Book Notification

Sherry Harris Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery Books

Tagged for Death (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Longest Yard Sale (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Murders Final! (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Day to Buy (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Know What You Bid Last Summer (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gun Also Rises (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Let's Fake a Deal (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sell Low, Sweet Harriet (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Absence of Alice (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Chloe Jackson Sea Glass Saloon Mysteries Books

From Beer to Eternity (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Time to Swill (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Three Shots to the Wind (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rum and Choke (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Beat of Black Wings(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sherry Harris is an Agatha Award-nominated author who started bargain hunting at a very tender age, during one of her friend’s yard sale. While moving around the country with her husband who was a United States Airforce officer, Sherry was able to develop her honing skills. By making use of the experience, she gained during the garage sales, her life as the wife of a military officer and the experience she gained while residing in Massachusetts, Harris was able to pen-down the Sarah Winston Garage Sales book series. The first installment in the series, Tagged for Death was published and released in December 2014.

Sarah Winston Garage Sales

Tagged for Death is the first installment in the Sarah Winston Garage Sales. This installment introduces the reader to one Sarah Winston, who has just divorced from an ex-military man who now serves as the chief of police. When Sarah discovered that CJ Hooker, her husband had cheated on her with a military recruit, Sarah packed all her belongings and moved out. However, despite moving from the house, Sarah was unable to move on with her life. To soothe her pain, Sarah volunteered to work in a thrift shop, which was situated in Ellington, Massachusetts. The thrift store is located within the Air Base that she once called home. While working in the thrift shop, part of her day-to-day activities includes the collection of unsold goods from garage sales and then take it back to the thrift shop.

One day as Sarah was picking one of the bags from a garage sale, she makes a gruesome discovery. Sarah learns that CJ’s mistress is missing. As the investigation of the disappearance begins, CJ becomes the main suspect in the disappearance and the possible murder of Tiffany. However, Sarah is more than certain that CJ did not do it. Sarah knows that CJ is capable of so many things, but murder is not one of them. Thus, Sarah decides to look into the issue and find who exactly is framing CJ. Once she begins in the issue, she discovers that there are several people within the town, who have so many hidden secrets. Thus, what follows is a string of bad luck for Sarah. Sarah begins by discovering bloody evidence during a garage sale.

A few days later, she also discovers human bones just outside one of the thrift shops. As Sarah continues with the investigation, it becomes apparent that the person who is responsible for framing CJ is also out to ensure that Sarah also suffers in the process. With that said, this installment is exceedingly appealing to individuals who love garage sales. This is not only a new idea, but it is also exceedingly unique, and the world that the author has managed to build is not only creative but also exceedingly realistic. As the protagonist, Sarah does some exceedingly irrational things. She not only gets involved in things which could either implicate her or her ex-husband, but she also starts digging into the personal lives of some extremely powerful people, something that she should not try to.

Overall, Tagged for Death is a great cozy mystery that has been contrived with lots of twists, turns, red herrings, and distractions. There are humorous, heartbreaking and suspenseful moments, which will keep you the reader, engaged. The author does an excellent job of setting up so many characters in the storyline as the main suspects. She also does an excellent job of pulling the proverbial tablecloth from underneath these characters without inescapably spilling out the truth. The book’s ending is a two-fold surprise which will leave you amazed.

The Longest Yard sale is the second book in the Sarah Winston Garage sale mystery series. The Book begins as Sarah the divorcee has made a name for herself in the small town of Ellington by assisting people to not only organize but to also hold their very own profitable garage sales. Thus, due to her success, Sarah is hired by the Town’s Council to organize and also run the town’s largest garage sale. The only person who is against the idea is Sarah’s ex-husband who believes that the high number of people will result in an increase in the crime rate. As the book later turns out, Sarah’s ex-husband CJ was right. The town’s traffic is brought to a standstill both in the town and outside the town. Furthermore, it does not take long before fire sirens are heard blasting across the town. From the look of things, there are four separate fires have been triggered. As investigations are conducted, it is established that an arsonist, who triggered them by making use of timers, has set this fires.

The local police and fire department manage to successfully put of the fire without anyone getting hurt. As Sarah tries to ponder whether these set of fires are going to affect her reputation, Carol, her best friend comes knocking at her door. Once Sarah opened the door, Carol grabs her hand, takes her to her art studio, Paint, and Wines which is located within the town square. Once they arrived, Sarah stops and the points to a dead man’s body, which is lying on the floor, strangled with one of the picture frames. Sarah also comes to learn that Carol had been commissioned by an unknown client to recreate the legendary Revolution War Painting. The only thing that had been taking from Carol’s art studio is this painting that she had been working on.

All Murders Final is the third installment in the Sarah Winston book series. Just like all the other books in this series, Sarah Winston is the protagonist. This installment explores the life of living in a historical life where the locals are struggling to keep up with the high cost of living. The book begins as winter has just kicked in and in the process; all the planned garage sales had to be stopped. Thus, with the hopes of supplementing her income, Sarah decides to set up a computer-generated garage sale websites. Despite the fact that there is a lot of work involved when dealing with website maintenance and the complaints from the different website users, Sarah still enjoys all these challenges. With that said, Ms. Harris is like a juggler; she loves keeping all her characters, plots and subplots whirling around while ensuring that the pace is breathless.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sherry Harris

Leave a Reply