Book Notification

Sharon Owens Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Tea House on Mulberry Street (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ballroom on Magnolia Street (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tavern on Maple Street (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Rose Garden at Castle Callaghan (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with Weddings (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Must Be Love (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seven Secrets of Happiness (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Winter's Wedding (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

The Lights on the Carousel were Beautiful (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sharon Owens
Sharon Owens is an Irish author of fiction, contemporary and chick lit novels. She never thought that she would find herself in this writing industry. While she always loved books, Owen’s never pictured herself writing them. However, thanks to her husband’s encouragement, the talented author now has twenty publications to her name. Her books stand out for their warmth, and while these pieces talk about everyday events, Owen’s writing makes them stand out. When she is not writing, Owen’s enjoyed gardening, watching T.V., or making delicious meals for her husband and daughter.

The Tea House on Mulberry Street
The Tea House on Mulberry Street stars Penny and Daniel Stanley, the couple who own Muldoon’s Tea Rooms. Behind the cappuccinos and cheesecakes, a wind of change is blowing and the couple’s marriage of seventeen years is about to be tested. Daniel has a shady past, and being his wife hasn’t been easy for Penny. He has always been tight with money, and Penny cannot wait to repair the run-down tea house and get herself some pretty things. In the end, this couple will discover what’s important in love and life in general after several events help them rethink their priorities.

The rest of the cast are the people who frequent the Muldoon’s tea room. First, there is Brenda Brown, a delusional artist who has a hard time selling her art and holding down any job. Brenda is also obsessed with Nicolas Cage, and she goes to the extent of writing him letters even though she rarely posts them. Next is Aurora and Henry Blackstaff, an unlikely couple made up of a literature lover and a gardener. Others include Alice and Beatrice Crawley, two elderly twin sisters who dedicated their lives to charity, Clare Fitzgerald, Arnold and Sadie Smith. Sadie is a housewife but a foodie while Arnold is a blinds and conservatories purveyor with a relationship on the side with Patricia.

This story is based in Ireland and centred on the tea house. Most of this book’s drama comes from Arnold’s relationship. This couple seems to have more downs than ups, but they are not the only ones in trouble. While Arnold struggles to hide the details of his affair, Sadie’s spiteful actions when the affair is discovered will make you laugh. Arnold is cornered because his wife is his parent’s caregiver and hiring help from outside will eat into his savings. His plan is to divorce his wife as soon as they are gone, but he has no idea what Sadie has planned for him.

Aside from Arnold, a few of the characters are having affairs so you can bet there will be some disaster along the way. Despite the shocking revelations, the ending will leave you with a broad smile on your face. The characters learn a lot from their everyday experience, and everyone is changed in one way or another by the time you get to the end.

The Teahouse on Mulberry Street is an intriguing story filled with vibrant and amusing folks living their lives in ordinary and extraordinary ways. While the story starts with the gloom of failed relationships, things take a turn for the better towards the end. This book will make you laugh, cry, and hate some of the characters. If you are in the mood for a cute short read, this book is perfect.

The Tavern on Maple Street
The Tavern on Maple Street tells the story of a lovely local bar and the people who find solace in this place after a day’s work. Jack and Lily Beaumont own the Victorian Tavern, a place where the locals come to enjoy some simple food, good beer, and a lovely atmosphere. Out of the blues, a Dublin-based developer shows up intending to buy the buildings on Maple Streets and build something else. Everyone seems ready to sell except Jack and Lily. While the rest want to sell, these two are not about to let a business they have built from the ground go.

To drive more traffic to their business, Lily hires four hot barmaids that include man-eater Bridget, shy Marie, lazy student Daisy and Neurotic Trudy. These ladies are as different as people can be, and the resulting catfights are epic. Over time, the girls learn to work together and even enjoy one fun Christmas together. Lily has the taverns best interest at heart, but she is human and will make a few mistakes along the way. It is admirable how quickly she thinks on her feet when the future of their business is threatened.

Aside from the fun, a new secret will be revealed, and many surprises await all its patrons. Can the owners continue to hold on to it now that they know the truth? For Lily and Jack, the Tavern has been their little hiding place from the world and thinking of anything different is almost impossible. Away from the drama, this book offers lots of life lessons. As Lily and Jack open up, you cannot help but see the world from their view and those who participate in these discussions. There will also be a lot of laugh-ou- loud moments and the tavern setting brings a lot of warmth to the story. Another outstanding thing about this book is its quirky, charming characters.

This book is set in Belfast, Ireland. The author follows the Tavern’s visitors starting with the lovely owners of Beaumont Tavern, the girls working there, and the visitors who come for food, beer, and a good laugh. How will the everyday lives of those confronted by the upcoming developments change?
The Tavern on Maple Street is an excellent choice if you are looking for an undemanding read with some depth. Everything from the pacing to the writing is flawless, and there are many lessons you can pick from it. While the ending may not be what you are anticipating, the wonderful characters and their little successes will make up for it. The setting is also outstanding with its beautiful buildings, small-town vibe, and the strong friendships the community enjoys.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sharon Owens

Leave a Reply