Book Notification

Shopaholic Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Shopaholic Books

Confessions of a Shopaholic (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shopaholic Takes Manhattan (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shopaholic Ties the Knot (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shopaholic & Sister (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shopaholic & Baby (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mini Shopaholic (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shopaholic to the Stars (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shopaholic on Honeymoon (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shopaholic to the Rescue (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Christmas Shopaholic (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Shopaholic is a book series written by Sophie Kinsella and serves the genre named Chick lit. This is a fiction genre which deals with the issues of womanhood in the modern world in a lighthearted and comic manner with a pinch of romance. The series mainly comprises of six books and all of them are international bestsellers.

The Author

Sophie Kinsella is an English author and is very well known for her amazing work in the series ‘Shopaholic’. She was born on 12 December 1969 and her real name is Madeleine Sophie Wickham. She was working as a financial journalist when she began writing and she also writes under her original name Madeleine Wickham.

Details on The Series

The books in the series mainly revolve around a woman named Becky Bloomwood who is a financial journalist but is unable to cope up with her own money matters and always find herself short of finance. She is obsessed with shopping and because of her extreme addiction to shopping she falls into a lot of troubles and how her life gets complex consequently is what the series is based on. The books talk about her numerous adventures and experiences of shopping as well as her life. The series is richly created and connects various events in as well suited way to its readers and has been loved by the readers to an extent that it has also been adapted into movies by Hollywood.

The very first novel of the series ‘The Secret Dreamworld Of A Shopaholic’ was published in 2000. It is also known as ‘Confessions Of A Shopaholic’ and with this name it was released in 2001. It was followed by the second novel in the series ‘Shopaholic Abroad’ published in 2001 and this part was also released with the name ‘Shopaholic Takes Manhattan’ in 2002.

The Secret Dreamworld of A Shopaholic

‘The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic’ marks the beginning of the story. The girl Rebecca Bloomwood also known as Becky who loves shopping is a beautiful and gorgeous woman and loves to spend time shopping whenever she gets time off and this hobby of hers is almost like a cure to all her troubles for her. She is out of money and unhappy with her job but she has big dreams and wishes and cannot resist her obsession. The book talks about her world of dreams, how she finds ways to fulfil her wishes, her failures and struggles for the same and how she immerses herself into troubles. Will she ever be able to get over her obsession and manage to strive through the difficulties or will she be able to find love and understand the true meaning of happiness is all what the readers discover with their reading of the book.

Shopaholic Abroad

The second novel ‘Shopaholic Abroad’ takes the story forward delightfully. Rebecca finds her life excellent and loves her job where she gives people advices on television about financial matters as well as she has an amazing relationship with her boyfriend Luke. Her bank manager also is quiet nice to her. But how her life changes suddenly when her boyfriend plans to move to New York and even her bank manager retires is what forms the backbone of the book. She decides to go to New York as well and then she gets trapped in a chain of numerous events. The book speaks about her happy times and luxurious visits and shoppings at the new place but as usual terrible things follow up and Rebecca again gets into troubles which are financial, legal, personal, professional and every possible kind for the poor Becky. The novel talks about all the interesting events that come along her way, how things fall out of place for her and how the pretty woman deals with all that and finds a dream job for herself. Everything is narrated in a comic way and with ease to the readers keeping them engaged as well as light hearted.

The Progression

The series progresses gracefully in the latter parts of the series with Rebecca finding a perfect job for herself where she can spend the money of other people rather than her own money and the books beautifully describe how she gets the love of her life, how she arranges a dream wedding for herself, her plans for life and the confusions she has always been getting into. As the series advances, life for Becky has not always been a fairy tale and she struggles and strives through troubles of life and even discovers some long lost loved ones, develops new relationships in life and learns various lessons of life, finds joys, sorrows, contentment and all the emotions that a woman experiences in her journey. The latter parts succeed in maintaining the comical aspect of the series with perfection and nowhere does the books loose the attention of their readers.

Movie Release

‘Confessions of a Shopaholic’ is an American film which has been directed based on the first two novels of the series. The movie is a romantic comedy and was released in the year 2009. It has been directed by P.J. Hogan and Isla Fisher has been depicted in the role of Rebecca Bloomwood in the film and she has been portrayed as an American woman rather than British.

Overall Experience

The series is a wonderful combination of romance between the beautiful Rebecca and Luke, her interesting struggles and funny methods to deal with the issues and troubles that she always gets herself in, the amazing descriptions of her never-ending difficulties. All the books connect the readers in a very appealing manner with the day-to-day activities and issues of womanhood in today’s world, the ways in which we strive and try to tackle our problems at work or in the personal life as well as the emotions of joy and sadness. Most of the readers can relate some or the other part of the series with their own lives or some event occurring at some point of their lives. Throughout the reading experience, there never comes a dull moment and the plot has been developed and taken forward by the author with absolute perfection. Its a wonderful series for the ones who enjoy lighthearted reading.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Shopaholic

Leave a Reply