colleague ahead of him in the city of Helleron. Along their battles and journey found out that the Wasps has greater plans of using the railroad connecting the cities of Helleron and Collegium to release a lightning attack to the very heart of the Lowlands. In the end, all the soldiers were gathers as the Great War arises.

Most of the readers find it really exciting that it became a challenge to the author how the sequel could surpass the first novel. Since it is the first book the critics are impressed with the concept of the “kinden”. It basically gives the book a fresh touch and it actually sets it apart from the other novels of same category. The characters are indeed the most interesting part of the novel, and how Tchaikovsky got to play along with their roles.

Dragonfly Falling (Shadows of the Apt #2)

The second installment is not lesser of a colorful and playful as the first. It has continued the adventure of Stenwold, Che and the rest of the gang. They are still obviously in battle against the Wasp Empire, and most likely leveled up their spying and anticipating game on this one. While they are busy in figuring how to protect themselves and their cities against the Wasp Empire, the greater danger is with the maker of Stenwold whop is plotted to be eliminated but Major Thalric in order to bring about the total destruction in Collegium and the Lowlands.

Dragonfly Falling delivers a more action-packed and exciting battles to its readers. What fascinated the audience more, are the consistently advanced and progressing machineries and weapons that were used in their battles. Therefore, highlighted the character of the Artificer, the inventor and also responsible for the maintenance of the said weapons.

Conclusion and the Author’s present life

Indeed, Adrian Tchaikovsky made a name and became one of the most anticipated authors today because of the Shadows of the Apt series. It would not possibly reach up to ten installments if it failed to give its readers the excitement and the satisfaction they were looking for a novel. No wonder that this has made a way for his other literary contributions to be recognized. As a matter of fact, one of his novels entitled Children of Time has recently won the 30th Arthur Clark Award given to him on August 24 of this year.

Currently he is still active in writing but he also never leaves his employment and continue to work as a Legal Executive in Leeds under Commercial Dispute Department of Blacks. He also has, his family with him. As per his audience and avid reader, they can’t wait for the next exciting novel that Tchaikovsky will share to the world. This is a great author whose work has not only inspired the present generations, but will for a long time be remembered and feted by generations to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Shadows of the Apt

Leave a Reply