Book Notification

Sigrid Nunez Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Feather on the Breath of God (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Naked Sleeper (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mitz: The Marmoset Of Bloomsbury (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Rouenna (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last of Her Kind (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Salvation City (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Friend (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
What Are You Going Through (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Vulnerables (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

xo Orpheus(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Simpsonistas, Vol. 2(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Sigrid Nunez is a popular writer from The United States, who is famous for writing literary fiction, adult function, historical, memoir, contemporary, dystopia, fantasy, science fiction, and war stories. She has written and published 7 novels so far. Some of her most popular books include Salvation City, The Friend, The Last of her Kind, Naked Sleeper, For Rouenna, A Feather on Breath of God, etc. Nunez is also the writer of a memoir based on Susan Sontag. Over the years of her writing career, author Nunez has contributed to a number of literary journals and magazines such as The Paris Review, The NY Times, Tin House, The Believer, The NY Times Book Review, McSweeney’s, and The Harper’s. Nunez’s work has also featured in a few anthologies, including 4 volumes of Pushcart Prize and 4 Asian-American literature anthologies. Throughout her career, Nunez has received many awards and honors. Several of her prestigious accolades include the Whiting Writer’s prize, a Fellowship of Berlin Prize, Rome Prize, and the Rosenthal Award.

In addition to writing novels, author Nunez has also been involved in the field of teaching. She was employed at various institutions like the Columbia University, Boston University, Princeton University, New School, etc. Nunez has even been a writer-in-residence or a visiting writer at Smith, Amherst, California University, Vassar, and a few others. Nunez is all set to be the visiting writer at the Syracuse University in the spring of 2019. As a noteworthy author, she has been involved in writers’ conferences all over the country. Author Nunez was born in New York City to a Chinese-Panamanian father and a German mother. Her initial upbringing was done in NY City. Nunez completed her graduation from the Barnard College and achieved a Bachelor of Arts degree. Later, she obtained an MFA from the Columbia University. Following the completion of her studies, Nunez worked as an assistant editor for some time at The NY Book Reviews. It was during this time that she developed an interest in writing stories. Nunez did not waste any time in giving up everything else and settling down to write stories that came to her mind. However, she continued with her teaching profession for some more years before quitting that too and becoming a full time writer. The major preoccupations of Nunez as a writer have been memory, class, language, identity, and writing.

In 2005, she was a fellow at Berlin’s American Academy. When Nunez found her true interest in writing, she thought that she would be writing about children and animals because that is what she used to read about and care about. However, she could not do it ever. Instead, she ended up setting her stories on the values of friendship, commitment, family, and identity. All her stories have been esteemed by fellow writer & critics for having elegant prose and deep understanding of the complex relationships. It is seen in most of Nunez’s books that they are inspired from personal experiences. Author Nunez says that she had no intention of picking on the creative programs. She says that she meets different kinds of people having various careers, who think that writing a novel and getting it published is going to make them popular and successful, which is not the case. Nunez is of the opinion that writing requires a lot of solitude and isolation, which is not everyone’s cup of tea as it is an activity of loneliness. She feels happy to realize that she has worked hard all her life to achieve the status of a prominent author and wishes to continue doing so for whatever time she is going to be alive.

A highly popular book penned by author Sigrid Nunez is entitled ‘Salvation City’. It was released by the Riverhead Books in the year 2010. This book deals with the aftermath of the pandemic flu and is described through the point of view of a 13 year old boy, who thinks his destiny is uncertain. The lead characters mentioned in the book include Cole Vining, Pastor Wyatt, Tracy Wyatt, etc. Nunez has done the setting in Salvation City, Kentucky. At the beginning of the book’s story, it is depicted that Cole Vining is the only survivor of his family who succumbed to pandemic flu along with millions of people throughout the world. He finds refuge with Pastor Wyatt in a small southern Indiana town. The outside world continues to grow anarchic, but Salvation City is prevented from large scale devastation because of the good works of people like Pastor Wyatt and Tracy Wyatt, his lovely wife. They help the residents prepare for the worst.

Cole Vining shows gratitude to the Wyatts for providing him shelter and foster care. He starts forming a strong relationship with the community. But, he keeps remembering the different world which he grew in and struggles with its memories. Cole wonders if he has room for loving both his parents and the Wyatts? The others around Cole grow with hope, but he starts conceiving a different type of future, one which is filled with heroism dreams. This books tells the story of forgiveness, love, and betrayal. It weaves the tale of the deeply affecting transformation of a young boy.

Another mind blowing book of author Nunez is called ‘The Friend’. The Riverhead publication released this book too in 2018. Nunez has depicted the primary characters for this particular novel as a woman and her Great Dane named Apollo. At the start of the story of the book, it is shown that a woman loses her mentor and longtime best friend unexpectedly. After this huge loss, she is left behind the mentor’s unwanted dog, Apollo. The woman battles with her grief and it gets intensified when she realizes that the Apollo is also suffering mutely. It seems traumatized by the losing its master. Also, a threat of eviction looms over Apollo’s head because the woman’s apartment building doesn’t allow dogs to live with the residents. The people around her think that the grief has affected her mind, she refuses to believe it. She makes up her mind to not let go the dog. As the others isolate her for keeping the dog, the woman indulges herself in caring for the dog. She tries to read Apollo’s mind and help it get over the suffering. This book also depicts the emotions of love, grief, friendship, healing, and the strong bond between a human and a dog. Author Nunez has filled the book with some gorgeous moments. Her writing appears elegant, free flowing, linear, and contains literary endeavors. Overall, the book looks quite fascinating to read.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Sigrid Nunez

Leave a Reply