Book Notification

Sharyn Howard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sharyn Howard Mystery Books

Last Dance (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
One Last Good-Bye (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last to Remember (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Until Our Last Embrace (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
For the Last Time (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dreams Don't Last (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Fires Burning (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glory's Last Victim (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Rites (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last One Down (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Before The Last Lap (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Shall Be Last (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Joyce and Jim Lavene are a team of wife and husband who have authored and published a total of 70 books. They currently reside with their family in North Carolina. During their free time, the love taking photos, cooking and ghost hunting. Apart from using their real names, they have also authored other books under their pen names of J.J Cook, Joye Ames, and Elyssa Henry.

Sharyn Howard Series

The Last Dance is the first installment in the book series Sharyn Howard and Jim Lavene. This installment is set in an exceedingly small town of Diamond Springs. The book begins by introducing the reader to the protagonist, Sheriff Sharyn Howard. Sharyn comes from a line of Sheriffs considering the fact that even her grandfather and father used to work as a sheriff. There are several challenges that Sharyn faces in this line of work, some including earning respect from her fellow officers and also the citizens of the small town of Diamond Springs. It is prom night in the small town, and after the last dance, a cleanup was conducted as expected. As the cleanup was being done, a body was found in the parking lot of the venue.

Sheriff Sharyn Howard quickly realizes that there were several similarities with a case, which his father had handled before, more than ten years ago. Howard’s intuition does tell her that the evidence gathered in the investigation does not add up. There are several vital information, which is missing. Due to her love for justice, Howard decides to re-open the case; Leila Bentley’s death. With the assistance of Nick, she can convince the other sheriffs that this particular case was worth looking into, despite the fact that a man has already been charged for the murder. With that said, the Last Dance is an exceedingly great story that has great character development and a tightly woven plot. Furthermore, you are also going this book while looking for the next book in this series.

As a character, Sharyn Wood is exceedingly strong. Despite the fact that she concerned about reopening an old case, she also understands that justice must be served at all costs. One Last Goodbye is the other great book in this series and the second book. The novel features a well-developed plot and an exceedingly great cast of characters. Just like the first installment, this story has been set in Diamond Spring and the book’s protagonist is Sharyn Wood, who has been walking in her grandfather’s footsteps. Several people within the small town believe that Sharyn is not fit for this type of work since she is a woman.

After working for more than two years, Sharyn has decided to take a vacation; thus she heads out on a camping trip above the local Diamond Mountain Lake. One night as she was sleeping, a helicopter disturbs her sleep and just a few moments later, her deputy tells her that there is an emergency in the town; thus she must return immediately. Upon reaching the town, she is told that a man had been missing for a few hours and from the look of things, it is yet to be an emergency. Tom Metzger, a renowned and award-winning author, had disappeared while conducting a series of research concerning a military plane crash, which had crashed into the lake more than fifty years ago.

The victim’s brother, Colonel Metzger is also demanding for an immediate resolution of the matter. It does not take long before the victim’s body is discovered and according to the coroner, Vic, the author Tom is murdered. Upon conducting further investigation, it is established that the pilot of the plane had been shot while the co-pilot died in the plane crash. Sharyn now is more than determined to establish what happened. With that said, this is an exceedingly solid story, which is full of intertwined subplots. All the characters in the book have been well-developed. The Last to Remember is the third installment in the Sharyn Howard book series. In this installment, the authors continue the story where they had left off from in the last installment. Just like the first novel, Sharyn is exceedingly great in her job; however, she has to prove to her department members from time to time, she is up to the task. The city’s medical examiner has developed strong feelings for Sheryl, however, due to the professional code of conduct; she has to be exceedingly professional in everything that she does.

Sharyn’s mother is dating the city’s senator. This installment was originally released in the year 2001. This is an exceedingly great read that is full of exceedingly interesting characters and a compelling mystery that is full of blackmail, regrets, deceit, and secrets. The book begins as a blizzard conditions are traverse across the Diamond Springs. The last thing that Sheriff Howard expects is one of the town’s most prominent citizens to come bursting through the conference door with a murder confession. Immediately after bursting in through the door, he is placed inside the conference room so as to ensure his safety. After being left for some time, Richmond is found hanging from the ceiling of the conference room dead. Despite the fact that Richmond’s death first appeared to be a suicide, it is quickly ruled that Richmond’s death was murder and not suicide as previously thought.

The entire police department comes under suspicion, and Sharyn does all she can to ensure that she finds the underlying cause of the matter. Once she begins conducting her investigation, she is led to an exceedingly respected judge and also one of her very own deputies. Furthermore, as she continues her investigation, she discovers that the District Attorney is against her and also one of the members of her staff has constantly been leaking information. Her relationship with Nick, the medical examiner, becomes as complicated as ever.

Until Our Last Embrace by Ms. Lavene, is the 4th book in the Sharyn Howard Mystery series. The book begins as one Darva Richmond is found within the Diamond Mount after being attacked by a bear. Sheriff Sharyn takes the case and is told by the Medical Examiner, Nick, that Richmond’s body had been covered all over with honey. The entire Richmond family had been on a camping trip on the mountain when he was attacked. With that said, this is an excellent read that will keep you entertained throughout the night.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sharyn Howard

Leave a Reply