Book Notification

Shelly Reuben Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bramble & Nolan Books

Publication Order of Fritillary Quilter Books

Publication Order of Nightingale & Bly Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Julian Solo (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man with the Glass Heart (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Boys of Sabbath Street (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Mostly Happy Life (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

Dabbling in Crime (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Come Home. Love, Dad (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Shelly Reuben is an American author of fantasy, fiction and mystery books. Her debut novel Julian Solo published in 1988 was nominated for an Edgar Award by the Mystery Writers of America and for a Prometheus by the Libertarian Futurist Society. Shelly Reuben’s crime book Origin and Cause was nominated for a Falcon by the Maltese Falcon Society of Japan. Harper, Scribner, and Harcourt have published her fiction books.

As a licensed detective, Shelly Reuben uses her experiences of the year’s spending investigating arson in many of her books and stories.

Tabula Rasa

Tabula Rasa is the first book in Nightingale & Bly series by Shelly Reuben. It introduces us to an arson investigator Billy Nightingale and his Officer Sebastian Bly, his brother in law. The two are investigating a firehouse that left two young kids dead. The suspicious details of the crime scene and the shocking discovery of a kid hiding underneath the porch put Billy and his brother in law on the trail of a killer mother while Sebastian and his wife raise the baby the found underneath the porch without revealing her frightening and dangerous past.

The baby- Meredith grows up to be a talented ballerina- most fueled by the fictional parents that Sebastian and his wife have created for her. However, the truth threatens to break the shell that holds together their family circle as Meredith’s biological mother returns to finish what she once started.
Tabula Rasa isn’t only a gripping and entertaining crime novel, but it’s also a sensitive novel that offers a warm exploration of the deeper issues of what defines a person and a family.

The Skirt Man

Every small town has an aberrant or two and Killdeer, a small town in New York is not an exception. Morgan Mason sparks everyone’s attention when he drives through the town on his old tractor wearing a skirt. His sister is embarrassed, and his neighbour hates the Skirt’s Man interference while Morgan’s big satellite dish terrifies the local preservationists.

These minor annoyances develop into something that’s more serious and deadly when the Skirt Man is murdered in a house fire during a ballet performance featuring Meredith Bly. Meredith’s father, a state trooper Sebastian and Billy Nightingale are called to the crime scene to investigate what some people claim to be a case of spontaneous human combustion. Chair remnants and charred wood are the fire scene help the investigators uncover deadly clues that unravel hidden conflicts and a shocking discovery that will ultimately change the lives of everyone in the small town of Killdeer. Resurrecting the brave family team from the Nightingale & Bly series debut book Tabula Rasa, Shelly Reuben has created an excellent crime novel that will keep the reader hooked to the last page.

Origin Cause

Origin & Cause is the first book in Bramble & Nolan series by Shelly Reuben. When Max Bramble an attorney hires the former New York City fire marshal Wylie Nolan to investigate the cause and the origin of a fire in a 1930 Duesenberg, an A-Team is created.

The body of Stanfield Standish is discovered in a classic car, and his family wants to take to court Max’s customer for product liability. Max strongly believes that the car fire was just but an accident until Wylie discovers that the well-known television mogul was murdered.

Max Bramble adds his intelligent innocence to the arson case while Wylie with his humor and professionalism teaches the reader how to investigate a fire. A wealthy car collector, an honourable journalist, a millionaire mistress, an heiress, a local cop and other fascinating characters will leave you wanting more.

Spent Matches

Spent Matches is the second book in Bramble & Nolan series by Shelly Reuben. The Zigfield Art Museum located upper Manhattan has been set on fire. The fire is a locked room kind of that no one believes could have occurred, or could it?

Arson investigator Wylie Nolan assisted by his friend Max Bramble will have to reconstruct one of the most puzzling fires of his professional career. In the meantime, back at Wylie’s office- someone is setting random fires in ladies rooms trying to implicate Wylie’s friend Miranda Yee as the person responsible.
Most shocking of all, on City Island, a tragic fire takes the life of one and threatens to destroy more lives. Three fire- who caused them and where did they all start? When the arson investigator investigates a fire scene, he does it so carefully, calls all the facts as he sees them and finds details that no one else sees in burn patterns, spent ashes and ashes.

in the second book in the series, Shelly Reuben carefully balances Nolan’s world with subplots involving the loves and lives of the staff, some with hidden grudges and ambitions that appear to be “flammable.”

Julian Solo

Julian Solo is the Shelly Reuben’s debut book that takes the readers back to the days of Michael Crichton and Robin Cook early medical thrillers, murky labs of scientists obsessed with eternal life in the cryogenics. Julian Solo story takes place in a distant past before the invention of the technological inventions we enjoy today. There are no personal computers, no cell phones, just the hallowed hall of Roosevelt hospital where Julian Solo, a scientist becomes obsessed by the studies of the hypothalamus, creating a serum that he believes can make human immortal.

All this would not have been true had he not madly fallen in love with Cynthia Wylie with symptoms that suggest she’s suffering from a degenerative nerve disease. Deeply in love with his wife, Julian turns his back on the advances of his secretary Melanie whom he entrusts all his research work.

Weaving an extensive cast of characters into a complex web of nightmares awakened and dreams come true, Shelly Reuben examines the dark side of power, the consequences of interfering with fate and a loss of perspective attributed to excessive love. Julian Solo is a fast-paced debut novel that will keep you hooked from the first to the last page.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Shelly Reuben

Leave a Reply