Book Notification

Shana Silver Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Shana Silver
Shana Silver has been an e-book creator for a major publisher, a computer animator, and as a Project Manager in both TV digital advertising where she likes telling people what to do. She studied creative writing at Syracuse University.

She lives with her daughter and husband, as well as all of the characters she dreams up.

Shana got the inspiration for “Mind Games” from talks with her dad. She and her dad are major fans of both science fiction and science. At their family gatherings, they often have long conversations where they speculate about the self-awareness of robots, life on other planets, and the other.

One time, they were talking about the power of different cloud devices and how its storage capacity would one day rival the power of the human brain. This is all it took to set her off, as she began thinking all about cloud devices that stored memories and just how uploading and downloading could work.

It started her wondering just what could happen if those kinds of devices were hacked, and she started thinking about the person doing the hacking. Shana wondered why this person would steal these memories and what she would be doing with them. Then, of course, what exactly would happen if somebody stole from her? There after, Arden was born, as was her story.

Shana’s favorite way that Arden uses this technology is to try some new experiences through the eyes of other people without ever having to leave the comfort of her own home. She would like to take a page from Arden’s book and steal someone’s experience she would never get to participate in. Shana would love to witness the beauty of sailing among the stars in the sky and the thrill of breaking right through the atmosphere in a rocket. Plus, she would have a lot of fun twirling around in zero gravity and not have to leave her couch.

She named her main character Arden, because she was a camp counselor once and there was a girl in the camp with the name and it stuck with her because she found it to be pretty awesome. While she was pregnant with her daughter, she had narrowed her name down to either Arden or Quinn. They went with Quinn, and because she is an only child, Shana named her first book baby Arden instead.

For Sebastian, she knew she wanted to have a name that began with a different letter in order to make it easier to differentiate between the Flashback version and Present Sebastian. In the flashbacks, she dubbed him Bash.

A fun fact about the story is that most of the characters’ surnames come from the names of buildings at Syracuse University, Shana’s alma mater.

Originally, Arden had two friends, Zoey and Charlotte. But seeing as how having two friends was unnecessary and distracting, so Shana combined them, leaving Zoey.

Over the course of writing the novel, she wound up deleting a lot of material from the book. She estimates that there is around more than a book’s worth of content. At one point, she even had time travel in the novel.

Her story “The Art of Selling My Sister” placed third in the 2007 RWA Chick Lit Chapter’s “Get Your Stiletto in the Door” contest. It also placed fourth in the “Great Expectations” contest held in 2008 by the RWA North Texas chapter.

Shana’s debut novel, called “Mind Games”, was released in the year 2019. She writes young adult romance and young adult fantasy.

“Mind Games” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2019. Arden can sell you memories. Whether it is studying for that all important test or becoming homecoming queen, Arden is able to hack into classmate’s memories and just upload that experience for you like you lived it out yourself. Business goes great. That is until she whites out and loses fifteen minutes of her life and every memory she had of the boy across the school yard. The boy her friends tell her she has had a crush on for quite some time.

Arden realizes that her own memories have gotten hacked, but they have not just been shared and stolen, they have been deleted. She is not the only one, either. Sebastian, her mysterious crush, has lost every single memory he had. How can they find somebody that has the power to make them forget all that they have learned?

The book has a ton of mind blowing and amazing coding and science facts, some lovable protagonists, and is packed with a ton of action. The mystery was top notch, too, and readers tried piecing it all together, but to no avail. There is even a beautiful romance, and readers enjoyed seeing Sebastian and Arden slowly but surely fall for each other and support one another with all the chaos and memory deletions.

“Con Code” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2020. During the day, Fiona Spangler (seventeen years old) runs little cons for her ritzy prep-school classmates: forging fake hall passes and getting them all out of tests. By night, Fiona partakes in riskier heists with her father, like stealing back the clue-filled forgeries that her mother scatter all around the nation before she vanished. Fiona desperately hopes her mom will be waiting for her at the end of the scavenger hunt that she left behind.

They are very close, too. Only three more heists are left, but that is when disaster strikes as Fiona’s father gets captured by the FBI. Fiona is desperate to complete the job and save what is left of her family, she puts together a team of teen criminals. There is a talented hacker that communicates only in glares, a master of disguise who can transform into anybody, and a rival con artist that has a vendetta against, possibly even a crush on, Fiona.

All they will have to do is pull off three nearly impossible heists, solve her mom’s incredibly complicated clues, and evade capture by the FBI. Seems easy, right?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Shana Silver

Leave a Reply