Book Notification

Sidewinders Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Sidewinders Books

Massacre at Whiskey Flats (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sidewinders (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cutthroat Canyon (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mankiller, Colorado (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadwood Gulch (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Texas Bloodshed (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Butcher of Bear Creek (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bleeding Texas (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Authors William W. Johnstone and J. A. Johnstone (two big names in writing western novels) write the “Sidewinders” series, which is a western series of books. It is about a pair of aging drifters (named Scratch Morton and Bo Creel) that are unable to always stay on the right side of the law, even though they both try to. The pair have been friends with each other for just about thirty years now. They have drifted from town to town during this time, taking the trails wherever it takes them. It began in the year 2008, when “Sidewinders” was released.

“Sidewinders” is the first novel in the “Sidewinders” series and was released in the year 2008. Morton and Bo are old pals. They have done a lot of cattle drives, cowboying, shoot outs, and gotten into quite a few drunken brawls. They are usually honest and do not seek out trouble. It just tends to be where they are at when they wake up in the morning time.

They get caught up in a fight between two opposing stagecoach lines, while they are in the middle of nowhere in the Arizona Territory. One of the owners, who is a beautiful widow, has gotten the two all hot and bothered. They try to impress her while they keep away the other stage line that is going after her. Nothing is quite what it looks like in this fight, and this pair of sidewinders are going right into a trap this time around.

Fans of the novel found that these are two strong characters and the book has a plot that will leave you floored by the end. The pair is smart, and it is surprising how logical they can be. This is a great start to what looks to be a great series that was written by a wonderful author. Here is a book some readers were unable to put down for very long, and find themselves wanting to check out more from the series..

“Massacre at Whiskey Flats” is the second novel in the “Sidewinders” series and was released in the year 2008. There is always work in the west for any man that is willing to get their hands dirty; whether it is stringing up barbed wire or rounding up any stray cattle. Bo and Scratch are these kinds of men. They have just gotten jobs as the one thing they have yet to try: being officers of the law in a tiny town that is called Whiskey Flats.

What they do not yet know is that some outlaws are determined on burning the town to the ground these Sidewinders are supposed to protect. They have just a small acquaintance of law, a range war that is brewing, and a sharp sense of keeping themselves safe. They are going to need a stellar plan or it is going to get them sent off to Boot Hill. They need luck to be on their side too. Not to mention quite a few bullets, the courage to stand up tall and to shoot their guns true, making sure they hit their mark.

Fans of the novel the authors do not try too hard with the dialogue to try and make it sound like the people from the old west. This is a western tale that was served up in a glass that is dirty. The violence does not go over board and truly reflects, at least in part, the ways people used to survive during this time. The authors here give their readers an adventure that was quite action packed.

“Cutthroat Canyon” is the third novel in the “Sidewinders” series and was released in the year 2009. Sometimes being bad can be good. That is just what happens when Bo and Scratch get rewarded with a mine of gold after they help save the bacon of a rich man. The catch, however, is the mine has been a magnet for the marauding Mexican bandits. Being the budding capitalists they are, Bo and Scratch fight them back.

That is when they find out these thieves are not who they believed them to be. There are some truly bad guys coming, and the gorgeous woman might be the most dangerous of all the bandits. She is the kind that is able to steal your heart. This gold mine could make Bo and Scratch rich. It is just as likely they will get killed because of it. As soon as they are able to figure out who it is that wants them killed, first.

This is a satisfying read that keeps you entertained, and does not try to get to deep. It is just the good guys defeating the bad guys by the end of the story. Fans of the novel found their was plenty of action the entire way through. It excites the reader and is interesting the whole entire time; it makes it hard to put down for very long. This pair, Scratch and Bo, was great together, and are truly awesome.

“Mankiller, Colorado” is the fourth novel in the “Sidewinders” series and was released in the year 2010. This pair of outlaws is down to their last nickel, and they take the best job they can get their hands on in a place called Mankiller, which is a boom town. Biscuits O’Brien, a drunk of a sheriff, is their boss.

They begin to take this new job of theirs seriously until there is a group of clever killers and the cowering citizens of the town. With Bo and Scratch in the middle, and more killers than cowering members of the town. There is one hope for a town that is besieged, and Bo and Scratch are about to have the chance to be real heroes. Assuming of course, they do not get their skulls shot off the moment they stick their heads out of the door.

Fans of the novel found these two older gents to be their favorites of the one that the author writes about. No matter how many books some read about these two, they simply cannot get enough of them. Some wish there were more hours in the day, because this would be the only way to get more done while they read these stories.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Sidewinders

Leave a Reply