Book Notification

Shannon Kirk Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Method 15/33 Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Extraordinary Journey of Vivienne Marshall (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Vines (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gretchen (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tenkill (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Nothing Good Happens After Midnight(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Infinity: A Suspense Magazine Anthology(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Shannon Kirk was born in Easton, Pennsylvania, and spent the early part of her life moving all over the country. She moved to such states as: Upstate New York, Indiana, and Massachusetts, before her family finally settled into living in Raymond, New Hampshire. It was here that she grew up, for the most part. She went to Trinity High School and West Virginia Wesleyan before going to St. John’s for college.

Growing up, her home was eccentric and loud, but loving and had a bunch of pets all of which of dubious origin. Her mom and dad encouraged pursuits in the arts, and would drag her and her three brothers off to antique shows and flea markets. They would give lessons on how Santana and Bob Dylan were geniuses. All three of her brothers went into the arts, one is a rap and blues musician, one is a physical therapist that has a wood shop, and one is a sculptor.

When not practicing law or writing, she likes painting, creating sea-glass sculptures, and spending time with her family and two cats (named Stewie Poe and Marvin Garcia Marquez, who were named for her writing influences). Her husband is a ultra-marathoner and physicist, and her son loves cats and plays basketball.

Before moving to Massachusetts, she worked in Chicago as a trial attorney, a job she had for ten years. She was also an adjunct law professor at Suffolk Law School, where she graduated from in the year 1998.

Shannon Kirk writes suspense/thriller, literary fiction, and young adult. “Method 15/33” won the 2015 National Indie Excellence Award for Suspense. She won the Gold from Literary Classics in the Fiction category, and a silver for General Literature.

She considers both Charles Dickens and Gabriel Garcia Marquez to be literal and actual geniuses. She prefers more prose to plot and poetry over an intricate plot, but enjoys when both is possible in a book. That being said, she is never consistent with this at all. If she is pulled to keep on reading a book, than she will. She only reviews those books she loves, never the ones she does not like or finish, as she does not think it is fair for her to do so.

“Method 15/33” is the first novel, which was released in the year 2015. Picture a pregnant sixteen year old that is helpless who has been pulled from the serenity in her home and pushed into a dirty and disgusting van. Alone. Kidnapped. And terrified. Forget her, now.

Now imagine a pregnant sixteen year old that is a manipulative prodigy. She is pushed into a dirty and disgusting van. All she feels, right from the first moments of being taken, are the calm desire for: saving her unborn child, and to get merciless revenge.

She is methodical and calculating, even scientific in her plotting. It is possible that she is actually a clinical sociopath. This is what happens when the victim is equally as cold as those that abducted her.

This book has a truly engaging main protagonist, and she is far from the average teenaged girl. Fans of the novel found this to be sleek as a razor. Shannon turns the formula on its head and transform it into this ticking time bomb of a tale. This is a must read for every thriller fan, especially those that believe that they have seen everything.

“The Extraordinary Journey of Vivienne Marshall” is the second novel, which was released in the year 2016. What if it were possible to choose which heaven you went to? Go celestial shopping, so to speak? Vivienne (thirty-five years old) does exactly that, while she is dying in the intensive care unit, after taking a fatal walk into a truck’s path. During her final week of her life, she goes through the Heaven’s of a best friend, a lover that never was, a priest, and a homeless kid.

Noah (Vivienne’s possible soul mate and guardian angel) takes her through selections of different Heavens. He helps her through the confusion she feels while she flounders between certainty of death and the doubt of life.

Her trips into different afterlives provide her beauty and peace, but choosing is tough for her. Her love for the young son and his father she leaves behind keep pulling her away from the colorful journey. Not to mention, the divine love of Noah.

Fans of the novel enjoyed reading the stories that Marty shares with Vivienne and are what wrap her up in his charms. Kirk has the ability to bring a sense of magical realism to the work here, which elevates it to literary. She is a gifted writer, and this is a beautiful, powerful, and uplifting read.

“In the Vines” is the third novel, which was released in the year 2018. Mop (real name is Mary Olivia Pentecost) was born into one of the most guarded and wealthiest families in the entire country. Two years after mother died under mysterious circumstances, Mop seeks closure on this tragedy by going back to Aunty Liv’s New England seaside estate. Aunty Liv is secluded and was once Mop’s closest confidante and relative.

Behind the isolated estate’s walls, shadows from the past are much darker than Mop imagined them to be. The family’s puzzles are not to be shared at all, but to be unearthed. Every revelation brings forth a foreboding and new threat. Mop fears and suspects that to find out Liv’s secrets is to become a prisoner of them.

How well do we know those we love? And how well would we like to know them?

Fans of the novel found this to be an original, gothic, mysterious, and fun read. You are unable to know what exactly is going on, which is the point. This author created some of the craziest characters they have read about in a long time, if not ever. There is some great characterization and an amazing amount of detail in Kirk’s writing. You will savor the rich prose and full of meticulously detailed descriptions the entire way through.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Shannon Kirk

Leave a Reply