Book Notification

Shelter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Shelter Books

Prisoner of Revenge (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chain Gang Kill (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
China Doll (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Circus of Death (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lookout Mountain (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bandit Queen (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Apache Trail (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Mesa (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
Comanchero Blood (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hard Men (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saddle Tramp (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shotgun Sugar (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fast-Draw Filly (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wanted Woman (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tongue-Tied Texan (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Slave Queen (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treasure Chest (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heavenly Hands (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lay of the Land (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bang-Up Showdown (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whistlestop Wench (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hot and Spicy (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tattle-Tail (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wyoming Wench (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon

Shelter series by Robert J. Randisi

Paul Lederer wrote the “Shelter” series of western novels, under the name Paul Ledd. The last three books in the series were penned by Robert J. Randisi.

The books star a former soldier of the confederacy, named Shelter Morgan, or Shel. The guy is quick on the draw and a magnet to the ladies. He served a prison sentence for crimes he did not commit. Over the course of the books, he finds women, ones that tend to need him to help them in some way.

The series began publication in the year 1980, when “Prisoner of Revenge” was released. The series ended when “Wyoming Wench”, the thirty-third novel in the series, was published in the year 1989.

“Prisoner of Revenge” is the first novel in the “Shelter” series, which was released in the year 1980. Ex-confederate solider Shelter Morgan served seven years in prison for a crime he did not commit. Now he is free. During the final days of war, and seeing that all was lost, senior officers decided to raid the Confederate treasury. Shelter is a fool, being blinded by his loyalty. His comrades used him for the scheme, when it was done, he was left with the guilt, as they escape as wealthy guys.

They live now, scattered all over the nation, living nice lives under their assumed names. Their crimes have been forgotten and buried. Only Shelter Morgan did not forget. The seven years in prison just increased his smoldering anger. Not to mention the insatiable appetite he has for women.

In justice’s name he will get his revenge, and in the name of love he would make friends with a beautiful dance hall lady. Even if it takes him the rest of his life, not a single one of those thieving and murdering men will get away from Shelter’s deadly guns.

This book is a fast moving and easy book to read. The book is an entertaining read with a plot that is pretty straightforward.

“Hanging Moon” is the second novel in the “Shelter” series, which was released in the year 1980. Shel takes on a job looking for missing gold that was stolen from a friend of his. Shel meets with a Quaker wagon train that is heading toward the area he is planning on going to. It would normally be the more the merrier, but this time, it is just one too many. The missing gold he is hunting for is actually part of the wagon train that is under people’s noses.

“Lazarus Gun” is the fifth novel in the “Shelter” series, which was released in the year 1980. After having vowed to murder every last guy who was a part of the death battalion that double-crossed him seven years before, Shelter takes off on the vengeance trail. He is headed for Wyoming with the goal to see Sergeant Hugh Whistler dead.

Riding off into the high country by himself, hunting for his prey, Shel quickly finds himself captive of Whistler’s ruthless gang. It happens to include Nelly, the tantalizing beauty.

Her eyes are promising him pleasure, and her lips guarantee delight. Shel learned a long time back that he should be very wary of any lady bearing gifts and with a gun on her hip.

“Massacre Mountain” is the tenth novel in the “Shelter” series, which was released in the year 1982. Shelter rides on the vengeance trail to Massacre, Arizona to hunt for Major James Middlesex, who is a member of the ruthless death battalion that double crossed him seven years before. When he finds that Middlesex stole a gold mine from the tantalizing Julie Shandy, it makes Shel’s blood start to boil.

Things come right to a head after trigger-happy Julie mistakes Shel as being the enemy. Her pistol is not the only thing that is set off.

“Heavenly Hands” is the twenty-seventh novel in the “Shelter” series, which was released in the year 1987. After a menage a trois in the morning, Shel interrupts his vacation and goes off to California. He is on assignment for General Pomfret as well as the US government, in order to stop a band of mostly ex-Confederate outlaws that have been raiding settlements.

While on the train, he meets Tabitha Saint, a gorgeous widow. He is more than a little taken aback when she says that Shel is the reason her husband was killed. It is a good thing that Shel already planned on going undercover with the alias of Jim Crook and get into the gang from the inside or the relationship would not have gone anywhere.

Turns out the outlaw gang is operating under Shel’s name. Why is the question that Shel is going to have to find out the answer to later. It is an intriguing one, and has an eye-opening view into Shel’s past.

This one is filled with bloodshed and bullets along the way. The relationship that Shel has with Tabitha is written in an interesting way, too. There is an action-filled finale and a shocker of a twist, with the destination making this one well worth the trip.

“Hot and Spicy” is the thirty-first novel in the “Shelter” series, which was released in the year 1988. Shelter Morgan has got his hands full after he hooks up with a frightened young Chinese lady and her newborn baby in the Nevada territories. When the runaway mother is murdered mysteriously. Shelt heads to Chinatown and San Francisco with a baby in his arms and vengeance filling his heart. He is determined to deliver a cold blooded murderer to the gates of Hell!

These stand up actions have made Morgan marked, so a spicy Oriental sweetie named Charlene Chen takes him in with pleasure. Appears some slimy jasper isn’t going to satisfied until the orphaned baby joins his mother in the afterlife, with Shel coming along for the ride. Shel is one hard man and Charlene is up for anything. The both of them plunge in and out of the twisting alleyways in Chinatown. They are not going to lie down until an undeterred child killer is put out of business permanent like.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Shelter

Leave a Reply