Nick Petrie Series

She Persisted Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of She Persisted Books

She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World (By:Chelsea Clinton) (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted Around the World (By:Chelsea Clinton) (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted in Sports: American Olympians Who Changed the Game (By:Chelsea Clinton) (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Harriet Tubman (By:Andrea Davis Pinkney) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Claudette Colvin (By:Lesa Cline-Ransome) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Sally Ride (By:Atia Abawi) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Virginia Apgar (By:Sayantani DasGupta) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Nellie Bly (By:Michelle Knudsen) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Sonia Sotomayor (By:Meg Medina) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Florence Griffith Joyner (By:Rita Williams-Garcia) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Ruby Bridges (By:Kekla Magoon) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Margaret Chase Smith (By:Ruby Shamir) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Maria Tallchief (By:Christine Day) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Helen Keller (By:Courtney Sheinmel) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Oprah Winfrey (By:Renée Watson) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Wangari Maathai (By:Eucabeth A. Odhiambo) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted in Science: Brilliant Women Who Made a Difference (By:Chelsea Clinton) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Temple Grandin (By:Lyn Miller-Lachmann) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Patsy Mink (By:Tae Keller) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Malala Yousafzai (By:Aisha Saeed) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Diana Taurasi (By:Monica Brown) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Wilma Mankiller (By:Traci Sorell) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Maya Lin (By:Grace Lin) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Rosalind Franklin (By:Kimberly Brubaker Bradley) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Dorothy Height (By:Kelly Starling Lyons) (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Florence Nightingale (By:Shelli R. Johannes) (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Ella Fitzgerald (By:,Chelsea Clinton,,Andrea Davis Pinkney) (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
She Persisted: Pura Belpré (By:Meg Medina,Marilisa Jimenez Garcia) (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

She Persisted is a series of books about inspirational women who persisted to become great successes in their fields. The series covers women like Harriet Tubman, Helen Keller, Clara Lemlich, Nellie Bly, and Florence Griffith Joyner. While all of the women come from different walks of life and careers, the unifying theme is persistence. The book series advertises itself as being for “tiny activists, mini feminists and little kids who are ready to take on the world.”

The series began with She Persisted: 13 American Women Who Changed the World by Chelsea Clinton with illustration by Alexandra Boiger. The book focused on Harriet Tubman, Helen Keller, Clara Lemlich, Nellie Bly, Virginia Apgar, Maria Tallchief, Claudette Colvin, Ruby Bridges, Margaret Chase Smith, Sally Ride, Florence Griffith Joyner, Oprah Winfrey, and Sonia Sotomayor and told the story of how they were able to persist and make themselves a force in the world.

The idea for the book came as Clinton realized that women have spoken out for what’s right throughout history and have often had to fight to be heard. So Chelsea set out to celebrate thirteen women who helped shape the country in their own unique ways.

The first book was a hit and spawned two sequels, She Persisted Around the World: 13 Women Who Changed History and She Persisted in Sports: American Olympians Who Changed the Game. The series then spun-off into books that focus on individual women such as She Persisted: Harriet Tubman , She Persisted: Virginia Apgar, and She Persisted: Ruby Bridges. These books take a more in-depth look at the individual women with each one being written by a different author.

She Persisted Around the World: 13 Women Who Changed History is the second book in the series and and focuses on thirteen more amazing women. The book writes about everything from Marie Curie to Viola Desmond to J.K. Rowling. Curie, of course, was the first woman ever to win the Nobel prize for her work in radioactivity. While Desmond was a Canadian civil rights activist who challenged racial segregation in Nova Scotia. Rowling is the author of the worldwide bestselling Harry Potter series.

The first book to focus on an individual woman was She Persisted: Harriet Tubman written by Andrea Davis Pinkney. The book focuses on Tubman’s life a she was born enslaved, but went on to become one of the most successful and well-known conductors on the Underground Railroad. This chapter book biography tells of how Harriet used the North Star for guidance to escape slavery and how she had the courage to help others find freedom as well.

She Persisted: Claudette Colvin tells the story of the amazing life of Claudette Colvin. Before Rosa Parks refused to give up her bus seat, there was a fifteen-year-old girl who made the same choice. By sitting down, she stood up for what was right and made a standing for equality. This book is written by Lesa Cline-Ransome who does a great job bringing to life the story of this young girl.

The series focuses on the world of journalism in She Persisted: Nellie Bly. Nellie was one of the first investigative reporters in history who went undercover to expose wrongdoings. She is best known for her record-breaking trip around the world in 72 days as she tried to emulate the trip of Jules Vernes’ famous book. She also wrote a pioneering exposé in which she worked undercover at a mental institution. Nellie had dreams that she never gave up on no matter what obstacles she faced which makes her a perfect fit for this series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » She Persisted

Leave a Reply