Book Notification

Shelly Frome Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tinseltown Riff (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lilac Moon (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twinning Murders (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Twilight of the Drifter (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder Run (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moon Games (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secluded Village Murders (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miranda and the D-Day Caper (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadow of the Gypsy (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fast Times, Big City (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Playwriting (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sun Dance for Andy Horn (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Actors Studio (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Art and Craft of Screenwriting (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon

Shelly Frome
Shelly Frome is a professor at the University of Connecticut as dramatic arts emeritus, a member of Mystery Writers of America, and a former professional actor. He has written more than twenty plays as well as some novels and articles.

Shelly is a frequent contributor of articles on all fronts of acting and creative writing, and his work has appeared in many periodicals including Southern Writers Magazine for which he is the film columnist. He contributes to writers’ websites and blogs in both the United States and the United Kingdom.

Shelly’s debut novel, called “The Twinning Murders”, was released in the year 2010. His novels are from the crime and mystery genres, while his non-fiction is about acting and screenwriting.

“The Twinning Murders” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2010. Emily Ryder is a thirty-something tour guide and rambler. The story begins right before she begins this year’s Twinning ritual exchange. It is between her historic home in New England and its sister village deep in Dartmoor, which is a wild upland area in the west of the county of Devon, England.

Emily soon becomes personally involved in one suspicious death. Just days later, at the Twinning itself, her main client ends up meeting the exact same fate. While her world continues to unravel, and though she has got little help, she finds she is compelled to put together the games being played on either side of the Atlantic.

Fans found themselves enjoying this mystery and found themselves being surprised by the ending.

“Twilight of the Drifter” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2011. Josh Devlin, thirty-something and failed journalist who ends up in a homeless shelter in Kentucky after a year of wandering some wintry December.

Quickly, the crosscurrents go right into motion while Josh comes across a runaway called Alice who is holed up in an abandoned boxcar. Dejected over his own unfulfilled life, and taken with her plight, he takes her back to Memphis and Blues Hall Cafe, owned by his uncle. He attempts getting back on his feet as he seeks a solution for Alice’s troubles. A Delta bluesman’s checkered past comes into play and Josh, inevitably, finds himself colliding with some backwoods tracker that is fixated with the Civil War as well as the governor-elect of Mississippi’s machinations.

This story hinges off the vagaries of human nature and chance. At the same time, though, there is an underlying force that seems to be driving all the action as though it is looking for the truth and some long awaited redemption. Past sins have come due finally in the present tense.

Fans felt the reality of these times, which is mixed with just a touch of Southern politics in good measure. This is a multi-layered mystery that Shelly infused with authentic dialogue and an accurate description of the Mississippi Delta area.

“Tinseltown Riff” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2013. Ben Prine, who is a thirty-something hack of a screenwriter who, during a Labor Day weekend, finds himself in dire straits. He grabs onto a dubious last-minute opportunity, and unwittingly embarks off on a collision course with a Montana tracker with ties to a Vegas mob. It is an odyssey that culminates in one fateful showdown out on an abandoned Western film set.

Each and every single one of these characters is quirky, and the book takes the reader on a gritty, wild, and unique ride. This is a satisfactory read that does a fantastic job of keeping the reader constantly engaged from the beginning until the end.

“Murder Run” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2015. One wayward handyman struggles with a fragile choreographer who secluded herself out in the Litchfield Hills, and the suspicious death of his own employer. While the fallout continues to mount, the reader gets taken to different locations in and around Manhattan, with an escapade in Miami Springs. Then he heads back to the hills in Connecticut until this rather twisty turny conundrum is laid to rest finally.

This novel is a spellbinding and dynamic novel that is witty, packed with action, and always engaging. With strong character development and masterful storytelling, Shelly is able to tell a captivating story that is sure to interest any reader.

“Moon Games” is the fifth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2018. Miranda Davis has got nothing much going for her. By October, the tourists are long gone in Black Mountain, the quaint Carolina town, and her realty business gets put at a standstill. Even the weekend stint managing the town tavern doesn’t offer her much to pull her out of the doldrums. Cloris Raintree, a prominent church lady, offers up a stipend to inquire as to the whereabouts of a missing female hiker on the quiet, Miranda, as well as an unemployed features writer, named Harry, agree.

It all goes south, however. A burly shaped person moves down a mountain slope with a semi-conscious girl hanging on his shoulder. Miranda’s attempts to figure out Cloris Raintree’s real motives become close to impossible while she putting up a smokescreen after another, including one slip of the tongue about something in Havana. The local cops continue stonewalling and Harry offers little help.

Tarot cards being left on Cloris’ step and some arcane prompts in her e-mail just serve to make things worse. Growing even more desperate over the captive girl’s fate, Miranda finds a link to some cold case of murder and arson. With the dark of the moon coming, she gets summoned to “Tower Time”.

Readers had a lot of fun checking this one out and cannot wait to read more by Shelly in the future. There is plenty of adventure, action, suspense, and mystery in it. It is certainly not easy to predict what will happen next, and the twists and turns keep you on the edge of your seat the entire way through.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Shelly Frome

Leave a Reply