Book Notification

Sherri Smith Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Virgin's Tale (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Children Of Witches (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Follow Me Down (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Retreat (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sherri Smith
Author Sherri Smith was born in Winnipeg, Manitoba. When she is not writing, she spends time with three rescue dogs, family, and restores vintage furniture that would otherwise find its way to the dump. She lives in Winnipeg, Canada, a place where the cold and long winters help nurture her dark side. She has taught special needs children.

Sherri’s debut novel, called “The Virgin’s Tale”, was released in the year 2008. Her work is from the literary fiction, mystery, and historical fiction genres.

“The Virgin’s Tale” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2008. Rome in 63 BC. Aemilia, offered up by her parents when she was six to become one of the Vestal Virgins, one of the six hand-picked women that symbolically protected the Roman Republic, has spent her whole adult life in the strictly guarded and all-female Temple of Vesta. Temptation, however, hjas led her to commit one of the mortal sins, and she gets sentenced to death as the Virgins must die, being buried alive in a pitch-black tomb.

While the end gets near, Aemilia looks back over her restricted and claustrophobic life. All the intense friendships she made, the implacable foes she made, and the passionate yet forbidden romance that caused her downfall. Of course, this romance could be her only hope.

Readers found themselves being totally engrossed in this story, and could not put it down. Aemilia is a multi-layered and complex character, and readers enjoyed seeing such a realistic portrayal of a female in fiction. Aemilia’s story was extremely real and entirely compelling, and the historical detail was intricate and impressive.

“The Children of Witches” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2010. Anna Wirth, who is married to an alcoholic tavern-keeper, finds comfort in her two sons, Manfred (with the angelic voice), and Konrad (a hard worker). Anna is still desperate that no one finds out the truth about her younger son, who unlike other kids, lives in his own private world.

Amid the rumors of witchcraft, those that want to use him to pursue their own personal agenda, seize Manfred. No one is safe, in this climate of fear, and at the heart of this terror is Anna’s own child. While the death toll increases, Anna knows too well how to stop this madness. Will she be able to act against a mom’s deepest instincts?

Fans enjoyed the novel because of its rich characters and they found themselves getting absorbed into the world of this tavern and the town. The novel was tough to put down, as readers just had to know what would happen next, and was simply an amazing novel. Sherri expertly shows what humans are really capable of sometimes, and she delivers an excellently structured and fascinating book.

“Follow Me Down” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2017. Mia Haas has built a life for herself far from the North Dakota town that she grew up in, yet is forced to go back home after getting word that her twin brother vanished. Back to the same people that she left behind, the secrets she believed she had left buried, as well as the person she once was.

Lucas Haas, who is now a popular high school teacher after being hailed as the golden boy of their entire town vanishes the exact same day the body of a student of Lucas’ gets pulled out of the river. Trying to make sense of the rumors of Lucas having an affair with the teen, and not able to reconcile the media’s portrayal of Lucas as a killer with memories of her own about him. She is desperate to find some other suspect.

She wonders the entire time, if he is innocent, why would he run?

While Mia reconsiders their shared and difficult history and begins her investigation into the brutal murder, she finds secrets that could seal his fate or exonerate him. In a tiny town where everybody’s lives are linked, Mia has to confront her demons if she wants to survive.

Sherri delivers a novel that packs a strong punch and keeps you guessing until the very end of the book with its clever twists and turns. Combine these twists and turns with some flawed characters, and red herrings, weave it all together to make for a fantastic mystery to attempt to piece together.

“The Retreat” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2019. Four women with four secrets on one weekend that is going to change them forever. Assuming they survive.

Katie Manning used to be a beloved child star until she hit her mid-teens when she got attacked by her manager, which left her face scarred. This effectively ending her career and it sent her on a path of much too familiar post-Hollywood self-destruction.

Katie, who is now twenty-seven, wants to have a better answer for all of those clickbait articles about where stars ended up that are online. An answer she hopes she will find as her brother’s too-good-to-be-true fiancee invites her to some wellness retreat upstate. Together with her two best friends, one that is running away from a failed job and relationship and the other battling family obligations and crippling debt, Katie is going to find the inner peace that was promised at the peaceful retreat. Finding yourself may just dredge up much more memories than Katie is really ready to deal with.

Each lady has come to the retreat for their own reasons. They each have their own secrets to hide. By the end of the weekend, there will only be one left standing.

This is a bone-chilling and twisting suspense read that makes you wonder just how well you truly know your friends. Each of the characters is well developed, with a strong ending that readers did not see coming at all. The entire way through, you are engaged and entertained, as the suspense is well built and is taut and well told.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sherri Smith

Leave a Reply