Book Notification

Shaun David Hutchinson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Kairos Files Books

The School for Invisible Boys (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Deathday Letter (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
fml (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Five Stages of Andrew Brawley (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Are the Ants (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
At the Edge of the Universe (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Feral Youth (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Apocalypse of Elena Mendoza (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Past and Other Things That Should Stay Buried (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The State of Us (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Complicated Love Story Set in Space (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Before We Disappear (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Howl (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Shaun David Hutchinson is a renowned American writer of young adult, gay & lesbian, adult fiction, and fantasy novels. He is known to have written several widely popular standalone books in his career. Some of his successful novels include We Are the Ants, The Deathday Letter, Feral Youth, The State of Us, Five Stages of Andrew Brawley. Hutchinson has written a few of his novels in collaboration with other writers such as Derek Blyth, Neal Shusterman, Steve Brezenoff, Beth Revis, Courtney Summers, Kendare Blake, Margie Gelbwasser, Hannah Moskowitz, Tom Leveen, Cynthia Leitich Smith, and Delilah S Dawson. Besides writing novels, Hutchinson has edited a few anthologies and written the nonfiction memoir called Brave Face. This memoir revolves around the time when he struggled with depression and how he came out of it during teenage years.

Author Hutchinson was born in West Palm Beach, Florida, on May 01, 1978. His house was located in a town called Jupiter. Hutchinson claims that he was not good at academics and was the worst at studying among his 3 brothers and 1 step-sister. He used to enjoy sleeping through most of his classes, debates, and the theater. Somehow, Hutchinson managed to graduate from Jupiter High School and then joined Florida Atlantic University. He was a student of medieval & renaissance literature in college. Hutchinson also studied emergency medicine and gained certification in EMT and fire-fighting. However, he left all these and went on to work with computers in the I.T. field. His work in this field involved designing databases, coding websites, building apps, etc. Hutchinson carried out this work until he finished writing his debut novel. After the novel was published and achieved worldwide success, Hutchinson left the I.T. industry and settled down as a full-time writer.

As of today, he resides in Seattle and spends most of his time writing novels. In his free time, Hutchinson likes to take up running, baking, reading, and designing 3D environments. The compelling and award-winning young adult novels penned by Hutchinson combine speculative fiction with gay and queer themes. He claims to write for only two people, his best friend Rachel and the school version of himself. Rachel is the first person who goes through Hutchinson’s work and points important changes to be made. Usually, Hutchinson starts writing a story and then finds the character voices along the way. Sometimes, he faces writer’s block and sometimes experiences false starts.

Knowing too much about a story in the beginning makes him bored. He feels there is a lot of fun in trying to figure out what is going to happen next. Generally, Hutchinson finishes the first draft of a new story in 3 to 6 weeks. And most of the times it happens that he doesn’t like it. So, he throws it away and makes a fresh start. When Hutchinson worked for a day job, he used to do the majority of his writing before going to work in the morning. It has become a habit now and allows him to write for longer hours by getting up early. Nowadays, he does not go to any office. Instead, he heads off to a local coffee shop after finishing his morning routine.

Over the years, Hutchinson has gone through a big change in terms of his approach towards his future projects. Even though his novels take up most of his daytime, Hutchinson tries to take out some time for the projects that he is passionate about. His family consists of his gay partner and a couple of dogs that live with him in South Florida and Seattle. They like to spend time together and watch Doctor Who. Hutchinson says that he likes drinking coffee a lot and cannot live without it. He also loves to eat cake while watching his favorite shows on TV.

The debut book written by author Shaun David Hutchinson is entitled ‘The Deathday Letter’. It was released by the Simon Pulse publication in 2010. The main characters depicted in this book include Ollie and Ronnie. Initially, it is shown that Ollie does not bother about anything except girls. But, when he receives a letter that says he has just 24 hours to live, he gets the shock of his life. Ollie does not take it seriously and does nothing about it. His best friend becomes devastated after hearing the news, but Ollie doesn’t seem to care. The friend convinces Ollie to live the last few hours of his life and go after the girl that recently found a place in his heart, Ronnie. Ollie fills himself with loads of favorite pudding and expresses his love for Ronnie. He also informs her that he is about to die. However, the death card does not work on her and she rejects Ollie’s love. Now, the only thing Ollie wants is to set things straight with the one who frequents his dreams before he breathes his last.

Another wonderful novel penned by the author known as ‘We Are the Ants’. It was published in 2016 by Simon Pulse. Hutchinson has set this novel in Florida, United States and consists of the primary character as Henry Denton. The book opens by mentioning that Henry Denton was kidnapped by aliens periodically for several years. Later, the aliens tell him that the world is going to be destroyed in 144 days and if he wants to prevent it, then he will have to reach a big red button before the end of time and push it. But, Henry is not sure whether he wants to do it. Life has never been great for him. His mother works as a struggling waitress, his brother is jobless, his grandmother is suffering from Alzheimer’s, and he lost his boyfriend last year. Henry thinks ending the world might be a good option. Then, the scientist in him kicks in and he begins to see the situation logically and thoroughly. Henry measures the pros and cons of the world coming to an end. To do this, he remembers all those events of his life that brought great changes in him, such as getting bullied in school, facing betrayal at the hands of his best friend, meeting his boyfriend for the first time, etc. And after thoroughly weighing the joy and pain surrounding him, Henry ultimately decides to press the button and prevent the disaster from happening.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Shaun David Hutchinson

Leave a Reply